We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Break Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Chicago Downtown

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Chicago Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 E. Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Gift Card
Ranked #67 of 169 Hotels in Chicago
Waukegan, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Spring Break Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Three of my grandchildren (18, 14 and 12) and I spent 3 nights here over their spring break. The room was comfortable with a great view of the city. The folks at the front desk were very helpful. The breakfasts were delicious and plentiful. We had a great time exploring the city by bus, train and foot. Highlights were the Shedd Aquarium, Lincoln Park Zoo and Navy Pier. Great location near the Hancock Building.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a beautiful nighttime view of the city and Lake Michigan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    166
    45
    11
    5
See reviews for
143
100
20
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I stayed here when in town for business and enjoyed it very much! Perfect location walking distance to many destinations! Staff were very friendly at the entrance and front desk. Happy hour and breakfast are good bonuses! The room was spacious and clean with great view! The only thing I didn't care for was the bed cover blanket. It could have been a better quality comforter.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Great room! Beautiful view! Large rooms, wonderful breakfast!! Extremely clean. Very pleasant staff who upon every request greeted me with a smile and knowledge of the area. The rooms were spacious and perfect for relaxin after a busy day!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stayed here for 5 days with family. The location is great, most things in walking distance, the rooms are well equipped, the staff is extremely friendly and helpful especially Semantha in the breakfast shift and Antonio at the front desk. Would definitely stay here if ever back in Chicago !

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We have been at the Residence Inn for 4 nights on a spring vacation. We enjoyed the warm welcome and we had a great room. (1105)
Breakfast was delicious (thanks to Ruben, who welcomes his guests with a smile) and the breakfast area was always clean and dishes filled up.
We love the location near mag mile - everything important in walking distance, otherwise to reach by bus or underground from cta.
On thursday evening the Hotel offered a great hamburger - with a fresh salad buffet. A plus we did appreciate!
The room was big enough - kitchen well equipped - and very clean.
We will be back.

Room Tip: On higher levels you can see lake michigan. in floor 11 not yet. Our room was facing the street. Sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Had the pleasure to stay here this past weekend. Very, very happy with our choice. Nice, spacious, and spotless room. Walking distance (1 block) to Michigan Ave. shopping and dining. You will not be disappointed staying here!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
165 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
406 helpful votes 406 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I was traveling with my 9 year old son, so high luxury was not what we needed; a comfortable, friendly place with laundry facilities is what we needed. This place scored on all fronts. We arrived by cab about 3:30 PM, were able to check-in without delay, got quarters and set about the task of doing a week's worth of laundry. The hotel is clean, the laundry facilities large, the personnel (to a person) friendly, the room MOSTLY clean (we can forgive), and the bed comfy.
The next day, while waiting for our 3:00 PM train departure, we were afforded a 1:00 check out. All of this within a minute's walk of Chicago's famed Magnificent Mile.
The evening meal and breakfast were just icing on the cake.
Bravo.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Downtown

Address: 201 E. Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in Chicago
#71 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#87 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chicago Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Chicago Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Chicago Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.