We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Clean Hotel just off Michigan with great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   633 North Saint Clair Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Wyndham Chicago) (Streeterville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Room For Hope
Ranked #23 of 179 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Kendallville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable Clean Hotel just off Michigan with great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Hyatt on Mag mile provided us with outstanding service during our recent stay for a business conference! It is a great location just off Michigan avenue near the Crate and Barrel store. It is near the Hospital which can be a cause for some sirens and noise so like in all cities if you want a quiet room go without a view and if you don't mind the noise than go for the view! We had great drinks at the bar in the hotel when we arrived late and enjoyed being able to walk to everything. The food provided at the conference by the hotel was by far some of the best hotel catered food I have had which is a nice bonus when attending many business meetings throughout the year! Parking is expensive but it is everywhere downtown! I would definitely recommend this hotel as a good value in downtown Chicago!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
At Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile we pride ourselves in serving food that is thoughtfully sourced and carefully served using only the freshest ingredients inspired with local flavor. Our banquet staff is commited to serving exceptional meals tailored to our guests individual needs. We can add the perfect touch to your business conference, banquet or celebratory event with a memorable meal prepared by our innovative catering staff. Our Chicago hotel catering is filled with exciting options to make your special event one to remember and it sounds like you were able to experience this for yourself while you were here. We hope you will recommend us to your friends and family!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    263
    43
    17
    9
See reviews for
250
202
45
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed in a very nice suite, but there was one thing that keeps this hotel from getting a higher rating. Reserving the room was easy and the room was ready for me even though I arrived early. Both positives! The suite was really large with a big living area and nice bedroom. I was on the 5th floor so the view was pretty much looking at other buildings. This hotel is very close to a hospital so you need to be ready for some noise....sirens at all hours. Truly, that did not bother me as I live on a very busy street...so it was nothing new. The real issue was a noise that I still haven't figured out. About 1 am, I heard a loud "clunk." To me it sounded like it came from the hall so I looked out and saw absolutely nothing. Okay - maybe someone upstairs dropped something....no big deal. but then the same noise kept happening at approximately 30 minute intervals. I think it ended at about 6 or 6:30 am. Due to this noise it was almost impossible to sleep. Every time I would start to nod off...."CLUNK." Then I was wide awake again. I have no idea what the noise was but it was really loud and certainly woke you up quickly. I guess I should have called the front desk to ask for another room...but frankly, by the time it happened a few times, I just didn't care anymore. If it wasn't for that clunking, I'd give this place 5 stars!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for giving us this feedback. Our suites have been very well received by families coming to visit the hotel. Each 735 square foot executive king suite gives our guests plenty of room. Our apologies that you were disappointed in some way. We will definitely keep your review in mind as we continue to improve and will look into this. We do everything we can to ensure that our guests enjoy our hotel. With that said, I assure you that your comments are incredibly important to us. Have a wonderful summer season!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bielefeld, Germany
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Nice hotel near magnificent mile. Restaurants and shops are nearby. The rooms are large and very clean. The price with 179$ was quite good for this area of town. It was just a little bit strange to me to take an elevator to the reception level and another elevator to the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We thank you for your kind words on TripAdvisor. The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile is an ideal location for a vacation with the whole family. Chicago is a very family-friendly destination and a multitude of indoor and outdoor activities can be found throughout the city. The hotel caters to children in a variety of ways. Our warm, indoor pool is the perfect place to kick back and relax with the kids after a long flight. Level Two restaurant has also created a special, delicious children’s menu, guaranteed to delight your little one. Our Concierge Team has recommendations based on what type of Chicagoland adventure you’re looking. They can begin planning your visit even before you get here so make sure to come back!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSalle,Ontario
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Clean, friendly, courteous, helpful staff made our stay in Chicago more enjoyable. Close to the Magnificent Mile and other areas that interested us, many restaurants near the hotel also. Will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Five Star Service is what we love to hear! The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile is proud of each and every employee because we know that they want to make each and every guest feel that this is their "home away from home" while they are here. Our downtown hotel is in the heart of the action, just steps from Michigan Avenue shopping, acclaimed museums such as the Museum of Contemporary Art, summer festivals, iconic Chicago attractions, and Chicago’s tastiest cuisine. Shoppers, foodies and sports fans will find themselves in heaven when visiting Chicago as I am sure you and your family found out while you were here. We look forward to your next visit!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here in July for a little getaway with our two kids and were delighted with the location and amenities. Recently updated everything and beautifully so. Spacious, quiet rooms with a large bathroom. Two great Italian restaurants within less than a block as well as grocery stores and the best of Chicago.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile is centrally located in downtown Chicago in the Streeterville area of the city. Streeterville is a popular neighborhood among visitors to Chicago, in that it has museums, theater, shopping, dining and entertainment all in one place including one of the best-known museums in Chicago, the Museum of Contemporary Art. The MCA holds over 6,000 objects of art in all media and genres, including paintings, sculptures, photographs, videos, film and performance pieces. The building itself is impressive, with a view of Lake Michigan and a beautiful outdoor sculpture garden. Another major Streeterville attraction is The Chicago Shakespeare Theater, which was founded in 1986 and moved to Navy Pier in 1999. We have so much to offer. Thank you for your wonderful review and come back with the family again soon!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

For all visitors, the hotel is in a convenient location, literally one block from North Michigan Avenue/Magnificent Mile. How convenient for all you shoppers, sightseers, or those visiting the nearby universities or hospital. Chicago has a 'billion' hotels, many of which we have stayed at, and can say, this is a fine hotel. Now, not everyone may like it, for varying reasons (and we note some items below), but on balance, a solid stay. Let's review the hotel:

The Good: As outlined in our intro, super convenient (one block) for you shoppers who want to maximize the sales along Magnificent Mile while visiting. The hotel is also within easy reach to so many parts of Chicago, including sightseeing, whether by walking, taxi, bus, boat, with just a little effort, gets you to so much of Chicago. We were able to see, do, and explore so much during our stay ... with a little leg work and homework. Now, about our stay: the room was large, with a nice, comfortable, semi-soft King bed that was wonderful to come back to after a day/night out. We had a semi-bay window, with room enough for a chaise-sofa, coffee table, credenza/desk, in-room safe, and room to fit even more. We were struck by the roominess, length and width of the room...wonderful spaciousness. In fact, from the chaise-sofa, the TV seemed distant! (that's rare in many hotels these days). The appointments were crisp, modern, refined and gracious, muted in color scheme, but more importantly, tasteful and comfortable. The bathroom was spacious, clean, with the basic Hyatt toiletries. The front-desk check-in was very nice, as they greeted us at the elevator, and cheerfully settled us into our reservation. Good stuff, given some hotels, the front desk personnel barely look up or greet. We appreciated the friendly, warmth of a greeting. A seating area-lounge with books and space to relax, was off from the front-desk, and seemed warm and inviting. In addition, as we headed toward the elevators in the rear, past the lounge area, there was a bar-small restaurant. On the corner of the hotel's building is the uber expensive Capital Grille restaurant for some classic expense-account dining. We did not try the food in either place, but good to know as an option for guests. The hotel is off the main thoroughfare, which made for a quiet area. We did note one or two ambulances go by, but we were not bothered by it, and it did not occur frequently at all as some reviewers had noted. Maybe we just were lucky and it was slow night for the hospital, but we slept well.

The Not-So-Good: The exterior of the building looks like an office building, but not really a minus. We weren't even sure if we arrived at the right address, thinking it might have been an office building, until we noticed the Hyatt sign. We enjoyed the option of a coffee shop in the building's main lobby, but not crazy about having to take an elevator to another floor to get to the lobby of the hotel itself. Then we had to go to a second set of elevators to get to our rooms... at the end of the floor. Not a big deal, but worth noting for all. We were provided a high floor, and being in that location, not much of a view. Other hotels we have stayed at, even when downtown, offered Lake or more magnificent views. Would have been nice... Although we earlier noted it being in a quiet area as a plus, it lacked some good restaurants in the immediate area, other than Capital Grille ...though had some fast-foodish places nearby, including Jimmy John's, Subway, pizza, etc...perfect for families. Smallish pool, of note.

Summary: We do recommend this hotel, for its convenience, comfort, style, and terrific staff. We noted some miniscule minuses above, but enjoyed our stay here. It was not one of those massive, overwhelming hotels with 1,000s of rooms, and 1,000s of conventioneers/conference attendees, which we were grateful for, and also noted many families. As is Chicago, it is a walkable-to-everything location. We would stay again...

Happy Hotel-ing !

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, N. St. Claire Street side...should be quieter, as a hospital is on the E Erie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile underwent a major renovation in 2013 and the feedback we have received from our guests and meeting planners has been overwhelingly positive. While they love the renovations, the contemporary design and state-of-the-art amenities, we are most proud of the wonderful comments we receive about the hotel staff. Our team of associates are the core of our success and we are glad you were able to experience this for yourself. The staff loves the opportunity to shine for our guests. Thank you for your review and come back again soon.

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I travel to Chicago often for business and on this visit brought my wife and we did a personal/business trip. The staff is very accommodating and the rooms are pleasant, peaceful and quiet. This is a very special location and reasonable priced for the city.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Wow! We love hearing that our hotel is "exceedingly enjoyable!" and we thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor of the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile. We are glad that you were able to combine both business and leisure while you were here as we like to think that we can offer the best of both worlds! While we have comfortable accommodations, it is our staff that makes our guests feel the most comfortable. From the moment you enter the hotel, our associates help travelers feel right at home. We look forward to your next visit!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 633 North Saint Clair Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Wyndham Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Chicago
#15 Business Hotel in Chicago
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#20 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile Hotel you're in the heart of Chicago, steps from Michigan Avenue, the Gold Coast neighborhood, Navy Pier and Lake Michigan. Our luxurious hotel is symbol of hospitality on The Magnificent Mile. From the moment you step inside, you will agree that our hotel is as stunning as it is convenient. The hotel's 419 guest rooms, meeting and banquet space, restaurant & lounge, lobby, indoor pool and fitness center have all received a recent dramatic renovation in customer convenience, design and furnishings. State of the art technology has been incorporated throughout the hotel. Our two magnificent ballrooms will dazzle you and are perfect for social events as well as business functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.