We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 North Dearborn Street, State and Dearborn, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Hotel Sax Chicago)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #91 of 172 Hotels in Chicago
CARY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One night stay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were in Chicago for a one night stay for a 24 hour layover. Booked the hotel because of the awesome pictures online and location. We were pretty disappointed in the room as it didn't really live up to the pictures we had seen but the real kicker that totally turned me off was the dirty mattress and box spring right outside of our room. I was really bothered by this but we had traveled for over 13 hours that day and just decided to let it go thinking it would be gone in the morning. Not the case, it was still there. My number one thing with hotels is cleanliness and I can't help but be bothered by a dirty mattress sitting in the hallway where guest rooms are.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    92
    49
    21
    5
See reviews for
34
62
10
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Charles, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The location is great. Came down for one night, checked in earlier than scheduled. Was given Room 615 -- Major disappointment. After reading other room reviews, I feel that we were cheated with the room we were given. Since we checked in so early, I asked if there were any other rooms available; and I was told they were sold out and nothing else was available. Really? At 12:30 in the afternoon, they couldn't have given me another room? One chair -- double bed or full bed -- sheets said doubleXL -- no bathtub. It wouldn't even come close to being a 2-1/2 star room. I know others have given this hotel a great review; so are the rooms really that different? The room was so small, a queen size bed couldn't have fit in that room. There wasn't even a bathtub -- just a pocket bathroom; toilet and shower. Bottom line -- a big letdown!

Room Tip: stay off the 6th floor, especially 615.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Margaret60174,
Thank you for being a guest at Hotel Chicago. While we are always glad to hear that our location brings you to the door of some of Chicago’s best, we are also appreciative of honest feedback. We strive to surpass our guests’ expectations, providing a high-end, luxury stay with exceptional service, and you are no exception. We are taking your concerns very seriously and are in the process of some major renovations. We’d love to see you back for a stay in a room which leaves you smiling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was hesitant at first to book a boutique hotel in a city where there were tons of name chain hotels but I liked the location. I was running the Chicago marathon and it was only a mile from the start and finish line. It was in Marina city next to the corn cob garage which is an architectural wonder. Valet Parking was expensive at $69 a night but was very convenient. They are renovating parts of the hotel. What made them stand out was the excellent service and the friendliness of the staff. We were able to easily get to all the sights downtown and Smith and Wollensky our go to steakhouse in Chicago and the house of blues were a few steps away . can't wait to see what it looks like after the renovations.

Stayed October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 1 week ago
AngieB234,
Location, a friendly team to help you out, good eats right out your door—all great reasons to stay at Hotel Chicago! We’re glad you chose us! Our upcoming renovations promise to be high-end, so we look forward to having you back so you can see our new look! Congratulations for your run in the marathon, it’s an accomplishment to be proud of! Thank you for being our guest during that special event; and now that you’ve found us, we look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Not only does this hotel have a great location, they have fantastic staff!! It was a busy weekend with the Marathon; however, I recieved excellent personal service all weekend. Liza, at the front desk was especially helpful as were the doormen - one even went as far as getting us coffee as we had come down a bit late. I would definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Mary Y,
Hotel Chicago is never too busy to treat our guests right! We’re passing on your thanks to Liza and the doormen, and want to thank you for choosing to give us the chance to have you stay with us for the weekend. We’re thrilled we will get to see you again. It’s the best compliment you could give!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in the hotel for a long weekend. From the moment of our arrival we were greeted by the extremely friendly and helpful staff of the hotel. The rooms were spacious, very well maintained and clean. The beds were heavenly...The hotel is situated in the heart of everything you would want to see or do in Downtown Chicago. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Drorio,
Hotel Chicago never takes a compliment lightly. Thanks for taking the time to let us know that your experience here was a great one. Each and every guest that stays with us is our favorite, so we try to treat them each to a wonderful time while with us! Come back soon, where there is always more of Chicago right out our door to see!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location for a girls trip. Close to shopping and good eats, hotel bar was very hip. One of the best attractions were the doormen (Murphy and Richard) who were more than helpful with making sure our cab drivers were trust worthy, both gave us good advice on where to go and the safest route to take plus did check to see when we returned to follow up and see if everything went well.
Hotel restaurant had a good breakfast selection and the room was clean with updated decor. I would stay again for the pure fact of the staff taking extra interest in making sure our overall experience was fun and safe!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 1 week ago
B R,
Hotel Chicago knows there are many choices in a big city of where to put your head, which is why when you stay with us we love to provide great service and special care, making it easy to see why our guests made the decision to stay and play here! We’re passing your thanks on to Murphy and Richard who we love just as much as you! And we agree; Jaspers knows how to serve up a breakfast that makes you want to get out of bed. If you and your friends haven’t already booked a return trip— we hope we’re talking you into it! We’d love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel has a great location. I would recommend that you fly into Chicago, parking is way too expensive. Taxis are cheap. Nice hotel and clean, staff was prompt and attentive but if you have questions you have to be clear about what you asking asking for, they didn't seem to offer suggestions on cost saving measures unless you asked.

Room Tip: You have to pay for parking and wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Bev M,
Thanks for sharing your feedback from your recent stay! Our Hotel does make a great starting point for hitting up the town; glad you found that convenient. Sorry to hear that you found the parking and Wi-Fi expensive. We will take your comments seriously as we strive to make our guests have a wonderful experience during their stay! We look forward to having you back, and thank you for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection

Address: 333 North Dearborn Street, State and Dearborn, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Hotel Sax Chicago)
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#89 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The crown jewel of the Marina City complex in River North, right on the Chicago River - Hotel Chicago, Autograph Collection is steps from The House of Blues. Featuring stylish, rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, you'll soak in all the magic the city of Chicago has to offer. The Magnificent Mile, Merchandise Mart, Art Institute, Millennium Park, Theater District, and of course State Street's nightlife are all within walking distance. All 354 rooms and suites offer plush comforts amenities include Presidential double pillow top mattresses and 370 thread-count Egyptian cotton linens. All guestrooms feature 42-inch high definition TVs, working desk, fully stocked minibars, and floor to ceiling windows with views of the Chicago River or City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Expedia, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sax Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.