We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Chicago Downtown

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Chicago Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 E. Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Gift Card
Ranked #58 of 168 hotels in Chicago
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stayed here for 5 days with family. The location is great, most things in walking distance, the rooms are well equipped, the staff is extremely friendly and helpful especially Semantha in the breakfast shift and Antonio at the front desk. Would definitely stay here if ever back in Chicago !

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    160
    42
    11
    4
See reviews for
139
98
19
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We have been at the Residence Inn for 4 nights on a spring vacation. We enjoyed the warm welcome and we had a great room. (1105)
Breakfast was delicious (thanks to Ruben, who welcomes his guests with a smile) and the breakfast area was always clean and dishes filled up.
We love the location near mag mile - everything important in walking distance, otherwise to reach by bus or underground from cta.
On thursday evening the Hotel offered a great hamburger - with a fresh salad buffet. A plus we did appreciate!
The room was big enough - kitchen well equipped - and very clean.
We will be back.

Room Tip: On higher levels you can see lake michigan. in floor 11 not yet. Our room was facing the street. Sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Had the pleasure to stay here this past weekend. Very, very happy with our choice. Nice, spacious, and spotless room. Walking distance (1 block) to Michigan Ave. shopping and dining. You will not be disappointed staying here!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
165 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
405 helpful votes 405 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I was traveling with my 9 year old son, so high luxury was not what we needed; a comfortable, friendly place with laundry facilities is what we needed. This place scored on all fronts. We arrived by cab about 3:30 PM, were able to check-in without delay, got quarters and set about the task of doing a week's worth of laundry. The hotel is clean, the laundry facilities large, the personnel (to a person) friendly, the room MOSTLY clean (we can forgive), and the bed comfy.
The next day, while waiting for our 3:00 PM train departure, we were afforded a 1:00 check out. All of this within a minute's walk of Chicago's famed Magnificent Mile.
The evening meal and breakfast were just icing on the cake.
Bravo.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We have been staying at the Residence Inn on East Walton since it was converted into a Residence Inn property. We treat it like a little home away from our home. Located off busy Michigan Ave, near the 900 block the RI is within walking distance of museums, restaurants and shopping. The rooms have been recently been updated and pets are welcomed. We always take a one bedroom suite so the there is plenty of room and having a seperate bedroom allows for tv watching without bothering my wife. With all the hotel options available in Chicago we feel that this one fits our need and price bracket. Free breakfast is another perk.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms on E.Walton St. side give a fabulous lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsy W, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback on our property, your home away from home. We really are an urban sanctuary, a block off Michigan Avenue, but yet situated in a very quiet residential area. Thanks for your continued loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Hotel was very clean and the staff was attentive and kind. We were impressed by the size of our 2 bedroom suite, but we understood why the sitting areas and bedrooms were so huge - only one TINY bathroom. We did fine since there was only 2 of us but a bigger group might want to take note. Great location near the lake, shopping, food and fun. A little hard to find and the one way streets in that area can be confusing. Also note if you are claustrophobic that its a very BUSY hotel and there will usually be a large crowd at check-in times, plus at their breakfasts. Again, however, they have an excellent staff and wait times were short. All in all, a great stay. I would definitely stay again, and would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Our two bedroom suite only had a view of the street, and a very limited view of the lake. If you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I only stayed one night at the Residence Inn. It is steps from the Magnificent Mile and many great restaurants and bars. Check in was great, Valet was very attentive. The rooms were a bit small but thats probably to be expected in an urban hotel. The room however was very clean and well maintained. Breakfast and evening social were very run of the mill Marriott but good none the less. I'd stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Downtown

Address: 201 E. Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in Chicago
#64 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#85 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chicago Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Chicago Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Chicago Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.