We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and the most comfortable beds!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   633 North Saint Clair Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Wyndham Chicago)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #18 of 169 hotels in Chicago
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great service and the most comfortable beds!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed at the hotel for 4 nights for a meeting. First impression.... great serivce! Upon entering the main floor someone assisted with the elevator while making nice small talk. Upon check in the staff was so pleasant and helpful. Loved the extra touch of staff in the lobby to assists with all the needs of the guests. The rooms were nicely decorated... but the beds.... oh my goodness the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in! I need to look into ordering one. The bar area was nice and had a great flow. Service was good slow at times but can be expected when busy. Loved the variety of the beers offered on tap as well as in our reception room one evening. From the meeting side of things the staff onsite were so great and bent over to assist at anytime. Great location as well walking distance to everything! Look forward to having another meeting here.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    352
    147
    23
    6
    5
See reviews for
146
124
21
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here this week for a night and was very impressed by the renovation of the hotel. Beautiful lobby, friendly front-desk staff, and the room was very comfortable. Restaurant for breakfast was good - breakfast buffet was plentiful, high quality and food seemed fresh (the scrambled eggs actually seem to have come out of a shell rather than a carton). Just a couple of negatives:
1. Did not receive a room upgrade despite Diamond status, very little acknowledgement of status at all.
2. If you plan on using the room for business, for some reason they have removed all phones from the desk area. So, for my conference call, I had to prop my laptop on the bed, while I sat on the ottoman and leaned over the speakerphone on the nightstand. The phone is cordless, but if you want to use the speakerphone, that doesn't matter. No idea why they would not have a phone on the desk, but engineering came up to try and move it for me, but the phone jacks under the desk are all dead.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We spent 4 weeks in this hotel, we were before in other trips in swissotel, Marriot and ritz Carlton. This is the worst service, cleaning and price experience. Unfortunately we use Expedia and I couldn't cancel the service. Small pool and no solutions .

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I can't think of a better location to stay in Chicago. We walked to everything including a show at Second City and felt perfectly safe at all times. This hotel has a very attentive staff, is beautiful throughout and very clean. A nice safety feature is that you need to use your hotel room card to use the elevator after 10pm so only guests have access to the upper floors. Very quiet at night, but if you're a light sleeper there are ear plugs on the night stand. This is a fantastic place to stay - great restaurants nearby and all the shopping you need.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of a hall if you'd like a quieter location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, yesterday
When the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile is told that we are the "perfect place to stay in the city", we are so very appreciative! When you're ready to blow off some steam, get energized in the well-equipped fitness center or enjoy a dip in our indoor pool or relax in the bubbling hot tub, the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile is passionate about making your Chicago hotel experience enjoyable in every way. As you have personally experienced, our hotel team and Concierge will pamper you with white-glove hospitality, impeccable service and an inviting atmosphere where you can lounge, connect, rejuvenate, dine and sip in downtown Chicago. We look forward to your next visit!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepper Pike, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great hotel and location, one of the best hotels in downtown Chicago. Easy access to all attractions and shopping and business meetings. Will be back for another stay at the Hyatt Magnificent Mile. The staff was excellent. A great Hyatt experience !

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, yesterday
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile thanks you for the excellent review. We certainly enjoyed having you here. Your comments have been shared with the Executive Team and everyone appreciated your very nice words. Thank you for choosing us as your Chicago hotel destination. Our great location coupled with our recent $25 million dollar renovation is making us a sought-after hotel for travelers are coming to our city. Now that you have been here for business, come back and stay with us when you have some leisure time!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had a recent staycation at Hyatt Magnificent Mile. Rooms were clean and recently renovated, though the living area smelled of cleaning fluid. Although certain staff members were friendly and helpful, there were a number of service lapses during a 1-night stay -- For example, couldn't even get a simple item delivered to the room, even after multiple calls. After a detailed e-mail and survey, it took management 2 weeks to respond in a generic fashion. Maybe I had bad luck, but I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, yesterday
We appreciate your review of your stay at our hotel. We understand that you were disappointed and that we came short of delivering what you are accustomed to expect from us. I can assure you that we will definitely keep your review in mind as we continue to improve our property experience.

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

My family of four stayed her for five nights. The AAA rate was about $235 per night including breakfast. Given the location of the hotel, the quality of the service, the cleanliness of the property and the extensive breakfast buffet, it was an awesome value. A downside is that the location (one block off Magnificent Mile, but surrounded by tall buildings) does not allow for good views of Chicago from any of the rooms (that was our experience, and the front desk clerk told us our view was typical). Another is that the Northwestern University Hospital is next door, and a couple of times we heard the sirens of ambulances arriving in the middle of the night. Nonetheless, if a similar rate were available in the future, I would not hesitate to stay again at this property. Most of the major Chicago must-sees (Magnificent Mile, Water Tower, Art Institute, Millenial Park, Sears Tower, etc.) are within walking distance. The rooms were very clean and service was prompt and attentive.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, yesterday
We are so pleased that your family found that there are so many amazing things to do in Chicago. Guests are inspired to go explore this urban playground. The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile is in the heart of the action, just steps from Michigan Avenue shopping, acclaimed museums such as the Museum of Contemporary Art, summer festivals, iconic Chicago attractions, and Chicago’s tastiest cuisine. Shoppers, foodies and sports fans will find themselves in heaven when visiting Chicago. Families will discover a bunch of exciting activities to partake in including some favorites such as Navy Pier and the Chicago Children's Museum. For something more tranquil, you can explore Lake Michigan on a sightseeing tour or boat cruise, or find a hiking trail along the beautiful lakeshore. We hope to see you & your family again soon!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 633 North Saint Clair Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Wyndham Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Chicago
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#15 Family Hotel in Chicago
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile Hotel you're in the heart of Chicago, steps from Michigan Avenue, the Gold Coast neighborhood, Navy Pier and Lake Michigan. Our luxurious hotel is symbol of hospitality on The Magnificent Mile. From the moment you step inside, you will agree that our hotel is as stunning as it is convenient. The hotel's 419 guest rooms, meeting and banquet space, restaurant & lounge, lobby, indoor pool and fitness center have all received a recent dramatic renovation in customer convenience, design and furnishings. State of the art technology has been incorporated throughout the hotel. Our two magnificent ballrooms will dazzle you and are perfect for social events as well as business functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.