We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Chicago Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Chicago Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 E. Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #55 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Westlake, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent service and location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed here in late July and found this hotel a tremendous value. The hotel was clean and friendly. The staff extremely helpful. people were whining about elevators at this place but we felt they were fine? Not sure why people complained. Hint: Use the service elevator! Easy to do and OK to use! Breakfast was plentiful. Delicious hot food and fruit! Nice. We asked for a Lake view on a top floor. Georgeous!! Why would you gamble with another hotel when this one meets all your needs and is on the Magnificent Mile.

Room Tip: ask for a room on 17 or higher! Spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    185
    47
    11
    5
See reviews for
157
111
22
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed here on three different occasions during the winter 2011-12. The service is excellent! Very friendly staff from the front desk to the ladies serving breakfast. The location is fantastic and the suites are spacious and comfortable. We stayed in a one bedroom and a two bedroom. The layout and space is basically the same, minus the extra bedroom. The cons - the beds are extremely uncomfortable. The parking is expensive. Summer rates are too high. In the end, this is a great deal at the winter bargain rates, but the high simmer rates sent me elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The spacious room and ideal locale helped make this stay enjoyable, but what I appreciated most was the excellent service that Lindsy provided. She made this Gold Level Marriott member feel like a Platinum. The Dodd family says a heartfelt THANK YOU to her.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powder Springs, GA
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed my stay at the marriott. The rooms were very large and spacious. The hotel was conveniently located. The breakfast offered was much better than what most hotels offer. The only drawback was the slow elevators. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We shared a 2 bedroom suite with our son, DIL and their 2 little boys. Every thing was good, had to have more towels sent up and some dish soap. Location was great and I agree with another reviewer regarding the sticker shock at many of the venues. The biggest draw back was we needed another bathroom all to often. One small room with tub and toilet with very small vanity area outsde with another mirrior/ counter in the hall was not good for any degree of privacy. Breakfast was good with a nice variety, but there was not enough tables and seating. There was a lady that sang and she was fantastic!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with extra bathroom if your group needs more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The location is excellent, you can walk to the Magnificent Mile, restaurants and shops. The rooms are large and clean, not perfect, but pretty good. The breakfast is quite good with pretty much everything you would expect. The front desk people are pleasant and helpful. The only negative was that the elevators were busy and slow at peak times. Hint: We did find a service elevator tucked around a corner.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

The staff at this RI were pleasant and friendly. Clean and comfortable rooms. Typical breakfast and happy hour (Tue, Wed & Thur) were great! The location could not have been better. One block off of Michigan Ave and very close to several CTA bus stops. For two moms traveling with four girls ages 6-12, we felt safe walking back to our motel no matter what time of day or night. City and traffic noise were nonexistent and the breeze from the lake was refreshing.

A couple of suggestions:

Hit breakfast between 6:45 and 7am. It starts getting really busy by 7:15.
Buy grocery items at Walgreens, especially if you are traveling with kids. Cereal, Mac and cheese, almost evreything is comparable in price to a regular grocery store. Fruit is more expensive.
Take a taxi to and from Union Station, but navigate the city by CTA busses. So convenient and you can get a 3 day unlimited ride pass for $12.
You can buy postage at the front desk and they are more than happy to send out post cards, letters, etc for you.

Overall, a wonderful experience for our first trip to Chicago and I would suggest this RI to anyone traveling to the Windy City!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Downtown

Address: 201 E. Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Chicago
#55 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#73 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chicago Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Chicago Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Chicago Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.