We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel has potential, but needs some attention.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 North Dearborn Street, State and Dearborn, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Hotel Sax Chicago)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #93 of 169 Hotels in Chicago
Lodi, California
1 review
“Hotel has potential, but needs some attention.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel is tired and old, the concierge lounge is unimpressive, but the location is decent and the staff is good. One person, in particular, really shined. Murphy, the bellman, convinced me to stay when he knew I was disappointed and wanted to find another hotel. He made my stay a very pleasant and positive experience. Thanks Murphy!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    80
    46
    18
    5
See reviews for
30
54
9
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

An upscale hotel in the Autograph collection of Marriott. Everything went as expected. The concierge lounge was not as well stocked and provided for as one would hope; it seemed to be underutilized. They may not get many elite members. The staff were very good and attentive. I would stay there again, though the other Marriott hotels in the area are more to my liking.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It was so cold and the aircon did blow like hell. Staff is not very friendly either. Room was clean but with a strange smell. Just had once breakfast, was ok but pricy. Everything what you need in walking distance, House of Blues in front and some other nice bars and restaurants around

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Sven H, Thanks for sharing your feedback from your recent stay! Location, location, location! Our Hotel does make a great starting point for hitting up the town; glad you found that convenient. We’re sorry to hear you did not find all of our team friendly. We are usually known for our service, and we will take your comments seriously as we strive to make our guests feel welcomed and comfortable! We’ll also look into the issues regarding the air-conditioning and smell of your room. We’d love nothing more than to make your stay “5 stars” upon your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Excellent Room, Great Location, Friendly Staff, Great Value. The hotel is renovated or new, very chic and sophisticated, everything was really high standards, the location is excellent, near the river and in the downtown loop, walking everywhere was such a delight.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hello anleals, It’s guests like you that really make this hotel the best! I’m so glad our team could be on hand to help make your stay great and I’m thrilled you enjoyed our 5-star-renovations! It sounds like you found some great sights to see during your recent stay. Our welcome mat is always out, so please come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I recently stayed there for three weeks on a business trip. I was very impressed by the staff. Very knowledgeable and helpful. Front desk staff were always willing to go above and beyond to make sure my stay was enjoyable. Richard and the rest of the valet staff were outstanding. Always a cordial greeting and conversation. This is definatl\y a hidden jewel. I understand they are going to be going through a renovation, so I can only expect the even better from this great hotel. Great location.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Hello Dave,
You’ve put a bounce in our step today, thank you for the exceptional review! We love hearing when our hotel goes above and beyond for our guests. We’ll happily pass your praise along to Richard and the rest of our hotel and valet team; it’s sure to generate a bunch of smiles. We hope to see you again when you next visit Chicago; we plan to wow you with our upcoming improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My husband and I got married here on August 30th, 2014 and we had such a great time. Our event planner, Roslyn Mollica, provided us with excellent service. Her professionalism and kindness made us feel so relaxed. I've worked with a lot of event planners and she has by far been one of my favorite people to work with.
Our wedding took place in both the Crimson lounge and the Chicago room. Both places were so lovely. All the staff was amazing and the servers were absolutely top notch! The quality of the food was really good too. I have nothing but amazing things to say about this place. If you are looking to plan an event or just need a hotel room, this is the place to be! Hotel Chicago, thank you for making our wedding so special.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Hello JovkaWitalis,
Congratulations on your recent wedding, how exciting! Roslyn truly is amazing, and we can’t wait to pass your compliments along to her; it’ll make her day! We feel honored to have been a part of such a momentous day, and we’re thrilled you loved our Crimson Lounge, Chicago Room and our overall hotel. We hope to see you again in the future; we’re thinking an anniversary trip would be so romantic!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Took an unusual trip to chicago for a half marathon. Decided to avoid the usual business hotels and found this great place. Of course it had all the necessities am experienced biz traveler needs but it also had a great leisure soul.

A chic staff welcomes you into a sophisticated arrival area. Check was the breeze you want it to be.

The room was fantastic. It was finished in a contemporary yet elegant way. Was upgraded to a suite which was very large for an urban hotel. Bathrooms where huge and amenities great.

The bar was perfect for a private scene amongst a crowd offering the best of being somewhere without being out there...

Had to rent a car to get to the race so parking was expensive but still less than SF or NYC.

I'm going back. Chicago is a great town, this hotel is right in the middle of everything. I've discovered a new favorite place to stay...biz or pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Hello Travel2Much1961,
You’ve just made our day! We love hearing that we’re now your new favorite place to stay in Chicago! We’re thrilled we impressed you from the moment you arrived and through your full stay with us. We’ll be sure to pass your praise along to our hotel team, thank you. Our location is one of our favorite qualities; with so much to do here, we never get bored! We’re sorry you felt the cost of parking was a bit pricey, and we’ll take your thoughts into careful consideration. We hope your marathon was a huge success, and we can’t wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection

Address: 333 North Dearborn Street, State and Dearborn, Chicago, IL 60654 (Formerly Hotel Sax Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#81 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#90 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The crown jewel of the Marina City complex in River North, right on the Chicago River - Hotel Chicago, Autograph Collection is steps from The House of Blues. Featuring stylish, rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, you'll soak in all the magic the city of Chicago has to offer. The Magnificent Mile, Merchandise Mart, Art Institute, Millennium Park, Theater District, and of course State Street's nightlife are all within walking distance. All 354 rooms and suites offer plush comforts amenities include Presidential double pillow top mattresses and 370 thread-count Egyptian cotton linens. All guestrooms feature 42-inch high definition TVs, working desk, fully stocked minibars, and floor to ceiling windows with views of the Chicago River or City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sax Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.