We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family trip nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Downtown Parking!
Ranked #31 of 168 hotels in Chicago
Stow, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Family trip nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because we had three of our kids with us and we really enjoy having the extra room and space. Hotel was nice and clean. Staff were all very helpful. It is in a great location to walk to Navy Pier or shopping. The breakfast was very good for continental breakfast and the dining room is large enough for all the guests. My kids really loved the swimming pool on the 19th floor. Only problem was too many chemicals in pool irritated my kids skin.

Room Tip: The higher up you go better views. The lobby is on the 6th floor if that is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Nightingale725,

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay at our hotel. I was delighted to see that you and your family enjoyed your experience at Homewood Suites. I see that you all were able to take advantage of the breakfast we provide and the pool on the 19th floor. I also wanted to mention that we confirmed with the team to make certain the correct amount of chemicals are in the pool. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We look forward to accommodating you again the next time your travels bring you to Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,528 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    929
    442
    117
    22
    18
See reviews for
629
330
88
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, MO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

4 of us went on a "girls trip" to Chicago and stayed at the Homewood. With an AARP discount, it was pretty reasonable financially between the four of us. There was a room with a very comfortable king bed, and a fairly comfortable pull-out couch in the living area. Nice kitchenette area as well. The breakfast was excellent, and they changed it up a little bit each morning. We had "brunch" there one day and then didn't have to spend money or time on lunch. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, and the location was perfect - just a couple blocks from Michigan Avenue and less than a block from the train station - I would definitely stay again if I went back. Very clean and recently updated, I'd guess.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Tchrtravel,

Thank you for recently staying with us and for posting a review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I was pleased to see that you and your friends had a great experience while staying with us for your “girls trip.” It seems like you all were able to enjoy many of the amenities we offer our guests such as the breakfast. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We hope you give us the opportunity to create a great experience for you again soon.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here May 4-7, 2013. The staff was great, from the valets to the desk staff. An example: my husband inquired as to whether the hotel had dvd players for guests. In less than no time, we had one in our room. The valets were very helpful with restaurant suggestions and getting us cabs. Just all around very, very helpful and courteous.

The room was quite clean, and the housekeeping staff was great.

The hotel is a great location, very close to Michigan Avenue, the Loop, restaurants, shopping. We did not use our car the whole time we were in Chicago; we either walked or took a cab.

We had a room on the 15th floor, at the end of the hallway, away from the stairs, and it was really quiet. No problem with noise.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dawn60785,

Thank you for your review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. It made me very happy to see that you and your husband had a very good experience at our hotel. I appreciate the kind things you had to say about the team. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to hosting you at the hotel the next time you are in town.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, IN
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was our third year staying at the Homewood Suites in Downtown Chicago. We have always had a great time and would recommend it to anyone. The location is perfect for anyone wanting to visit the Magnificent Mile or the main attractions in Chicago. It's just a block off of Michigan Avenue and all of the bustops are right there. You can easily walk to the beach, Millenium Park or Grant Park, or any shopping you could want. There is also a free trolley to Navy Pier right out front during the summer months.

The rooms are all suites with a kitchen/living room and a bedroom with a king size bed. It's like having your own little apartment for the week. The water pressure in the shower is amazing and this is one of the few downtown Chicago hotels where you can still get a smoking room. There is also a nice long list of cable channels for those rainy days. The pool on the 19th floor has a gym attached and is enclosed in glass on 3 sides and gives you an awesome panoramic view of the Chicago buildings.
The free breakfast is always great, even if you don't like what they are serving there are always staples like yogurt, toast, pastries, and oatmeal. The themed dinners are also fun and are very tasty! If you like the type of food they are having each night, you will like the way they make it. And it is a nice touch that it includes free beer and wine. The servers remember you from day to day and, in some cases, from year to year, and treat you like family. The front desk staff is also very friendly and the manager is there to greet you for every meal they offer.

We only encountered a couple of issues this time and have never encountered any issues on our previous trip. The first issue was that I had chosen a smoking room and the maid removed the ashtray from my room on the second day. Another issue was some noise in the morning that sounded like a distant drill coming from higher floors (we were on floor 7 of 19), and then the toilet continued to make weird sounds after you flushed it. And the last issue was with our luggage. When we checked out we had the bellhop come and get our luggage to store it for the day while we spent our last day in the city. They loaded all of our stuff on the cart and took it downstairs to be stored and we picked up our luggage ticket on the way outside. The way the hotel is set up, the ground floor contains only the valet's, the elevators, and then a locked door to their luggage storage area and then you take the elevator up to the 6th floor for the main lobby. So anyone can walk in and out of the ground floor whether they are staying there or not. When we picked up our ticket and walked outside, our luggage cart was sitting against the wall next to the elevators and the storage door. We assumed they just hadn't put it in yet and were about to do it. However, when we returned 3 or 4 hours later, it was still sitting in the same spot and had never been moved. We were quite frustrated that our belongings were left out for anyone to see and take, but nothing was missing so we didn't complain.

All in all I would still recommend this hotel. The staff, rooms, and amenities are amazing and it is just a great place to call your home away from home in Chicago. I would just take a little precaution with your belongings and make sure they are stored properly before leaving the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Mr. Aubrav,

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on our hotel. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your suite and the location of the hotel; it seems like you and your family were able to take advantage of both. We have discussed as a team the point you brought up about the luggage cart. I also would like to apologize for any inconvenience the noise created for you during your stay. I appreciate you recommending our hotel and all the wonderful feedback. We hope that when your travels bring you back to downtown Chicago, we will remain a top choice for you.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great place to stay in Chicago! The hotel provides easy access to many wonderful places downtown, plus is close to public transporation options if you want to get out of downtown. The suite was very comfortable and the staff was helpful and professional.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Judi S,

I want to thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. I was delighted to see that you had a great experience while at Homewood Suites. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Great staff, very friendly and accommodating . Great location , right down the block from the Red Line subway, and tons of places to eat and drink
Breakfast was delicious with plenty if choices.
Clean, modern rooms with a city view.
It's not cheap for a room but that's the price you pay for a hotel room in the city

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Billymack,

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay at our hotel. I was delighted to see that you felt Homewood Suites was a great hotel. I appreciate you mentioning the very friendly and accommodating staff. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We look forward to accommodating you again the next time your travels bring you to Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The hotel staff was fabulous! They were friendly and very accomidating to our needs. They involved our students in thier team building activities and treated us like family. The hotel was clean including the rooms, dining area, and pool area. The fitness room has a beautiful view of the city. Breakfast was more than adequate with the yogurt bar, eggs, potatoes, meat, and a variety of breads and pastries. There was fresh fruit and a waffle maker to start your day off right. The dining area is large to accomidate families and large groups. The check-in staff was very kind and help with directions for us. They often asked at the end of our day what attractions we had seen andhow we were enjoying our stay. They went above and beyond our expectations.

Room Tip: All rooms are very quiet. The full kitchen allows for cooking full meals. The pool is on the 19th fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Lisa L,

Thank you for recently staying with us and for posting a review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. It was a pleasure meeting you and all your students; you were a wonderful group to have at the hotel. It was fun playing Bozo Buckets for prizes with all of you and the hotel team. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We hope you give us the opportunity to create a great experience for you again soon.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Address: 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
#28 Family Hotel in Chicago
#30 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your downtown Chicago experience begins here, welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Our location places you within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, world-class restaurants and the infamous Chicago attractions. Where service is nothing short of extraordinary, the Homewood Suites family will welcome your every request. All of our guests will enjoy the following amenities,•Spacious, Newly Renovated two-room King suite with separate living, sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens •Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet •Complimentary Monday through Thursday Dinner Reception, meal with beer, wine and soda •Complimentary high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the Hotel •Complimentary executive business center with high-speed Internet access •Complimentary cardio-fitness and indoor pool •Complimentary grocery shopping service •Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cider all day long in the lobby •24 hour convenience shop •Hilton Honors Points –receive BOTH airline miles and hotel points for every stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown
Homewood Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton
Chicago Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.