We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“13th Floor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Downtown Parking!
Ranked #33 of 169 hotels in Chicago
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“13th Floor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is a very good property. My room was clean, and everything worked fine. You can tell someone is paying attention with details like new tv remotes.

The AC system is quiet. There is no safe in the room.

Breakfast is typical and the breakfast area was large and well kept. I went down for the reception at dinner time expecting wine and appetizers, but found buffet 'dinner' - I would skip this...

Room Tip: Be aware that there is a 13th floor, in case this matters for you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Claude D,

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on our hotel. I was happy to see that you felt Homewood Suites was a very good property. I will let the Housekeeping team know that you appreciated all of their efforts and attention to detail. We hope that when your travels bring you back to downtown Chicago, we will remain a top choice for you.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,557 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    941
    451
    123
    22
    20
See reviews for
640
337
88
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Lake Park, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Hello All, My friend and I stayed here for girls weekend and it was one of the best experiences in a hotel we have ever had, rooms are spotless, and the service was excellent!!!! Amer and the guys in Valet are the best!!!! very curtious and the ladies at the front desk are just as great, so friendly, so helpful anytime we needed help or had a question- they hooked us up with tours and directions- always correct by the way!!! the catch your taxi for you and hold doors and we always got a "good morning" i will return to this hotel whenever I stay in Chicago!!! thanks for making out girls weekend perfect!!! we will be back!! Sincerely Rhoda and Sheila, the 2 girls from MN w the Ford 500!!

Room Tip: Great rooms!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Rhoda B,

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay at our hotel. I was pleased to see that you felt Homewood Suites was a great place to stay. I was proud of the entire team to see that you and your friends had one of the best experiences in a hotel; I will pass-along your compliments to everyone. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We look forward to accommodating you again the next time your travels bring you to Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbiaville, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Everything about this hotel was perfect. From the complimentary breakfast to the welcome home dinner/drinks (Monday thru Thursday) it was fabulous. The food was always excellent! The front door staff was extremely helpful and friendly every time we entered as well! The staff was always helpful. I booked a one night package for my daughter for the American Girl experience and when she didn't receive the cookies when she was suppose to get them (she did get them at a later time) the front staff graciously compensated me with a free gift card of my choice. I would recommend this hotel for anyone traveling with a family or alone. I would come back again and again. Also, the location of this hotel was excellent. One block west of Michigan Ave. and 6 blocks west of Navy Pier. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Casey G,

Thank you for recently staying with us and for posting a review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I was delighted to see that you and your family had the best experience ever at our hotel. I hope your daughter enjoyed the American Girl Amenities and the visit to the store. I appreciate you taking the time to recommend our hotel to anyone traveling to Chicago. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We hope you give us the opportunity to create a great experience for you again soon.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel April 12th thru April 18th. We were in town for a wedding and extended it for family time. Dan Burgess was in charge of the wedding rooms. I called him to tell him that during our visit, my husband would be celebrating a big birthday. He gave us a wonderful corner suite and upon our arrival there were two bottles of wine, a happy birthday balloon and a birthday card! Dan went out of his way and was very efficient in all his efforts to accommodate us! Thanks Dan!!!

The staff was the friendliest we have ever encountered. Breakfast was super as was the dinners on Monday thru Thursdays! Location was perfect! Our only disappointment was the weather! Homewood Suites didn't have any was to change that!

We would definitely stay here again, if we are ever in Chicago!!!

Room Tip: We were on the 18th floor with a corner suite. Great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Estelle M,

I want to thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. I was very happy to see that you and your family had a great experience at Homewood Suites. I appreciate you for taking the time to mention that while staying with us, you encountered the friendliest staff ever. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Beautiful hotel, and very good prices. Very friendly staff. Enjoyed a wonderful stay in a enormous room. Had separate bedroom and living rooms and walk through bathroom. Nice little we bar and fridge in the room. Enjoyed a beautiful view of Lake Michigan from my window. Very comfortable bed. With in easy walking distance to Michigan Ave for shopping. Would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Zdemsky,

Thank you for your review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I was pleased to see that you had a good experience at our hotel. It seems like the location and amenities we offer at the hotel were convenient for you throughout your visit. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience for you, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to hosting you at the hotel the next time you are in town.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We recently stayed for two nights. Great service by all staff including a warm welcome. Breakfast and a light evening meal were nice touches also. The location is very good for shopping and sight seeing, and for great restaurants in this area. All in all a really good experience. We will be back.

Room Tip: higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
BadgerFan664,

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on our hotel. I was delighted to see that you had a really good experience at Homewood Suites. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We hope that when your travels bring you back to downtown Chicago, we will remain a top choice for you.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Great location, very friendly and helpful staff and clean rooms were the good points. The same day laundry service was also good.

Unfortunately when we were booked in we were sent to a room that was already occupied - so unnecessary trips with luggage back and forward to the 6th floor reception. We were then sent to a room that whilst clean had a broken light and was generally very poorly lit. So another trip back to reception to get the light fixed. The decor needed updating and the feel of the room was drab, although the furniture was comfortable. As we had booked in on the basis of staying in the suite often this was disappointing.

Wi-fi was intermittent and the constant logging in was frustrating.

The well equipped suite served our purpose and the staff were very friendly, especially in the lobby, cleaning and in the restaurant. So worth considering but the chain needs to get the paint out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Englishgent55,

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay at our hotel. I would like to take a moment to apologize for the inconvenience created by sending you off to an already occupied room. Obviously, this should not happen. We will look into the situation to ensure this does not happen again.

With that said, I was happy to see that you felt the staff was very friendly and helpful. It also seems like you were able to take advantage of many of the amenities we offer such as the kitchen in your suite. We look forward to accommodating you again the next time your travels bring you to Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Address: 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#31 Family Hotel in Chicago
#37 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your downtown Chicago experience begins here, welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Our location places you within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, world-class restaurants and the infamous Chicago attractions. Where service is nothing short of extraordinary, the Homewood Suites family will welcome your every request. All of our guests will enjoy the following amenities,•Spacious, Newly Renovated two-room King suite with separate living, sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens •Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet •Complimentary Monday through Thursday Dinner Reception, meal with beer, wine and soda •Complimentary high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the Hotel •Complimentary executive business center with high-speed Internet access •Complimentary cardio-fitness and indoor pool •Complimentary grocery shopping service •Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cider all day long in the lobby •24 hour convenience shop •Hilton Honors Points –receive BOTH airline miles and hotel points for every stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown
Homewood Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton
Chicago Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.