We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A classic hotel with modern appointments” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 North Dearborn Street, State and Dearborn, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Hotel Sax Chicago)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #98 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A classic hotel with modern appointments”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Hotel Chicago, in downtown Chicago, is centrally located to many of the attractions in the city. Principally, it overlooks the House of Blues, although you'll not notice any noise or disruptions because of it. Thanks to its Marriott affiliations, you'll find that it has predictably high levels of service at a reasonable price point.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    155
    74
    35
    6
See reviews for
56
105
20
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Please read my profile for my biases.

As a Marriott guy and frequent traveler to Chicago, I am working on staying in every Marriott property in the City. My current favorite is the Blackstone, but I decided to give this hotel a shot.

First, it has a great location. It is located right on the river and equidistant to the business district as well as Michigan Avenue. The rooms were also of a nice size. But that is about all the nice things I can say about the hotel.

My Platinum Marriott status didn't get me any extra love, and while I don't expect it, it would have been nice to have had a river view room. The room I got was spacious, but it was very tired and not very clean.

For example, the desk is inset with a piece of glass. I like this look but one has to actually lift up the glass on occasion and clean underneath it (see picture). There was also a very obvious large stain on the curtain at a height that made me wonder, and not in a good way, what could have caused it.

The side table had some other stain on it and one of the bedside lamps was hanging by its cord. I could push it back up into place but it would eventually fall down again.

The shower was odd - there was a little bathtub maybe ten inches deep and three feet square. I guess it would be nice if you were traveling with a small child, but I probably would have extended the shower and put in a proper tub considering all of the empty space in front of the toilet.

One thing that almost got this place a four star review was the concierge lounge. It was on the ground floor, which I don't care for as I like a view but it doesn't seem to make much business sense to have a lounge on some of your most expensive hotel real estate. It was never crowded and when I started there on Sunday the offerings were well above average. For example, while most Marriott's have two hot dishes, they had four, with such things as mushroom risotto balls, tiny deep dish pizza, Thai beef and pineapple chicken. But as the week went on the snacks got less diverse (back to two) and less tasty. Plus the drink selection was minimal Pepsi products. Had the consistency of the lounge been steady throughout the week, I might have been obligated to give that extra star, but as it is this hotel just really didn't stand up to my other four star reviews.

That said, the staff was friendly and helpful and as usual for a Marriott property I felt welcome.

With so many other great hotels in the city, especially at this price point, I doubt I'll stay here again, but if it was the only option I wouldn't have a problem returning.

Room Tip: I was in room 1628 so I assume the odd numbered rooms have the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eibarra, Hotel Chicago at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You are right to expect better service from us, and we are disappointed to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations. We have notified the maintenance manager of your review and will be investigating the situation. There is no excuse for guest rooms that need deep cleaning and amenities in need of repair, and we deeply apologize for the inconveniences. In regards to the food selection in our Concierge Lounge, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed our selection but we do apologize for not providing a consistent array of choices throughout the entire week. Please rest assured we have brought this up to our manager for further review. It is always of utmost important to us to ensure that our guests and customers leave the hotel satisfied at all times.

I would welcome the opportunity to restore your faith in The Hotel Chicago and would kindly request that you contact me directly at eibarra@thehotelchicago.com for any future stay.

Best regards,
The Hotel Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel is in a great spot. It's right next to the House of Blues and is within 2 blocks of good night life. You can get river view rooms, and access to all the city is nearby as Subways are a block away.

The lobby is newer. The staff were friendly each time I was in and out. The only thing I was a little under-impressed about was the concierge lounge for Marriott rewards members. They have ok food, but it tastes like a Denny's in the morning and the hors d'oeuvres in the afternoon are clearly from frozen. I was also shocked to learn that only water, soda, and coffee are complimentary. I have stayed in Marriott hotels where they even give you beer and wine for free - but not here. Maybe it is a new policy...

Room Tip: Stay as far away from the elevator as you can. I was able to hear it all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalyan, Maharashtra, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The biggest positive point of this hotel is its location. Great connectivity for metro, bus....good places to eat nearby. All the staff, from receptionist to bell boy were extrmely helpfull & friendly and made us very comfortable during check-in and check-out process. The only negative point about this hotel is wifi and internet connection....very poor. But still i will suggest it as a good choice to stay with.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The lobby is beaufully updated and a nice place to relax. The room was updated but dirty. Our mirrored side table had pieces of mirror fallen off, the curtains had large oily stains and the bathroom floor was not swept. When we went to have breakfast they didn't have some items that were on the menu. Overall we really enjoyed how close we were to shopping, restaurants, and entertainment but would probably not stay again.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eibarra, The Hotel Chicago at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Rebecca,

Sounds like we truly dropped the ball with the housekeeping condition you found your room. This is unacceptable by our standards. We want to provide our guests are comfortable, fun, and most importantly clean hotel. I cannot offer a reason why we dropped the ball during your visit. I hope you will give us a second chance to show you why we have so many wonderful reviews on Tripadvisor and that the issues you faced were a rare occurrence in our property.

Best regards,
The Hotel Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Poor WIFI speed, took more than 10 minutes to finish the online shopping. I found I left my tie in the room at noon after checkout in the morning, back to the hotel in the afternoon talked with the lady, more than 30 minutes later, she told me they didn't find anything left in the room, what can I say.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eibarra, The Hotel Chicago at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback from your visit with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced due to our poor internet speed over your stay. We were experiencing IT problems this past Friday, and because of that our Wi-Fi speeds were varied though out the day. I am following up with my team to ensure that we are providing our guests with immediate tech support should this situation arise in the future. I am very sorry that your stay was marred in this way and I can assure you that the service issues you experienced will be investigated.

We also apologize for the item that was left behind in the room after it was checked out. We have passed on the information to our management for further review. We pride ourselves on delivering exceptional service, but also on correcting things for the future in the instances when we do not get it right the first time.

Best regards,
The Hotel Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Here over the weekend. Very welcoming staff and very comfortable room. Many excellent restaurants nearby but none on the property. The room was spacious and the shower equipped with an awesome shower head. Would love to go back for a vacation visit!

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection

Address: 333 North Dearborn Street, State and Dearborn, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Hotel Sax Chicago)
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#83 Business Hotel in Chicago
#89 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The crown jewel of the Marina City complex in River North, right on the Chicago River - Hotel Chicago, Autograph Collection is steps from The House of Blues. Featuring stylish, rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, you'll soak in all the magic the city of Chicago has to offer. The Magnificent Mile, Merchandise Mart, Art Institute, Millennium Park, Theater District, and of course State Street's nightlife are all within walking distance. All 354 rooms and suites offer plush comforts amenities include Presidential double pillow top mattresses and 370 thread-count Egyptian cotton linens. All guestrooms feature 42-inch high definition TVs, working desk, fully stocked minibars, and floor to ceiling windows with views of the Chicago River or City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Marriott, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sax Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.