We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant & Exciting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 North Dearborn Street, State and Dearborn, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Hotel Sax Chicago)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #94 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Elegant & Exciting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was a girls weekend downtown but the property would also have been the perfect property for a romantic couples weekend.

It appears most of the renovations have been completed.

Our room was fabulous (8th floor)

The hotel was walking distance for us to all of the favorites (Water Tower Place, Carriage Rides, ghirardelli, American Girl)

Service was excellent with so many helping hands from the bell stand to the room.

I would give the Concierge lounge a 3 out of 5 stars though. The eggs were dry (I assumed all Marriott properties used the sour cream trick to keep them moist) but they were the dry instant-ish variety akin to a Country Inn and Suites. Evening fare equally as disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, yesterday
Opcal,
Ghirardelli, American girl, Water Tower Place— It all sounds like the making of a perfect Chicago adventure! We hope you enjoyed your time in the city because we are looking forward to having you back. Hotel Chicago loves to hear from our guests and wants to thank you for your many kind words about your fabulous 8th floor room and our helpful service. We are taking your concerns about our breakfast and dinner options seriously, as we strive to offer our guests the best possible stay. It was a pleasure to have you and we hope when Chicago calls you back, you’ll hear us calling you too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    119
    57
    30
    6
See reviews for
42
78
16
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
182 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
309 helpful votes 309 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Check in was friendly and fast, they have a very small temporary lobby as the main lobby is be renovated. The room was spacious, large comfortable bed, desk and work area, mini bar, large flat screen tv and wifi, free if you are a gold rewards member. The bathroom was large, very clean nice shower with rain forest type shower head, it did take a while for the hot water to begin streaming so you might want to start the shower a few minutes prior to taking it. Complimentary shower gel, shampoo, and conditioner are provided as well as a nice body lotion. Very quiet location, not much street noise to be heard.

Room Tip: A higher floor the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, yesterday
yvr1,
It’s hard to get out of bed to enjoy your Chicago stay when the bed is as comfortable as ours. Thank you for the kind words and mention of our spacious rooms and welcoming service. We hope your time in the city was wonderful and thank you for choosing Hotel Chicago to be part of those memories. It was a pleasure to have you, and we hope to see you again soon; there’s always more to explore in the city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The customer service at this hotel is amazing! They were ready to accomodate you with whatever you needed. The valet was prompt and gracious and the front desk staff was accommodating. I am giving this hotel a 4 star rating instead of a 5 star rating because of the rooms. Everything was very clean, and the lobby was very, very nice. However, the rooms were not updated. I know they are doing renovations, so they are working on this, but I didn't stay in a renovated room. With updates, this would be a 5 star hotel, hands down.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, you don't want to get stuck with a view of the adjacent parking stru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 3 days ago
kellyreneekloth,
Our team at Hotel Chicago loves to welcome our guests as it is truly a pleasure to have each one stay! Thank you for being our recent guest and for your kind words about our accommodating team. Your thanks have been passed along! We love hearing back from all of our guests and are taking your comments about the rooms’ renovations seriously. We strive to offer location and luxury and would welcome the chance to have you back for a 5 star stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I were looking for a little weekend getaway. We have stayed at many downtown hotels to enjoy the city. This was our first time at the Hotel Chicago and was our best night ever. The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. They were constantly apologizing for the “remolding construction”. We were unable to tell any renovations were going on as the hotel was so clean and so efficient. They recommended great restaurants and things to do. Our room gave us a great view and the hotel was within walking distance of attractions and we found the location to be perfect for a night downtown. I will have my clients and friends stay there from now on.

Green Features: staff was so helpful and Knowledgeable about the city.
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Don L,
We agree that Hotel Chicago is the perfect spot for a getaway: luxury combined with a location which boasts Chicago’s best eateries and shopping. We’re thankful for your understanding during this time of remodeling and look forward to showing you our transformation. It will be worth the wait! Because of Chicago’s many ventures, we’re glad our hotel team could offer good recommendations of what to see and do. Thank you for choosing Hotel Chicago to be a part of your stay in the city; we can’t wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and loved it. The staff was extraordinarily friendly and attentive. The hotel is in the throes of a multi-million dollar renovation. The lobby is not attractive at this time, but there are several large depictions of what the new lobby/lounge will look like. The location of this hotel is very convenient; just a short walk to the loop and not far from great shopping on the miracle mile. The rooms are nice size with great beds and our room had an enormous bathroom. I am hoping the new plans include opening a restaurant for breakfast and lunch. We walked across to the Westin for our breakfast. Also, for the next couple of weeks Bin 36 is attached to the hotel, but the restaurant is moving to a new location in the Loop. Hopefully the space will be used for another full service restaurant. My only complaint is the poor selection of TV channels offered in room. However, I stayed one night in a different high end hotel and experienced the same selection of TV channels, which I am quite sure was not the selection offered last year. Maybe there is some hotel cable package that is popular at this time, but it is really not very good.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 1 week ago
AnneBoelyn,
Hotel Chicago loves its guests and we’re always glad to hear when guests love it too! Our hotel team enjoys being welcoming as it is a pleasure to have each guest! Magnificent Mile is one of our favorite destinations and we’re glad our location made your ventures more convenient. Thank you for your feedback about our dining options. BIN36 is a wonderful choice and surrounding eateries have delicious offerings as well. Thank you too for your feedback about our channel selection. We are taking it into consideration as we strive for each guest to have an exceptional stay. We hope you’ll be returning to Chicago and that we’ll see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The front desk staff was very accommodating and even though I traveled alone, I was provided a HUGE room with two double beds! The location was perfectly located near the holiday market and shopping. There was renovation occurring, however, there was no noise or any inconvenience at all. Due to this, I received an exceptional hotel rate so it was an overall fabulous deal and trip.

Room Tip: Book a room with two doubles!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 1 week ago
stowler,
Hotel Chicago aims to please, and we’re thrilled you had an exceptional stay! We agree our location is a highlight, the holiday market being one of the many great things to do in Chicago. We’re glad our current renovations did not disturb your stay and look forward to having you back and showing you our luxurious new look!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayville, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Location and overall hotel experience was great. Just be careful originally when we checked in we were assigned a room on 6, the room looked like a cheap motel room you'd find with the bathroom sink outside of the bathroom and the room sectioned off by cheap lattice work. The room was finishing up some renovations so they moved us up to 7 or 8. This room was spacious and had a large bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 1 week ago
gmNY32,
We hope your time in Chicago was a great experience and thank you for choosing Hotel Chicago to be part of your getaway. We appreciate your understanding during our renovations are glad we could accommodate you with a room which fit your needs. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope the next time you are looking for location and luxury, you will look to Hotel Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection

Address: 333 North Dearborn Street, State and Dearborn, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Hotel Sax Chicago)
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#90 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The crown jewel of the Marina City complex in River North, right on the Chicago River - Hotel Chicago, Autograph Collection is steps from The House of Blues. Featuring stylish, rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, you'll soak in all the magic the city of Chicago has to offer. The Magnificent Mile, Merchandise Mart, Art Institute, Millennium Park, Theater District, and of course State Street's nightlife are all within walking distance. All 354 rooms and suites offer plush comforts amenities include Presidential double pillow top mattresses and 370 thread-count Egyptian cotton linens. All guestrooms feature 42-inch high definition TVs, working desk, fully stocked minibars, and floor to ceiling windows with views of the Chicago River or City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sax Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.