We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   633 North Saint Clair Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Wyndham Chicago)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #20 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Montgomery, Illinois
2 reviews
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I wanted a weekend getaway in Chicago around the holidays. Very nice hotel and room. We did the King suite...very nice and very clean. Great location and overall experience. It was exactly what we'd expected from the reviews and cost. Starbucks in the building was a convenient treat.
We had brunch (travelzoo special) @ Level2 (lobby restaurant) and it was FANTASTIC! Food and service was STELLAR...great value.
We'll be back.

Room Tip: We had a corner king suite and quite enjoyed it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    199
    37
    10
    6
See reviews for
199
169
31
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I've stayed in many different hotels in Chicago, and I would have to say this I would add this to my list of places I would stay again. Great location, right by the magnificent mile. Great and friendly staff. The rooms r brand new, very modern, very spacious especially for Chicago, it's hard to find spacious hotel rooms. I forgot a few items, but that was not a problem, they had of long list of complimentary items. They even had a of items u can borrow such a humidifier, I've never had a hotel offer me options like that. As for the ambulance sounds, it's part of the sounds of being in a city, it's easy to tune out. The people who gave this place a bad review have obviously not stayed at other hotels in the city, because compared to some of the places I've stayed at in Chicago, this is top notch!

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Your 5 star review on TripAdvisor of the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile was a joy to read! During this holiday season, it is always nice to know that we have provided our guests with a "perfect getaway!" Even though we have a brand new property, it is basic customer service that means the most to people. We thank you for your recommendation and look forward to your next visit to Chicago! You will be happy to know that beginning on February 14, 2015, we will be offering complimentary internet to all of our guests! Happy Holidays!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent location. The noise from the nearby hospital did not affect us.
Had an issue with a staff on check in ( Jose ) who was extremely rude. Not sure what his issue was. Unfortunately 1st impressions last and that one negative encounter may make me chose another hotel in future.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper chose a different hotel as you may get affected by the ambulance noise as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Our location in downtown Chicago is one that travelers seek out. We are within walking distance of many shops and restaurants as well as attractions such as Navy Pier. I truly apologize if your check in experience was not all that you had hoped for. Your feedback is incredibly important to us and it is my hope that you will give us another try. I am sure you will be fully satisfied when you come back to see us again!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, IL, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our company had it's holiday party in this hotel and we got the weekend at a good rate. The hotel room was great, the staff friendly and it is conveniently located close to Michigan Ave. Only draw back is the emergency vehicles from/to the hospital across the road.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 1 week ago
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile loves holiday parties! Our catering and banquet staff make it easy for you to enjoy celebrations and special events in our two ballrooms. Once the party is over, guests love to be able to just take the elevator upstairs to their room! I am glad that although you came for a business event that you were able to take some time for yourself and stay the entire weekend with us. Hope you were able to get in some holiday shopping on the Mag Mile!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Hyatt Hotel near the Magnificant Mile turned out to be an excellent choice. Location was good and the hotel itself was excellent. great room and very accommodating staff. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Your 5 star review of the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile was a pleasure to read! We are glad that you chose our hotel to stay at while you were in Chicago recently. While we love our our major renovations turned out, we are very proud of our accommodating staff. Old fashioned customer service never goes out of style! Our location gives our guests plenty of places to eat and shop with many within walking distance. Your recommendation is very much appreciated. Come back soon.

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very loud noises from outside all night long. Beds are horrible and they want you to pay to use internet in your room but provide it free in the lobby and meeting areas. Makes no sense. Not worth the cost of a room.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We appreciate your review of your stay at our hotel. We understand that you were disappointed, but I can assure you that we will definitely keep your review in mind as we continue to improve our property experience. It is our goal to provide our guests with a level of quality that they are accustomed to receiving. We will take your suggestions into consideration. Have a wonderful holiday season!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed at this hotel in the past when it was under different ownership. Hyatt has done a great job in the renovations of this property. The staff was always very friendly and helpful. We had a suite and a corner room and both were very nice. The suite was more spacious than most suites in other hotels in the area.

The hotel is located one block off of Michigan Avenue and about in the middle as far as shopping North or South.

We have always stayed on the North side of the hotel which is across from the Northwestern Hospital emergency room entrance. Yes, you hear plenty of sirens especially during the day, but at night after 10 or 11:00 there isn't as many because they seem to shut them down earlier as they approach the hospital. We were there for four nights and were only awaken a couple of times. I use a white noise device to help block out annoying sounds. My wife says it blocks out my snoring also.

Room Tip: The Ontario Street side might be quieter than the Erie Street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 1 week ago
The great location of the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile coupled with our $25 million dollar renovation has resulted in our re-invented hotel. We are lucky to be able to offer wonderful dining, a state-of-the-art fitness center and brand new bedrooms . We like to think that our "Midwestern Hospitality" is what makes our guests return again and again. I am glad that you stayed with us in the past and continue to stay with us even though we have changed ownership. Many of our staff did the same including me! I hope you will think of us as your "home away from home!"

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificient Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 633 North Saint Clair Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Wyndham Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#20 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile Hotel you're in the heart of Chicago, steps from Michigan Avenue, the Gold Coast neighborhood, Navy Pier and Lake Michigan. Our luxurious hotel is symbol of hospitality on The Magnificent Mile. From the moment you step inside, you will agree that our hotel is as stunning as it is convenient. The hotel's 419 guest rooms, meeting and banquet space, restaurant & lounge, lobby, indoor pool and fitness center have all received a recent dramatic renovation in customer convenience, design and furnishings. State of the art technology has been incorporated throughout the hotel. Our two magnificent ballrooms will dazzle you and are perfect for social events as well as business functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.