We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 North Dearborn Street, State and Dearborn, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Hotel Sax Chicago)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #98 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is in a great spot. It's right next to the House of Blues and is within 2 blocks of good night life. You can get river view rooms, and access to all the city is nearby as Subways are a block away.

The lobby is newer. The staff were friendly each time I was in and out. The only thing I was a little under-impressed about was the concierge lounge for Marriott rewards members. They have ok food, but it tastes like a Denny's in the morning and the hors d'oeuvres in the afternoon are clearly from frozen. I was also shocked to learn that only water, soda, and coffee are complimentary. I have stayed in Marriott hotels where they even give you beer and wine for free - but not here. Maybe it is a new policy...

Room Tip: Stay as far away from the elevator as you can. I was able to hear it all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    154
    73
    35
    6
See reviews for
56
105
20
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kalyan, Maharashtra, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The biggest positive point of this hotel is its location. Great connectivity for metro, bus....good places to eat nearby. All the staff, from receptionist to bell boy were extrmely helpfull & friendly and made us very comfortable during check-in and check-out process. The only negative point about this hotel is wifi and internet connection....very poor. But still i will suggest it as a good choice to stay with.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The lobby is beaufully updated and a nice place to relax. The room was updated but dirty. Our mirrored side table had pieces of mirror fallen off, the curtains had large oily stains and the bathroom floor was not swept. When we went to have breakfast they didn't have some items that were on the menu. Overall we really enjoyed how close we were to shopping, restaurants, and entertainment but would probably not stay again.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eibarra, The Hotel Chicago at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Rebecca,

Sounds like we truly dropped the ball with the housekeeping condition you found your room. This is unacceptable by our standards. We want to provide our guests are comfortable, fun, and most importantly clean hotel. I cannot offer a reason why we dropped the ball during your visit. I hope you will give us a second chance to show you why we have so many wonderful reviews on Tripadvisor and that the issues you faced were a rare occurrence in our property.

Best regards,
The Hotel Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Poor WIFI speed, took more than 10 minutes to finish the online shopping. I found I left my tie in the room at noon after checkout in the morning, back to the hotel in the afternoon talked with the lady, more than 30 minutes later, she told me they didn't find anything left in the room, what can I say.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eibarra, The Hotel Chicago at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback from your visit with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced due to our poor internet speed over your stay. We were experiencing IT problems this past Friday, and because of that our Wi-Fi speeds were varied though out the day. I am following up with my team to ensure that we are providing our guests with immediate tech support should this situation arise in the future. I am very sorry that your stay was marred in this way and I can assure you that the service issues you experienced will be investigated.

We also apologize for the item that was left behind in the room after it was checked out. We have passed on the information to our management for further review. We pride ourselves on delivering exceptional service, but also on correcting things for the future in the instances when we do not get it right the first time.

Best regards,
The Hotel Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Here over the weekend. Very welcoming staff and very comfortable room. Many excellent restaurants nearby but none on the property. The room was spacious and the shower equipped with an awesome shower head. Would love to go back for a vacation visit!

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at this property for 1 night (4/19/15) while traveling for business. Many previous reviews discussed renovations and lack of lobby. Renovations are complete, lobby is finished (and very nice!) and includes a number of seating areas, and bar/lounge that serves food and drinks. The concierge lounge is also located off the lobby and offers a number of flat screen TVs and seating areas. Much larger and nicer than typical concierge lounge at Marriott brand hotels.

Room on 14th floor was spacious, clean, and offered a view of the river. (You could also see the parking garage and other buildings as other reviewers mentioned, but given the location I wasn't expecting a phenomenal view.) Bathroom was a bit on the small side, but perfectly fine for me as a solo traveler. Liked the upgraded Gilchriste and Soames bath products. Room offered a large desk with plenty of plugs, and also a large sitting area with comfortable arm chair and coffee table.

Staff was friendly, especially Murphy at the door who greeted guests, rushed out in the rain to cover incoming guests with his umbrella, and introduced himself to everyone by name. He should be recognized for his excellent service.

Great location convenient to restaurants, shopping and very walkable in River North. Overall, would recommend as a good option in River North if the price is right!

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel Chicago is an excellent hotel providing large rooms and in a perfect location. The staff are excellent and very friendly, making the stay a joy. Many restaurants within walking distance and the House of Blues is across from the front entrance of the hotel. An excellent stay while in Chicago.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection

Address: 333 North Dearborn Street, State and Dearborn, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Hotel Sax Chicago)
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#82 Business Hotel in Chicago
#89 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The crown jewel of the Marina City complex in River North, right on the Chicago River - Hotel Chicago, Autograph Collection is steps from The House of Blues. Featuring stylish, rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, you'll soak in all the magic the city of Chicago has to offer. The Magnificent Mile, Merchandise Mart, Art Institute, Millennium Park, Theater District, and of course State Street's nightlife are all within walking distance. All 354 rooms and suites offer plush comforts amenities include Presidential double pillow top mattresses and 370 thread-count Egyptian cotton linens. All guestrooms feature 42-inch high definition TVs, working desk, fully stocked minibars, and floor to ceiling windows with views of the Chicago River or City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sax Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.