We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit the Animals - 'Bears n Cubs'” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Park & Save
Ranked #58 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
BC Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Visit the Animals - 'Bears n Cubs'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Your reviews on TA helped us in picking this Hotel. 5 guys in Chicago for a sports weekend!!

Location was perfect. Super easy and cheap to catch the CTA (subway) from O'Hare to the Hotel.
Grab the Blue Line to Jackson (Loop) short walk to the Red Line, jump on it and get off a few stops later at the Grand. Just a short block to the Hotel. Arrived Thursday 7pm, CTA was quiet and took us less then an hour to arrive at our Hotel. Returned home Monday 6am and again, less then an hour from when we left our room to when we walked up to the check-in line at the airport.

Concierge desk at the entrance (very helpful with all our questions) take the elevator up to check-in. The 4 nights we spent here we found the breakfast & concierge staff the most pleasant and helpful. The front desk people were okay, at best, but we didn't choose this place based on staff ratings.

1 bedroom suite (2 doubles & sofa-bed) for 3 of us. Plenty of space, sure the sofa-bed was a bit tight, but it's downtown Chicago how big do you expect for the price? Full-size fridge to keep the soft drinks cold (case the wives read this).

Room was very clean, even though we were all guys, I'm a bit picky when it comes to cleanliness. Large closet in the bedroom with plenty of hangars! No problems with dust (my allergies would have complained).

Buffet breakfast every morning, plenty to choose from, re-stocked quickly, lots of seats so even when it's busy and you have to line-up to get in, it moves quickly.

Easy walking distance to all the sites. 1 of us recently had a hip operation and was using a cane to get around, but was still able to handle the short distances.

Location to the CTA was important to us as we wanted easy access to Soldier Field and to Wrigley Field.

Lots and I mean lots of restaurants and bars to choose from, with every price category. Never had so so meal let alone a bad meal the entire time we were there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Rainmark,

Thank you for recently staying with us and for posting a review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I was pleased to see that you and your friends enjoyed your experience while staying with us. I was also glad that you all were able to take advantage of many of the amenities we offer our guests such as the fridge in your suite and the breakfast. We hope you give us the opportunity to create a great experience for you again soon while in town to visit the “Animals” or for any other reason.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,034
    520
    156
    33
    30
See reviews for
708
389
100
355
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Our family stayed at this hotel the first couple of days after Christmas. We selected this hotel primarily because it offered one-bedroom suites for a great value. While having the separation of the bedroom from the rest of the space was nice for our family, it should be noted that the fold-out bed in the living area is very uncomfortable. We also were able to take advantage of the complimentary breakfast and dinner (M-R nights) buffet. This was a very nice option, however during the busy times (which seemed to be most of the time) the buffet area seemed to be extremely understaffed and understocked, making it hugely time consuming and inconvenient to try to dine there. But, for the money, this hotel is really worth it. Great location, good service, adequate rooms, nice views, pool, and free food (if you're willing to be very patient to wait for it).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
MadCity143,

I want to thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. I was happy to see that you found Homewood Suites to be a good value. It seems like you and your family we able to take advantage of the breakfast and dinner buffet options that we offer our guests.
We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We came up for a long weekend before Christmas and had to move rooms when we got put in a smoking room with ashes in the sink. We were quickly moved to a non-smoking room and everything was good after that. The staff was quick to respond to every request from towels to ice. The hotel does not have ice machines on the floor as the fridges have icemakers but we were sent a small bag to get started. We also got two bed toppers sent up for the fold-out couch which helped a great deal. Breakfasts were very good with scrambled eggs, turkey sausage links and fried potatoes as well as fruit, cereal, and hot oatmeal. Pastries included bagels, pound cake and some excellent chocolate muffins. Valet attendents were generally quick with getting the car from the garage next door above P.F. Chang's, but one time the car arrived with the CD player running when we had not been listening to it the night before. I complained about that to the doorman. Valets don't need to be messing with the stereo! Easy walk to Michigan Ave. shopping too. The girls loved having Forever 21 so close! Can't beat the location. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Be sure to request north side non-smoking. Less ambulance traffic north of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
David T,

Thank you for your review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I was delighted to see that you and your family enjoyed your experience while staying with us. I was glad to see that you took advantage of many of the amenities we offer our guests: especially, the breakfast. It also seems like you and your family found the location of the hotel to be great while staying downtown.

In regards to the CD player running in your car, I have spoken to the valet team to ensure this does not ever happen again to any of our guests. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to hosting you at the hotel the next time you are in town.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for the first time the weekend before Christmas. The location was great. Near Michigan Avenue and many restaurants. The doormen were always friendly. A few negatives though. The room was very dusty as if it was only minimally cleaned. The front desk staff was rude on every occasion. I may try the Hilton Garden Inn next time based on this.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Ashley H,

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on our hotel. I really do appreciate the feedback about the front desk staff and the condition of your suite. We will discuss the issues with the appropriate departments and go over the standard operating procedures to ensure that this does not happen again. We hope that when your travels bring you back to downtown Chicago, you will give Homewood Suites another opportunity to deliver an excellent experience.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Me and my wife stayed 2 nights for our anniversary. The room was a small suite but very comfortable. Free Wi-Fi, monday thru friday free breakfast and dinner buffets. Lots to do and see. We parked the car and used public tranportation, trying to drive in downtown Chicago is to hectic and expensive for us, totally not worth it! We finally went to the Sky deck of the Willis Tower(formerly Sears Tower) and took pictures and had a very romantic dinner at Mortons Statehouse on State St.,Very Good enjoyable time.

Room Tip: If you want a certain view call early and make a request, it won't hurt we had a wonderful view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Henry R,

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay at our hotel. I was happy to see that you and your wife enjoyed your anniversary while staying at Homewood Suites. I was glad that you were both able to take advantage of the breakfast and dinner that we offer our guests. I hope you and your wife have many more happy anniversaries and look forward to accommodating you again the next time your travels bring you to Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Short 1 night stay but we were happy with the location and the room size wasn’t too bad for downtown Chicago. Staff was friendly and helpful and the view from our room was gorgeous. Only downside to note was that the bathroom plumbing is getting a bit old, so the toilet made quite a lot of noise and the bathtub was pretty 70s.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Gelatomania,

Thank you for recently staying with us and for posting a review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your experience at Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I appreciate you taking the time to mention the friendly and helpful staff; I will pass along your compliments to the entire team. We hope you give us the opportunity to create a great experience for you again soon.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Booked here through RSNA for annual meeting. Have stayed in many hotels in Chicago, but this is by far my favorite. The rooms are spacious, and having a kitchen is a bonus! The housekeeping staff does a terrific job. All the staff I have encountered have been wonderful. The doormen are super friendly and are always so helpful with directions. The front desk staff has always gone above and beyond in making sure I get the room I want. Connie at breakfast remembers me year after year and always comes over to ask about the family.
Great location, close to the red line and close to Michigan Avenue. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Bocagirl12000,

I want to thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. I was pleased to see that you had an excellent experience at Homewood Suites. I appreciate you taking the time to compliment the wonderful staff. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Chicago for pleasure or RSNA.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Address: 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Chicago
#39 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#50 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your downtown Chicago experience begins here, welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Our location places you within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, world-class restaurants and the infamous Chicago attractions. Where service is nothing short of extraordinary, the Homewood Suites family will welcome your every request. All of our guests will enjoy the following amenities,•Spacious, Newly Renovated two-room King suite with separate living, sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens •Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet •Complimentary Monday through Thursday Dinner Reception, meal with beer, wine and soda •Complimentary high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the Hotel •Complimentary executive business center with high-speed Internet access •Complimentary cardio-fitness and indoor pool •Complimentary grocery shopping service •Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cider all day long in the lobby •24 hour convenience shop •Hilton Honors Points –receive BOTH airline miles and hotel points for every stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown
Homewood Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton
Chicago Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.