We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a BARGAIN...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Park & Save
Ranked #71 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What a BARGAIN...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We booked on Priceline two days in advance. Great price ($113 with tax) and ended up with room 1618. A corner room with double windows in the living room and a large bedroom window. the room was spotless. They even brought ice to my room when I called and asked for the location of the ice vending machine! The staff was tremendously polite and the breakfast (included) was way above average. I have found my new Chicago hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Pete H,

I want to thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. I was happy to see that you found value during your stay at Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. It was good to see that you took advantage of many of the amenities we offer our guests such as the breakfast. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,070
    557
    175
    39
    36
See reviews for
759
407
101
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We just returned from a two night stay with our two small children and were very impressed with the customer service. The valet parking staff was outstanding, and was very helpful as we maneuvered our kids and all their gear in and out of cabs. Overall the hotel is in a great location, the rooms are a nice size, and the free breakfast was nice. My only complaints are that 1. the windows (on the 16th floor) could be opened fairly wide and had no screen or lock. Yikes!! 2. the duvet for the down comforter was very scratchy and uncomfortable. Otherwise we had an excellent time!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Trishalmhoff,

Thank you for your review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I was pleased to see that you had an excellent experience while staying at our hotel. We will address the two complaints you had as a team and see what can be done. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to hosting you at the hotel the next time you are in town.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was our second visit in a little over a year, and we were just as pleased this time around with the service, cleanliness, and value this little gem downtown offers. The hotel is located a short block away from Michigan Ave where you'll find all the world-class shopping and restaurants you can handle. Maria checked us into a quiet corner room that was very spacious and clean. The Guest Services Manager Jason was extremely helpful in providing a list of local restaurants to choose from, and personally recommended a Korean restaurant that was exactly what we were looking for. Loved the beds and pillows.

Breakfast was hot and plentiful. The staff was quick to stay on top of the food refills and dirty tables. We had a drink spill, and a staff member suddenly appeared out of nowhere to sop up the mess. The only downside we experienced is that the pool temperature was noticeably cooler the next day, so the kids did not stay in the water as long as they had the previous day. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Grjane,

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on our hotel. I remember you and your family and it was a pleasure to meet you all. I was delighted to see that you all had a wonderful experience while staying at Homewood Suites. I know you did a bit of sight-seeing, shopping, and dining. In regards to the pool temperature, we are having the engineering department follow up on it. If it would not me too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We hope that when your travels bring you back to downtown Chicago, we will remain a top choice for you.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This hotel is in the heart of everything and the staff was fabulous
it was extremely clean
-food provided ,drinks in the afternoon close to everything In the heart of downtown Chicago
I don't know what else you can ask for in downtown Chicago do not skip this hotel because it is one of the best I've ever stayed in in the city The suite with kitchenette was great and perfect for two teens and two adults

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Gallucci54,

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay at our hotel. I was happy to see that you and your family had a 5 star experience at Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We look forward to accommodating you again the next time your travels bring you to Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This hotel is very convenient to a number of things in the downtown area. It is one block away from the Red Line but we chose to walk most places. The room was comfortable and we enjoyed having a separate living space from the bedroom. The bathroom was a bit cramped but functional. The breakfast was all hot foods which was fine since we were on vacation and not in a rush. It would be nice to offer some cold options to go that would cater to business travelers. We took advantage of the evening reception one night and were pleasantly surprised at how good everything tasted. The staff were by far some of the best we have encountered. We were only there a few days but overhead one of the morning staff members ask another guest if she wanted the same as the day before. She clearly remembered the guest and their dietary restrictions which went above what we typically see. Overall two thumbs up for the staff and comfort of the suite.

A number of well known Chicago restaurants and sites are within a 15 minute walk including Gino's, Al's, Lou Malnati, the Magnificent Mile and Navy Pier. We were also able to walk to Millennium and Grant parks with no problems. Certainly a good place to stay for convenience and comfort. They cater to a wide variety of travelers and the amenities and price make it even better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
DCMrsg,

Thank you for recently staying with us and for posting a review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I was delighted to see that you had a pleasant experience while staying with us. It seems like you were able to take advantage of the location of the hotel by visiting many of the terrific restaurants and sights the city has to offer. We hope you give us the opportunity to create a great experience for you again soon.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Homewood was the best hotel that i never had in Chicago. I have been visit Chicago for many times, everytime stays at different hotels. But this time, Homewood really made my stay as awesome! Nice Cleaning room, and have a full view of the Trump Tower. That really makes me happy when i walk in the room. The bed is very comfort, soft and clean. Their staffs are very friendly, and always willing to answer any questions. Also their business center is good too. Everything just prefect in Homewood.

Room Tip: High Floor has good view of The Trump Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
JJnish,

I want to thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. I was happy to see that everything was excellent for you while at Homewood Suites. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Arkansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I was on business in Chicago, and me and another lady from my copany stayed here. It is a good place to stay. Didn't really eat breakfast. Did go and look at it and would have probably eaten here if they had muffins and quick food. The evening receptions were great. Most of the food was excellent! You were given free beer and wine. The so called "light" meal, they provided, was very good and it was not "light"!. It was a full meal and since it was so cold at the time of our visit, it was nice not to have to lleave the hotel for dinner. The desk clerks were extremely rude! The doormen were very nice and helpful. The location of the hotel is great. It is right by everthing or a short walk. The housekeeping was good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Carrie B,

Thank you for your review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I would like to start by apologizing for any unsatisfactory interactions you had with the front desk staff; the issue will be addressed.

With that said, I was pleased to see that you still felt our hotel was a good place to stay. I was also glad to see that you were able to take advantage of the dinner at the hotel rather than having to go out into the cold. I appreciate you taking the time to mention the nice and helpful valet and housekeeping teams. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to hosting you at the hotel the next time you are in town.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Address: 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#54 Family Hotel in Chicago
#62 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your downtown Chicago experience begins here, welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Our location places you within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, world-class restaurants and the infamous Chicago attractions. Where service is nothing short of extraordinary, the Homewood Suites family will welcome your every request. All of our guests will enjoy the following amenities,•Spacious, Newly Renovated two-room King suite with separate living, sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens •Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet •Complimentary Monday through Thursday Dinner Reception, meal with beer, wine and soda •Complimentary high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the Hotel •Complimentary executive business center with high-speed Internet access •Complimentary cardio-fitness and indoor pool •Complimentary grocery shopping service •Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cider all day long in the lobby •24 hour convenience shop •Hilton Honors Points –receive BOTH airline miles and hotel points for every stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown
Homewood Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton
Chicago Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.