We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, large rooms, close to mag mile” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Chicago Downtown

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Chicago Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 E. Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Gift Card
Ranked #58 of 168 hotels in Chicago
Illinois US
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Great value, large rooms, close to mag mile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

You're about 1 block from the Mag Mile. If you enjoy shopping, this is the place to stay. Near beaches too, if it's summer walk across to Oak Street Beach. The free breakfast is typical for a Residence Inn but unusual for Downtown Chicago. You are a quick bus ride away from Wrigley Field or go the other way and you are minutes from the Art Museum, Grant Park and The Bean. Staff is efficient, not particularly warm. Elevators are slow on weekends, plan to eat early if you don't want to wait at breakfast/checkout time. Large rooms.

Room Tip: You are close to buses and several blocks from trains. Buses in this area are just fine and efficien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    160
    42
    11
    4
See reviews for
139
98
19
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Lima, Peru
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

Well , i looooooove this hotel, i went with my boyfriend for a couple of days in July it was awesome :) i mean our view was not the greatest because we had a horrible roof right next to the window but inside everything was lovely, we booked a junior suite that we really enjoyed ;) Ill recommend you that type of room, but try to request a high floor!
The only think We dislike was the advice that the Frontdesk guy gave us, we asked him about a nice italian restaurant and he send us to a weird place! but..thats ok nobodys perfect! ill def want to come back :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

What a great location, quiet and convenient and easy to get to by car once you work out how to enter Walton Street! Lack of short term street parking and expensive valet service is the only down side I can comment on but the space and amenity in the one bedroom apartment was amazing, apart from the squeeze in the bathroom, and the staff were extremely attentive and helpful; my 3 year old grandson was delighted with his backpack surprise from the front desk. The complimentary breakfast was just fine and we took helpings back to our room to have a nice undisturbed family meal around the table with our own plates, cutlery and kitchen facilities. The $149 for the Sunday night was exceptional value and I would not hesitate to return if this kind of rate is available again. This property is not about luxury but location, amenity, space, value and more than adequate comfort.
We had dinner at the Rosebud across the road for a party of 8 and enjoyed great service but it was all at quite a price, especially the wines.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, IN
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Although I work in Chicago, I decided to use my free night’s stay at the Residence Inn, just a block off Michigan Avenue, the main shopping street, two weeks before Christmas to do a little spending.

I knew the location would be excellent, but I was surprised at the size of the (upgraded) one-bedroom suite we stayed in. The bedroom was ridiculously large, and my nephew says the pull-out couch was comfortable in the living room. And he had his own TV, as did I. The closet by the door was very large as were the two huge closets in the bedroom – as much closet space as I have in my townhouse! I liked the separate sink, and everything was very clean and the staff friendly.

The 900 Michigan shops and Water Tower place are with two blocks. Can’t beat it for shopping. The breakfast was your typically good RI variety, AND we had a woman breakfast attendant who sang a Blues song about the RI during breakfast! Free entertainment! You won’t regret your stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon Bay
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

What a great hotel for the family or business in the heart of downtown Chicago! The rooms are enormous, and the morning breakfast is fantastic. The hotel takes pets, too. I'll definitely be staying there with my family the next time we have a Chicago getaway!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

My wife and I were visiting our daughter for a long Chicago weekend and Residence Inn fit the bill. You could not ask for a better location a block from the lake and a block from Michigan Ave. where all the action is. We arrived after a long flight and commute to downtown exhausted. The front desk could not have been more accomodating finding us a
great room to help celebrate my wife's birthday. The elevators are a little slow and small but small inconvenience for a quite property. Breakfast each morning was a delight with fresh fruit selection, hot & cold cereals, hot entrees, pastries, etc. , just a great selection.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsy W, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Good morning. Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience on Trip Advisor. The views from our higher level rooms are incredible of Lake Michigan. I appreicate your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011 via mobile

As an airline crew member I stay here very often. Great location and amazing breakfast! Three days out of the week they have great dinners. Unfortunately the staff is less than friendly and rarely go out of the way to make their customers happy.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Downtown

Address: 201 E. Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in Chicago
#64 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#85 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chicago Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Chicago Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Chicago Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.