We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room was nice but sirens all night. ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   633 North Saint Clair Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Wyndham Chicago) (Streeterville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Room For Hope
Ranked #22 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Room was nice but sirens all night. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Beware this hospital is located across the street from an ER. Sirens all night. Front desk staff was not up to Hyatt standards. Just OK stay for the amount paid. Location was nice. Close to water tower place and Hancock building.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
We thank you for your review. Guests love our location here in downtown Chicago. The hotel is within walking distance to Michigan Avenue and the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, Water Tower and the shores of Lake Michigan. We are surrounded by charming neighborhood restaurants, bars and some of the best shopping in the Midwest. We hope to see you and your family again. Enjoy your summer!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    246
    41
    13
    9
See reviews for
241
193
41
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmdale, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This place is great. We stay here each time we visit Chicago. Although our the young lady that checked us in could have had a better attitude everyone else is awesome. Definately recommend this hotel. Location is also great.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Families love the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile! They can stretch out and be comfortable in one of our executive king suites which are 735-square-feet and appointed with one king bed, pull-out sofa, living area and oversized remodeled bathroom with large vanity. A well-lit desk allows guests to work in comfort, while available high-speed wireless Internet access keeps visitors connected away from home. Two 46” flat panel LCD HDTVs allow multiple guests to enjoy different shows. Lots of room for family to enjoy their trip to Chicago! Hope to see you again soon!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed here over the 4th of July weekend to attend a wedding. The room was clean and comfortable but, in this price range, I expected more. Parking was ridiculously expensive, to the point that I reserved parking at a garage a couple blocks away through Spothero. I got In/out access for less than half the price of hotel parking. Most of the staff was friendly with a couple exceptions. At this price point internet should be free but it is not. In fact, they have 2 tier pricing for slow ($9.95/day)or fast ($19.95/day) internet that I found quite offensive! I stayed here because they offered a discount rate for wedding guests but, because I reserved late, they only gave me the discount rate for one day instead of all three. Overall, I was very underwhelmed by their offering at this price point. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
I am so sorry if we did not live up to your expectations. We feel our current pricing levels are competitive, but your comments let us know that providing more packages that include internet will better meet your needs. If needed, we do offer 30 minutes of complimentary internet access every 24 hours at our Escape Bar/Business Center. Our wedding groups receive special discounted wedding group room rates which are available until three weeks prior to the wedding date. After that time, it is based on availability. Thank you for your feedback.

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mansfield, ma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed here a year ago and it was equally wonderful. The decor is very nice; the suites large; the food excellent; the gym well-equipped. What really made the hotel stand above the rest, however, was the customer service. My husband had a medical problem and the staff was outstanding in how they addressed it. I wouldn't mind staying there a lot longer if I could!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Everyone is very important to us at the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile and we are proud of the fact that we can take such good care of our guests who may have a medical problem. Our newly renovated 350-square-foot handicap accessible guestrooms feature one king bed and accessible bathtub. In addition to all or most features of the corresponding standard room type, this room also includes closed-caption television, a cordless phone and standard fire alarm system with additional emergency strobe light and strobe-light smoke detector. Bathroom conveniences include wide doors, grab bars, roll-in showers and a 3 foot rail around the toilet. Hope you will be back with us soon!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed at the Hyatt Mag Mile hotel to attend a wedding nearby. The hotel is very inviting and comfortable and luxurious. It is located close to Lake Michigan and many wonderful restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for the excellent review on TripAdvisor of the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile. We certainly enjoyed having you here. Your comments have been shared with the Executive Level and Housekeeping teams and everyone appreciates your very nice words. We hope to invite you back to see us again soon so you can enjoy Chicago all over again! Have a wonderful summer season.

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Hyatt on St Clair is perfectly located close to Lake Michigan, shopping and great restaurants. The Hyatt rooms are comfortable and spacious, the fitness center is excellent, and there is a Starbucks on site!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We loved your 5-star review! The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile has been reinvented and all 419 guestrooms are styled with a contemporary palette and a diverse mix of textures, evoking a sense of luxury and relaxation. All rooms include new carpeting, wall coverings, drapery, oversized desks and entertainment centers, as well as the signature Hyatt Grand Bed. Room accessories include a stereo iPod docking station, Hyatt Plug Panel media center, large flat screen televisions, compact in-room refrigerators and in-room safes. We strive for feedback like yours that says our rooms are comfortable and spacious. Please recommend us to all of your family and friends!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We just stayed two nights at this hotel as we were in town for a wedding. The room was nice and clean when we got in there. The hotel staff is very friendly.

The fitness center at this hotel is the nicest I've ever seen at a hotel. My husband and I were loving it! I wish all hotels, and gyms, had equipment this nice. Though we didn't use it, the pool was very small. There was a hot tub next to the pool, which we didn't get a chance to use either.

We didn't realize at first, but the air conditioner in our room was not working. We called down to the front desk and asked that someone come look at it. They said they'd send maintainence up. Two hours later, still no one showed up. When we left for the wedding we went to the front desk and brought it to their attention, they said they'd send someone up immediately. We got back to the room after the wedding and the air was working. They also cleaned our room while we were out.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We thank you for your review of the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile. Recognizing today's focus on fitness, we did a total makeover of the fitness center during our recent renovation. We now have the most recent Life Fitness cardio equipment that have Wif-Fi access, individualized TV screens, and iPhone/iPod docking stations. Hyatt StayFit free weights and yoga equipment are available. We are happy you enjoyed it! Sounds like you had a good time!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 633 North Saint Clair Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Wyndham Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Chicago
#15 Family Hotel in Chicago
#16 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#18 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile Hotel you're in the heart of Chicago, steps from Michigan Avenue, the Gold Coast neighborhood, Navy Pier and Lake Michigan. Our luxurious hotel is symbol of hospitality on The Magnificent Mile. From the moment you step inside, you will agree that our hotel is as stunning as it is convenient. The hotel's 419 guest rooms, meeting and banquet space, restaurant & lounge, lobby, indoor pool and fitness center have all received a recent dramatic renovation in customer convenience, design and furnishings. State of the art technology has been incorporated throughout the hotel. Our two magnificent ballrooms will dazzle you and are perfect for social events as well as business functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.