We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect For Families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park and Chill Savings
Ranked #40 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Toronto
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Perfect For Families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

4 day stay for business and pleasure with the family. With a family of 4 this hotel is perfect. Pretty much a standard Homewood Suites in the middle of Chicago. So, it isn't the hippest place on the planet but rooms were clean and spacious all at a great rate for Chicago. Breakfast is standard and had no surprises. Did not take park in the evening welcome dinner though. For me it was all about location. It's basically one city block away from Michigan Ave and everything you need is within walking distance. Shopping, restaurant and sites are very close. And to qualify this fact I was able to enjoy the downtown area with my kids ages 10, 8, 6 and 4 and it was very manageable. And to top it off my wife did it alone with the kids when I was out on business. I will definitely come back for more when ever we come back to Chi-Town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Gojadego,

I want to thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. It made be happy to see that you felt Homewood Suites was perfect for you and your family. It really seems like you all had a wonderful experience while in town on business and pleasure. I was glad that the location of the hotel was very convenient for your family while visiting the many sites downtown Chicago has to offer: especially since your wife was navigating many of the visits on her own with your four children. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    971
    484
    137
    24
    23
See reviews for
661
356
95
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

While vacationing in Chicago for one week, we really enjoyed our stay and found this downtown hotel to have the best value for money (at 180$ per night). We took advantage of the complimentary breakfast buffet every morning, decent supper buffet 3 of 4 nights (offered from 5-7 pm Mon-Thur with all you wish to drink (Sam Adams) beer and red and white wine) and coffee available 24/7. It was centrally located; steps to the CTA's Red line, close to much shopping and many restaurants, and at walking distance from many attractions and grocery stores. We quite enjoyed the LARGE and comfortable King size bed, having a fridge (also had stove top and microwave) and the fact that the bedroom had a door to close it off from the living room. Rooms also offer free internet access and 2 flat screens (in living room and in room). Our room had a great view on to Trump Tower and was quiet. Dinner offerings are posted on the fridge. We also took advantage of the indoor pool and free internet access in 24/7 business center where we were able to print our return flight boarding passes and offered many attraction flyers. All staff were very friendly and helpful including front desk, doormen, cleaning and dining room staff. Upon arrival, our hair drier was not working and it was taken care of immediately. Valets also assisted us with booking a cab to the airport. We would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Chicago.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Grand Street have great view on Trump Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
CouplefromOttawa,

Thank you for your review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I was delighted to see that you had a very enjoyable experience at our hotel. I was glad you found that we were the best value while visiting downtown Chicago. It seems like you were able to enjoy many of the hotel amenities such as breakfast and dinner as well as the amenities in your suite. I appreciate you taking the time to mention the very friendly and helpful team. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to hosting you at the hotel the next time you are in town.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Planned a long weekend to do all of the American Girl things! The hotel was great! No, it was not the RItz or Omni, but you could not beat the location and especially the staff! EVERYONE was so accomodating! I have traveled throughout the US and in Europe and have never been to a hotel where EVERYONE went out of their way to help in anyway they could. The breakfast was just as good as most hotels as you were not ordering off a menu. The girls were able to swim in the pool while we could watch them from the fitness center. My only complaint was the mattress. I do have back problems. For the price we were more than pleased.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Disappointedfor35th,

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on our hotel. I was happy that you, your daughter, and granddaughters had a great experience at Homewood Suites. I appreciate you taking the time to really highlight the accommodating staff; I will pass your compliments along to the entire team. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We hope that when your travels bring you back to downtown Chicago, we will remain a top choice for you.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hager City, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The Homewood presents a great at home feel, and is located in the heartthrob of Chicago. Great staff, great rooms, and perfect location. The rooms all include a separate bedroom, full living room, and full kitchen. Every morning the breakfast team is ready and happy to see you. Food is good. The nightly reception is nicely appointed, and includes a daily meal, plus beer and wine. Where else in Chicago can you get so much value with your room. Brian

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Brian J,

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay at our hotel. I was pleased to see that you felt Homewood Suites was your home in Chicago. It seems like you found that our hotel was a great value considering all the amenities we offer our guests. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We look forward to accommodating you again the next time your travels bring you to Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My girlfriend and I were staying in the city for her birthday. We wanted something centrally located, comfy, but not too pricey or prestigious. Basically we wanted something clean, comfortable, and friendly. All of these expectations were not only met, but exceeded tremendously. The staff was incredibly personable and knowledgeable not just about their own hotel, but about most anything in the city. The room was spotless and had a magnificent view. Even the bed, which I often do not brag about, was remarkably comfortable. A great stay to say the least. Can't wait to return! :)

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room. The veiw is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Jermaine S,

Thank you for recently staying with us and for posting a review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I was delighted to see that you found your experience to be perfect while staying at our hotel; I hope your girlfriend had a wonderful birthday. I appreciate you taking the time to mention that the staff exceeded your expectations. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We hope you give us the opportunity to create a great experience for you again soon.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Not much when it comes to healthy breakfast choices - eggs and oatmeal and overripe bananas. Unless you're into biscuits and gravy, and sausage and waffles. Sounds good if you don't care about getting fat and having a heart attack. Rooms need to be remodeled. Staff is friendly, however. Maid forgot to take away garbage in kitchen or replace the wash towel. There is laundry which is convenient although only two machines and one of them was out of order. It is a convenient location plus nice to have a kitchen; Trader Joes is only two blocks away. I probably would stay somewhere else if I came back as there are many other choices around the area. However, it is a Hilton so lowered expectations.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
BytheBay94103,

I want to thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. I appreciate you for mentioning the friendly staff. However, I would like to take a moment to apologize for any inconvenience the breakfast or laundry machines created for you. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, CA, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Staff very helpful. Great location. Clean rooms. I needed directions and guidance on a couple of occasions and the front desk personnel we're very helpful. The complimentary breakfast is a big plus! Located right down the street from the Navy pier. Walking distance is just right, and provides you an opportunity to walk off your lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Doug C,

Thank you for your review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I was happy to see that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel. It seems like you were able to take advantage of many of the amenities we offer our guests such as the breakfast and dinner. I appreciate you taking the time to mention the great service and location. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to hosting you at the hotel the next time you are in town.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Address: 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#35 Family Hotel in Chicago
#45 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your downtown Chicago experience begins here, welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Our location places you within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, world-class restaurants and the infamous Chicago attractions. Where service is nothing short of extraordinary, the Homewood Suites family will welcome your every request. All of our guests will enjoy the following amenities,•Spacious, Newly Renovated two-room King suite with separate living, sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens •Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet •Complimentary Monday through Thursday Dinner Reception, meal with beer, wine and soda •Complimentary high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the Hotel •Complimentary executive business center with high-speed Internet access •Complimentary cardio-fitness and indoor pool •Complimentary grocery shopping service •Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cider all day long in the lobby •24 hour convenience shop •Hilton Honors Points –receive BOTH airline miles and hotel points for every stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown
Homewood Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton
Chicago Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.