We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location great Staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 North Dearborn Street, State and Dearborn, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Hotel Sax Chicago)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #96 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Location great Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We only stayed for one night but were very impressed by the staffs concern, and politeness, from the Doorman , to the Front Desk, to the Service Staff we met in the hall, all were Great!!! The location of this hotel is perfect for anything downtown, and only steps away from the House Of Blues. There are many dining, and entertainment options within walking distance, even in winter. The rooms were clean…and the major lobby renovation did not affect our stay. Overall, I will be staying here again!

Room Tip: We enjoyed overlooking the river, great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    128
    64
    31
    6
See reviews for
46
89
16
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel Chicago was very nice. It is located steps from The House of Blues and a few blocks from shopping on the Magnificent Mile. Valet parking is insanely expensive ($70 w in and out priveleges) but there are less expensive garages in the area. Great spot if you're going to the House of Blues for a show.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was not impressed with this hotel, specifically the quality of the rooms. The paint was chipping off the wall to such an extent, that I actually thought it was part of the design, until I noticed the paint chips on the floor. That reflects poorly on both the hotel’s maintenance and housekeeping teams.

Rates and parking prices are high for this hotel and not justified by the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eibarra, Hotel Chicago at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello,
Thank You for taking the time to provide us with the feedback about your stay with us. We are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. I can assure you that this is not the standard in our hotel. We work hard to make sure our housekeepers keep each and every guest room clean and ready for check in. In regards to parking, our pricing is in line with similar properties in this area and we feel that we offer good value given our central location and extensive facilities. However, in your case it appears we failed to meet expectations, and for that I am truly sorry. I sincerely apologize and we hope you will stay with us again for a much better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. It was also spacious and the 42 inch TV was decent quality. The climate system in the room was top notch and kept the temp within 1 degree C. The location is awesome since it is in the middle, between Water Tower Place and Grant Park.

I am not sure why a few of the reviews I read have complaints. Perhaps management does not have a good system for handling special requests (such as non-down pillows).

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My room was okay but paint was already peeling. The lobby was okay. The rooms have large windows and nice views. There was nothing special but the price was right. The location is great but there are many other options right near by.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eibarra, Hotel Chicago at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 1 week ago
First and foremost, we are sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your overall stay with us at The Hotel Chicago and would like to apologize for not fully exceeding your expectations. We have since addressed the paint peeling issue’s with our Engineering team to ensure all rooms are fully operational and maintained for our guests’ enjoyment. I hope you will give us a second chance to show you why we have so many wonderful reviews on Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Top Contributor
349 reviews 349 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here because of the location but I will be back for the service. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The location is great, a quick walk to everything.
The rooms are a nice size for a downtown property, big bathrooms. One of the walls is a window, great view. The concierge lounge is very good and always evolving. They are going through renovations and working hard on the lounge and it shows. Good food choices and service.
The room service menu needs a ton of work. I was speaking with one of the team members in from the corporate office and see agreed and then went on to tell me they were redoing the menu and foodservice. And that the chef is going to be on Chopped.
I look forward to being back in Chicago and staying here

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, Texas, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was here for 2 weeks while working. The lobby was undergoing renovation, but the temporary lobby was sufficient as a place to sit quietly and work. The gym I must be honest, was not that great. The rooms weren't bad. However, the staff was what made makes the stay very nice. Emmanuel at the front desk, and Murphy the door man were especially great.

Room Tip: Do NOT stay near the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection

Address: 333 North Dearborn Street, State and Dearborn, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Hotel Sax Chicago)
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#90 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The crown jewel of the Marina City complex in River North, right on the Chicago River - Hotel Chicago, Autograph Collection is steps from The House of Blues. Featuring stylish, rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, you'll soak in all the magic the city of Chicago has to offer. The Magnificent Mile, Merchandise Mart, Art Institute, Millennium Park, Theater District, and of course State Street's nightlife are all within walking distance. All 354 rooms and suites offer plush comforts amenities include Presidential double pillow top mattresses and 370 thread-count Egyptian cotton linens. All guestrooms feature 42-inch high definition TVs, working desk, fully stocked minibars, and floor to ceiling windows with views of the Chicago River or City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Marriott, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sax Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.