We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Face” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 North Dearborn Street, State and Dearborn, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Hotel Sax Chicago)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #95 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Sayville, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Two Face”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Location and overall hotel experience was great. Just be careful originally when we checked in we were assigned a room on 6, the room looked like a cheap motel room you'd find with the bathroom sink outside of the bathroom and the room sectioned off by cheap lattice work. The room was finishing up some renovations so they moved us up to 7 or 8. This room was spacious and had a large bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    116
    57
    30
    6
See reviews for
40
76
15
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel is undergoing renovation so everyone must deal with noise and construction smells. Considering every guest is inconvenienced by this you would think that the hotel might offer an amenity like free in room wifi. The evening door service was way superior than the daytime. The front desk was also very good. Housekeeping was very late to clean.
The location is fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 3 days ago
SeatOfMyPntsTravelr,
Thank you for being a guest of Hotel Chicago; it was a pleasure to have you. Our location is a highlight of our hotel, and we’re glad it made your stay more enjoyable. Our lobby renovation promises to raise the bar on luxury, yet we apologize for the interruption the remodel caused you. We are also taking your feedback about the Wi-Fi seriously as we strive to provide each guest with an exceptional stay. We appreciate your kind words about our front desk team and evening door service. Your kind words will be passed along. We’d love to have you back again, and look forward to showing you our new look!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WIscons
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel was chosen for me so I was unaware of what to expect. The room was spacious and beautifully decorated. I had the best night sleep in a long time. The staff was attentive and informative. The hotel is currently being renovated and I look forward to returning to see the outcome. It was close to State Street Shopping and we even walked to Michigan Avenue.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the Iconic Parking Structure (remember the Bob Newhart Show) unless of cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Strength2Jan,
Hotel Chicago loves to provide guests with that “best night’s sleep,” and we’re glad you were rested for your State Street shopping. We offer lux décor so our guests can enjoy their getaway in the best possible way. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we’re glad our location was a highlight of your stay. The next time you need a restful night’s sleep, with shopping out your door, look no further than Hotel Chicago. We’d love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
275 helpful votes 275 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Let's start with the good: This hotel is gorgeous. Even under renovation, it is a midcentury gem. I was upgraded to a suite (thank you, hotel staff) which had a view of the iconic Chicago Theatre sign. Despite being in the middle of downtown Chicago, the room was quiet. The linen was new and fresh, the bathroom was enormous, clean and had very cool tile on the floor. And it was cheap. In fact, it was the same rate as the SpringHill Suites a block a way and less than the Courtyard around the corner, both of which are lower Marriott brands than what is supposed to be the relatively upscale Autograph Collection. This hotel is very much on par with the Blackstone, which was about double the price for the same nights.

So, why the seeming fire sale on the rooms? I learned the answer to that...

This is hotel staff whose staff cannot accomplish even the simplest tasks. The staff managed to drop the ball over and over again. While many were terrific, a chain is only as good as its weakest link, and when it came to staff, this hotel has way too many weak links.

I requested a feather free room and called to confirm this the day of arrival. It's in my Marriott profile with warnings. The desk clerk assured me this was done when asked at check-in. Of course, all the pillows were feather.

When the head housekeeper on duty was changing this out, she asked if there was anything else she could do. She was informed that I would not need housekeeping the next day and asked not to be disturbed at all, which she noted in writing. This was a two night stay. The Do Not Disturb sign was on the door all the next day. I did run down to the lobby to pick up a lunch delivery around 1:30 pm. The front desk clerk called, and spoke with me when I went downstairs, so they knew I was in the room. The housekeeper did not enter the room, but contacted whom I believe to be a housekeeping manager. She knocked, rang the bell, didn't wait a second and used her key to enter my room! I was in my underwear, and had made it clear I was not to be disturbed. Rather than call the room, check with the front desk or slip a note under the door, this fool chose to bolt into the room, without any regard to the guest who might be inside the room. There is no excuse for this. Rather than apologize, she stood in the room gawking.

There were numerous plugs at the desk. None of them worked. A maintenance person came to the room and eventually figured out the cord had been cut. She indicated that must have been done because of an electrical short or something. Note, it was a problem the hotel obviously knew about before, chose not to fix and took the shortcut.

Notice the pattern? When an employee of this hotel has the opportunity to do the right thing, he/she instead chooses to cut the corner, do the easy thing and not even think about what is best for the guest. It's as though the attitude is the hotel is for the benefit of the employees, not the guests.

Until the hotel corrects its employee problem, I'd avoid this hotel. If you are looking for a great Marriott option, the SpringHill Suites/Residence Inn is very nice with sweeping views.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 5 days ago
CJKatl,
Thank you for being a guest of Hotel Chicago and the kind words about our lux decor. We’re glad that your suite had excellent views of the city, but none of the sounds of it! Hotel Chicago is known for our helpful team and we’re sorry if our service fell short during your stay. We are taking your concerns about the feather-free room request, and the do-not-disturb request with housekeeping seriously. We apologize for any and all interruptions our housekeeping call caused. Our team is looking into the outlets, and we’re reviewing all of your feedback to ensure an exceptional visit in the future. We love to be luxury for our guests and boast an amazing location. If you are looking for a room in Chicago again, we’d love another chance to provide you with a stay you’ll enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything was great about my stay, check in was seamless, the room was spacious and well appointed, the location was fantastic and room service on the morning was delicious. I highly recommend this hotel. There is some renovation going on but it didn't get in my way at all.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 6 days ago
lovetotravel7778,
Hotel Chicago never takes a recommendation lightly! Thank you for the kind words about our rooms; it was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We agree; our location is a highlight of Hotel Chicago and hope you found many reasons to return to Chicago. We hope you found reason to return to Hotel Chicago too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Might be the worst name for a really cool place to lodge. The location is incredible and the staff very friendly. the rooms are totally chic and the views are perfect complement. There are restaurants and shopping all around and easy to locate a great gym

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 1 week ago
mtnboi25,
When it comes to location, Hotel Chicago has it covered. We’re sorry our name did not live up to our “cool place”, but we’re glad you didn’t let that stop you from choosing us for your stay! Thank you for your notice of our mod décor and friendly teams. We love to be welcoming because it’s a pleasure having each guest. The next time you’re looking for a cool room with a view, come back to Hotel Chicago. Our welcome mat is out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had high hopes for Hotel Chicago. I have seen some nice Autograph hotels and was really excited about its location and decor. The rooms are fine, although even in our upgraded room the bathtub was half the length of a normal one and the towels were regular motel quality and size. Housekeeping knocked on my door at 8:30 in the morning! Fortunately I was already up but all I could think was how bad I would feel for anyone wanting to sleep in.

The executive lounge is motel quality as well. On both mornings when we arrived (at around 8:30) the limited selection of food had been picked over, just a couple of dry bagels, a couple of chunks of scrambled eggs and sausage, and a couple of blackberries swimming in watermelon juice, and oatmeal was all that was offered. Given the poor selection, we considered going to the restaurant downstairs but it was completely empty, not one customer in the whole joint, so we just decided to conduct our breakfast meeting in the executive lounge and have a better lunch. At 10:00 a gentleman came to our table to inform us that the lounge would be closing. We told him that we didn't need any food, thinking he meant that breakfast was ending, but he meant the whole lounge was closing!

This is where an autograph property stops feeling like a Marriott. In every Marriott property we have been in one has access to the lounge all day, even if it is to just drink a soda and type emails. Upon hearing the lounge was about to close I left to find a different meeting spot on the 4th floor and when I returned was locked out of the lounge and had to call a colleague to come open the door. We made our way down to the 4th floor and the three of us grouped around a large round table amongst a sea of empty round tables, not at all a comfortable work environment. Later I asked the concierge why that was and she just said the hotel is an Autograph hotel, not a Marriott.

The staff is very friendly and the lobby, currently undergoing a remodel, should be pretty. The location is great so...

Bottoms line - if you want cheap decent rooms with friendly service but NOTHING more, go to Hotel Chicago but if you want true Marriott service try a different property, especially if you are travelling for business. The JW and Renaissance are worlds better.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Aglaure,
Thank you for your recent stay with Hotel Chicago. We appreciate your kind words about our location and friendly team. Hotel Chicago strives to welcome all of its guests as it is a pleasure to have each one! We love hearing back from our guests as it allows us to better serve their needs in the future. Thank you for sharing your feedback about our Executive Lounge food selection, and hours of service. We are known for our business accommodations and apologize if we fell short of this during your stay. If you return to Chicago, we’d love another chance to offer you an enjoyable stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection

Address: 333 North Dearborn Street, State and Dearborn, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Hotel Sax Chicago)
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#92 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The crown jewel of the Marina City complex in River North, right on the Chicago River - Hotel Chicago, Autograph Collection is steps from The House of Blues. Featuring stylish, rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, you'll soak in all the magic the city of Chicago has to offer. The Magnificent Mile, Merchandise Mart, Art Institute, Millennium Park, Theater District, and of course State Street's nightlife are all within walking distance. All 354 rooms and suites offer plush comforts amenities include Presidential double pillow top mattresses and 370 thread-count Egyptian cotton linens. All guestrooms feature 42-inch high definition TVs, working desk, fully stocked minibars, and floor to ceiling windows with views of the Chicago River or City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sax Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.