We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really my cup of tea” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 North Dearborn Street, State and Dearborn, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Hotel Sax Chicago)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #98 of 179 Hotels in Chicago
Western part
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Not really my cup of tea”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

When all is said and done, this is an unremarkable hotel in a decent location that has comfortable beds, friendly check in / lounge / housekeeping staff, but despite these positives, I really did not enjoy my stay.
Although everything I dealt with isn't likely to happen with everyone else, it was just too many "little" things that weren't up to par. Ice machines not working, no lamp on the desk, air conditioning that's not very good, the chair and the carpet don't get along, abysmal internet (I hear it is being upgraded....finally). First time ever I've been in a concierge lounge where they had burnt food (improperly prepared cheese sauce according to them). Do they bring more out? No...just leave the burnt stuff.

This probably isn't the worst hotel in Chicago, but I don't think they yet deserve to hang a Marriott sign above them (my opinion) and I would certainly expect there are a lot better places to stay. I would have checked out of this one if I could have, but the city was full. Although my issues have been dealt with, I'm certainly not prepared to repeat the experience. Quite honestly, I hated this hotel. Read my other reviews, you'll see I certainly don't say that very much!

Room Tip: Choose a room in a different hotel!
See more room tips
Green Features: Didn't notice anything special. Maybe I missed something.
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    165
    79
    38
    7
See reviews for
62
108
20
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I recently stayed at this property while attending a conference in town. Overall a nice hotel with a good location and proximity to the Magnificent Mile and the river walk. I especially liked that there was 24 hr access to the lounge with soft drinks and water available.

My only complaint is that upon receiving my bill I was charged long distance calls for calls made to a toll free number. Would not have expected such a nickel and dime move. Never experienced this as a
Platinum member.

Stayed June 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

First of all, as many reviewers have stated, the location is excellent. It is just two buildings away from Trump Tower and next to Marina City. From there, you can walk to a whole bunch of places!

The room we had was really nice, even though the view was blocked by one of the Marina City parking buildings (which are, on the other hand, iconic). The service was excellent. My complaint would be that the noise level (from outside) was a bit high. Better sound isolation would have been nice considering the central location of the hotel.

Overall, I would really recommend this hotel if you find a room for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I truly loved every part of Chicago...besides hotel Chicago. The rooms smelled, the bathrooms were gross, the cleaning services didn't do much and I'll get to the worst part in a second. I will say the workers there were extremely helpful and nice. Now the worst part... They charged me 70$ in "wallpaper damage" and 50 in "carpet damage". Well guys, I was here on business and was in the room only when sleeping. So how did this "damage" occur? Mind blown

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, New Jersey
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Loved the design of this hotel and the spacious rooms. Friendly staff and great location. I did not have a river view but was very happy with my room. The side I was on was a little noisy but not too noisy as it is closer to the street side. The issue is that they don't have a dining space of their own but many restaurants around and you can even back-charge to your room in some of them. The breakfast at the lounge was not the best definitely and could be better. The lobby bar sells some breakfast snacks but closes then till 4PM. Many people hang around in the lobby so would imagine it would be better to have that bar opened all day long for a drink or an espresso!

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our stay at The Hotel Chicago was wonderful. While we were only there one night, our experience was beyond fabulous. The staff was the true jewel of this hotel. Everyone was so nice, courteous and helpful. Liza, Ed and Constantine (spelling) were awesome but not the only fabulous staff we came in contact with. Everyone was wonderful and I just wish I was able to remember each one's name. Suffice to say any stay there will be wonderful and you will look forward to going back. I know we are.

Room Tip: Great location to visit the city sites
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is well located downtown, it's still under partial renovation, particularly the executive lounge. Although you can tell the interior had gone through a major revamp, the decor in the rooms are a mix of the 70s with modern. I find the carpets quite old Ann bff some rooms smell old too. However, the service desk and concierge is always happy to help.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection

Address: 333 North Dearborn Street, State and Dearborn, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Hotel Sax Chicago)
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#80 Business Hotel in Chicago
#90 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The crown jewel of the Marina City complex in River North, right on the Chicago River - Hotel Chicago, Autograph Collection is steps from The House of Blues. Featuring stylish, rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, you'll soak in all the magic the city of Chicago has to offer. The Magnificent Mile, Merchandise Mart, Art Institute, Millennium Park, Theater District, and of course State Street's nightlife are all within walking distance. All 354 rooms and suites offer plush comforts amenities include Presidential double pillow top mattresses and 370 thread-count Egyptian cotton linens. All guestrooms feature 42-inch high definition TVs, working desk, fully stocked minibars, and floor to ceiling windows with views of the Chicago River or City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Marriott, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sax Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.