We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Downtown Parking!
Ranked #37 of 169 Hotels in Chicago
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

A clean, modern hotel. The guest room was large, with free wi-fi and breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff. A quality budget-minded hotel in the heart of the Chicago Loop with fairly easy access to everything. We will return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
CliffKol,

Thank you for your review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I was happy to see that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel. I see that you were able to take advantage of the great location we are in and the amenities we offer such as the wi-fi and breakfast. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to hosting you at the hotel the next time you are in town.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    955
    464
    131
    22
    22
See reviews for
652
343
90
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Just checked out of this wonderful hotel after a 7 night stay. The location is perfect - a stone's throw from both Michigan Avenue and State Street - and all the staff are a very friendly and efficient bunch.
I visited with a friend who lives in a wheelchair 24/7. It's a manual one so she self-propels. Everyone was amazed at how we walked/wheeled everywhere and only took a cab once (when it was cold and wet) and we had to get down to Navy Pier to catch a boat!
Our king size suite was on the top floor so we had great views across the city. It was wheelchair friendly and very well equiped with a hob, microwave, dishwasher & fridge/freezer. We never used these though as we ate breakfast each morning and took advantage of the complimentary evening meal Mon-Thurs. When we did eat out we used the R&B Grill just 2 blocks away - delicious!
This was our first visit to Chicago but it won't be our last - we'll be back and we'll check into the Homewood Suites again for sure!!

Room Tip: Can recommend the 19th floor for the view, peace and quiet and lovely comfy bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Barbara R,

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on our hotel. I was honored that you felt like you were at home while staying with us at Homewood Suites. It seems like you were able to take advantage of many of the amenities we offer our guests such as the breakfast and evening manager’s reception. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We hope that when your travels bring you back to downtown Chicago, we will remain a top choice for you.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I took a group of 7 to Chicago for a few days. This was my first experience at a Homewood Suites. We were all quite pleased. The staff was extremely friendly and welcoming. The rooms were huge. The meals were good with plenty of food and drink. The location of the facility was very convenient to the various activities I had planned. I will definitely use this facility again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Valued Guest,

I want to thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. I was delighted that you and your friends enjoyed your experience at Homewood Suites during your Chicago getaway. I appreciate you taking the time to mention the extremely friendly and welcoming staff. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Chicago.


Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. Great location. Location felt safe. Close to subway. Quiet location on 15th floor. Very comfortable. Front desk staff were very helpful. We did not have a car but parking was expensive. Room was large.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Debjohnson59,

Thank you for your review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel. I was glad that you felt we were in a great location, had a very helpful staff, and that you felt safe. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to hosting you at the hotel the next time you are in town.


Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I love this hotel! The staff are friendly and helpful. I arrived early and was able to check into my room. The receptionist was very helpful and suggested things to do on my first day in Chicago. One was the architectural river cruise. A great thing to do and made my visit to Chicago more interesting.
My room was comfortable and spacious. It had a separate bedroom, good size bathroom and a large wardrobe. A full size fridge, microwave, cook top and dishwasher. I had a view of the Hancock Building. I left some dishes in the sink planning on washing them later, but the housekeeping staff put them through the dishwasher for me.
Location is great and easy walking distance to just about everywhere. I walked miles and miles (good thing Chicago is flat). There is a Trader Joe's around the corner, many restaurants nearby and a shopping centre across the road.
The free breakfast was ok and differed each day. I didn't try the free evening meals, but they smelt delicious!
All the staff were polite, helpful and are to be praised for their service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
51traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on our hotel. I was incredibly happy after seeing that you felt Homewood Suites was a Gem in Chicago; thank you for the kind words. It seems like you were able to take advantage of the amenities in your suite such as the fridge, microwave, and stove. I appreciate you taking the time to mention the friendly and helpful staff. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We hope that when your travels bring you back to downtown Chicago, we will remain a top choice for you.


Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Was our first trip to Chicago, this hotel was perfect for us, great location, very nice staff, specially the staff present during breakfast and dinner, which were free and very good, specially the breakfast. The room was very nice and confortable, the sofa bed was not very confortable. The only complain I have is the valet parking, it was to expensive, when I got there they told me that the price was average in comparision with other nearby parkings, but walking around I saw cheaper ones. Would definitely stay again and would recomend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Gogo444,

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay at our hotel. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your experience at Homewood Suites. I appreciate you taking the time to mention the staff; I will pass along your compliments to the entire team. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We look forward to accommodating you again the next time your travels bring you to Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Great location. Convenient to the MagMile and lots of restaurants nearby. Rooms area bit smaller than most H.S. but still nice to have the extra room with kitchen and living area. Breakfast area can get a bit overwhelmed as it is not large so don't be surprised by a long line. Weeknight dinners are decent. Red line station at the next block.

Room Tip: Lower levels really have limited views with taller buildings all around. But just get out and enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for recently staying with us and for posting a review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I was delighted to see that you were able to take advantage of many of the amenities we offer our guests such as the full kitchen and separate bedroom in your suite. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We hope you give us the opportunity to create a great experience for you again soon.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Address: 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#32 Family Hotel in Chicago
#46 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your downtown Chicago experience begins here, welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Our location places you within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, world-class restaurants and the infamous Chicago attractions. Where service is nothing short of extraordinary, the Homewood Suites family will welcome your every request. All of our guests will enjoy the following amenities,•Spacious, Newly Renovated two-room King suite with separate living, sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens •Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet •Complimentary Monday through Thursday Dinner Reception, meal with beer, wine and soda •Complimentary high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the Hotel •Complimentary executive business center with high-speed Internet access •Complimentary cardio-fitness and indoor pool •Complimentary grocery shopping service •Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cider all day long in the lobby •24 hour convenience shop •Hilton Honors Points –receive BOTH airline miles and hotel points for every stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Otel and Venere so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown
Homewood Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton
Chicago Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.