We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   633 North Saint Clair Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Wyndham Chicago)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #19 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Excellent location. The noise from the nearby hospital did not affect us.
Had an issue with a staff on check in ( Jose ) who was extremely rude. Not sure what his issue was. Unfortunately 1st impressions last and that one negative encounter may make me chose another hotel in future.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper chose a different hotel as you may get affected by the ambulance noise as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    199
    37
    10
    6
See reviews for
199
168
31
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, IL, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our company had it's holiday party in this hotel and we got the weekend at a good rate. The hotel room was great, the staff friendly and it is conveniently located close to Michigan Ave. Only draw back is the emergency vehicles from/to the hospital across the road.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 2 days ago
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile loves holiday parties! Our catering and banquet staff make it easy for you to enjoy celebrations and special events in our two ballrooms. Once the party is over, guests love to be able to just take the elevator upstairs to their room! I am glad that although you came for a business event that you were able to take some time for yourself and stay the entire weekend with us. Hope you were able to get in some holiday shopping on the Mag Mile!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Hyatt Hotel near the Magnificant Mile turned out to be an excellent choice. Location was good and the hotel itself was excellent. great room and very accommodating staff. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Your 5 star review of the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile was a pleasure to read! We are glad that you chose our hotel to stay at while you were in Chicago recently. While we love our our major renovations turned out, we are very proud of our accommodating staff. Old fashioned customer service never goes out of style! Our location gives our guests plenty of places to eat and shop with many within walking distance. Your recommendation is very much appreciated. Come back soon.

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very loud noises from outside all night long. Beds are horrible and they want you to pay to use internet in your room but provide it free in the lobby and meeting areas. Makes no sense. Not worth the cost of a room.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have stayed at this hotel in the past when it was under different ownership. Hyatt has done a great job in the renovations of this property. The staff was always very friendly and helpful. We had a suite and a corner room and both were very nice. The suite was more spacious than most suites in other hotels in the area.

The hotel is located one block off of Michigan Avenue and about in the middle as far as shopping North or South.

We have always stayed on the North side of the hotel which is across from the Northwestern Hospital emergency room entrance. Yes, you hear plenty of sirens especially during the day, but at night after 10 or 11:00 there isn't as many because they seem to shut them down earlier as they approach the hospital. We were there for four nights and were only awaken a couple of times. I use a white noise device to help block out annoying sounds. My wife says it blocks out my snoring also.

Room Tip: The Ontario Street side might be quieter than the Erie Street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 4 days ago
The great location of the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile coupled with our $25 million dollar renovation has resulted in our re-invented hotel. We are lucky to be able to offer wonderful dining, a state-of-the-art fitness center and brand new bedrooms . We like to think that our "Midwestern Hospitality" is what makes our guests return again and again. I am glad that you stayed with us in the past and continue to stay with us even though we have changed ownership. Many of our staff did the same including me! I hope you will think of us as your "home away from home!"

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificient Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I visited Chicago for my birthday in Nov '14 and stayed in an king suite. The hotel was beautifully designed and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Room service was fast and efficient as well. The rooms were very clean and well-kept. The only con about the hotel is that they do not have microwaves, which I guess makes sense as it is a safety hazard. I wasn't able to warm up my many leftovers! But other than that, I had a great time there. It is literally right off the Magnificient Mile shopping district and has a ton of places to eat right around it. Definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Sounds like you had a fun birthday! Guests love to celebrate at the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile and an executive king suite is just the place to do it! Travelers love that these suites have plenty of room to move around in and relax as each one is 735-square-feet and was completely renovated in 2013. The suite includes one king bed in the bedroom, a pull-out sofa in the living area, both rooms separated by French Doors and a 46 inch TV in each room! When traveling to Chicago with friends again, make sure to celebrate by staying with us again!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

So many hotels to pick from and never traveled to Chicago before made it even harder. Well we got very lucky. Our corner king was perfect. All windows and a view of the street below. If u r not use to city noise stay away from the front of the building. Hotel is near a hospital and fire station so u will hear some noise. Ear plugs are provided just for those ppl. Had cocktails in the hotel bar and Alex was fun to talk to. Everyone of the staff right down to housekeeping were very friendly. Hotel was very clean. Hot tub and pool as well. Starbucks in lower lobby was a benifit. I have no complaints about this hotel. Close to shopping and a great pub called Timothy O'Tooles. Fun great burgers....Ty staff for your hospitality.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Your wonderful review of your "three days in the Windy City" was so great to see! We can't thank you enough for choosing us as your hotel when you came to Chicago. The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile is so lucky to be in such a great location and we are very proud of the way the hotel turned out after our recent major renovation in 2013. Guests like yourself want to be away from the city noise which is why we have a separate set of elevators that lead up to the guest rooms just to avoid the hustle and bustle. I will make sure that Alex and the rest of the staff hear of your kind words. Please come back again soon and enjoy our hospitality all over again!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 633 North Saint Clair Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Wyndham Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Chicago
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#20 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile Hotel you're in the heart of Chicago, steps from Michigan Avenue, the Gold Coast neighborhood, Navy Pier and Lake Michigan. Our luxurious hotel is symbol of hospitality on The Magnificent Mile. From the moment you step inside, you will agree that our hotel is as stunning as it is convenient. The hotel's 419 guest rooms, meeting and banquet space, restaurant & lounge, lobby, indoor pool and fitness center have all received a recent dramatic renovation in customer convenience, design and furnishings. State of the art technology has been incorporated throughout the hotel. Our two magnificent ballrooms will dazzle you and are perfect for social events as well as business functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.