We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Convenient Place in Downtown Chicago” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Chicago Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Chicago Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 E. Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611 (Streeterville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #66 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A Convenient Place in Downtown Chicago”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The Residence Inn Downtown is conveniently located near shopping, tourist attractions and restaurants. It was also within walking distance to my meetings. The hotel is typical for a downtown Residence Inn, meaning that the rooms are larger than in most downtown hotels, but the staff is smaller. The beds were comfortable, the hotel was reasonably quiet, although I did hear some traffic noise. This is a good hotel for business because the rooms are set up for work and the Internet access works perfectly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsy W, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Good afternoon! Thank you for staying with us while travelling on business to Downtown Chicago. We are fortunate enough to have very spacious suites in this premium location. Our suites range from 450 sq. feet to 950 sq. feet in our two bedrooms. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to seeing you on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    213
    55
    12
    7
See reviews for
186
118
27
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My family heads to Chicago a couple weekends a year to enjoy the city. We generally stay somewhere just off the Mag Mile, and we recently stayed at this hotel. The service at the hotel was very good, valet parking was reasonable for Chicago, and our room was large, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was free, and was fine - if you want fine dining for breakfast, there's lots of other places to head - but if you want something to get you going for the day, their breakfast is fast and pretty good. The only drawback to the facility (if you have kids) is no pool.

Room Tip: go for a high floor - less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsy W, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, February 17, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback about your recent stay. I am sorry to learn that your experience in our hotel failed to meet your expectations and that your nights sleep was interrupted.

I hope that if your travels bring you back to Chicago, you will consdier staying with us again and we will have an opportunity to provide you with a peaceful nights rest.

Thank you,
Lindsy Wnorowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We like this hotel and come here often. What we find most appealing is most of the staff has been there for over 20 years - the bellman and doorman always remember us when we pull in and are so accommodating. I highly recommend this hotel. Great location for North Michigan Ave.

Room Tip: High floor facing the "street"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsy W, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community. As you mentioned, we are very fortunate to have many of our associates working at this particular property since we opened the doors over 20 years ago. They love having the opportunity to recognize our repeat guests. We appreciate your loyalty!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Fantastic hotel with the MOST comfortable beds. Weekly cheese and wine tastings and a great full hot breakfast bar daily. Situated on the Magnificent Mile within walking distance of anything and everything you want. My room on the 16th floor has a view of Lake Michigan. If you're visiting make sure to try Giordano's pizza.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsy W, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Chicago! We are looking forward to our next wine tasting event in the last week of June!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukegan, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Three of my grandchildren (18, 14 and 12) and I spent 3 nights here over their spring break. The room was comfortable with a great view of the city. The folks at the front desk were very helpful. The breakfasts were delicious and plentiful. We had a great time exploring the city by bus, train and foot. Highlights were the Shedd Aquarium, Lincoln Park Zoo and Navy Pier. Great location near the Hancock Building.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a beautiful nighttime view of the city and Lake Michigan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
160 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I stayed here when in town for business and enjoyed it very much! Perfect location walking distance to many destinations! Staff were very friendly at the entrance and front desk. Happy hour and breakfast are good bonuses! The room was spacious and clean with great view! The only thing I didn't care for was the bed cover blanket. It could have been a better quality comforter.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Great room! Beautiful view! Large rooms, wonderful breakfast!! Extremely clean. Very pleasant staff who upon every request greeted me with a smile and knowledge of the area. The rooms were spacious and perfect for relaxin after a busy day!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Streeterville
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#72 of 178 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 1,612 reviews
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Downtown

Address: 201 E. Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in Chicago
#59 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#74 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chicago Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Chicago Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Chicago Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.