We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly renovated. . .great decor complimented by great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   633 North Saint Clair Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Wyndham Chicago)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #19 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Newly renovated. . .great decor complimented by great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We previously stayed at this hotel right after Hyatt took it over. They have done an amazing job with the refurbishing. Contemporary style but also very warm feeling. Everyone from the concierge to the wait staff in bar and restaurant were very professional and helpful. We were having a small gathering in our hotel and needed some additional wine glasses. The bartender didn't hesitate to let me borrow some. The breakfast buffet was nicely displayed and the quality of the food excellent.

When we checked in our room wasn't ready and the check-in representative said we would be called when the room was ready and, for once, we actually were called.

We need to be in Chicago again later this month and this is where we will be staying.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Your 5 star review of the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile on TripAdvisor is truly appreciative. We are happy that you had such an enjoyable visit and that you found our décor to be so inviting. Please think of us as a "hidden gem" in regards to the hotels in Chicago. I hope you tried our "Escape Bar" that is on the 2nd floor lobby level which goes beyond a traditional hotel business center and includes space for informal small meetings or intimate social gatherings or you can simply stop by to check your emails and enjoy a good book from the hotel's library. The Escape Bar features complimentary Wi-Fi, four iMac computers, two LCD HD TVs and printers for boarding passes or documents. We look forward to seeing you again later this month.

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    198
    36
    10
    6
See reviews for
199
168
30
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hotel was absolutely what we were looking for when we booked a hotel for Chicago. It is in a perfect location one block away from the Magnificent Mile. There is a great Corner Bakery right across the street and the awesome Capital Grill one block away. And all the shopping and entertainment you could ever want is only a block away as well. It is also close to the Navy Pier if you are planning to visit there. The rooms are execellent with an awesome bed and great amenities. The hotel is very modern and the best part is that there is a Starbucks on the lobby level!! Valet was a little expensive but I expected that going in plus they offer a self-parking option. You really cannot go wrong with the Hyatt Magnificent Mile Chicago!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile thanks you for your kind words on TripAdvisor about our perfect location! The Capital Grille actually connects to our hotel so no need to go out of the building to get there just like our new Starbucks. Both are located on the lobby level. Our Level Two Restaurant and In-room dining are two more choices when looking for a great place to eat.
Being in the heart of Chicago, steps away from the shops and restaurants on Michigan Avenue help to make us a traveler's delight. River North, Water Tower, the John Hancock Building, Navy Pier and Lake Michigan are all close by. We are thrilled that you think we are a perfect hotel!
We think you are pretty special too!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallmadge, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here when we went to run in the Chicago marathon and we were really impressed! The day of our trip we had to wake up at 4am, and arrived at the hotel around 6:50am tired from traveling. To our surprise they gave us our room! The staff was so thoughtful and courteous I just can't say enough good things about them. From the early check in, late check out, and free wifi(Hyatt rewards perks) we felt like royalty. The staff found us restaurants, tours and anything else we needed. Additionally the Starbucks in the hotel was fabulous! Still on my hometown time- I went down 30 min prior to their opening and they opened up, served me, and gave me a free cookie! Stay here because it's worth it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
We are so happy that you choose us to stay with for your recent trip to the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile over the Chicago Marathon weekend. It is nice to hear that even on a super busy weekend, we can give top-notch customer service to our guests. Our concierge staff is winning raves in the Chicago community because of their super knowledge of the city and all it has to offer when our guests need assistance with restaurant suggestions, transportation, what to do while in Chicago, etc. We hope to see you next October for the 2014 Marathon!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I was recommended to this hotel for my guest but have never stayed here and what an experience. The lobby is grand boutique and the staff is quite responsive to every need. The room was immaculate and as a Gold member I was even upgraded. I was impressed with the room service and the food was great at the bar. For the value and location which is a block from all of the shopping chicago has to offer - I can not wait to return.

Room Tip: Just ask the front desk and they will make it happen
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Your feedback of your recent stay at the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile on TripAdvisor was so incredible! We love hearing that our Hyatt Gold Passport Members were happy with their visit to our property. We are proud to be part of the Hyatt family and we are working towards building guest loyalty and establishing continuous relationships with Hyatt's most valuable individual travelers like yourself. We truly appreciate your support and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Only a one night fly in / fly out business trip but long enough to appreciate this is a very nice hotel to stay in . The staff were very courteous and lived up to the high standards of the Hyatt brand . i would say the bar over the main entrance was a trifle expensive ( $6.95 for a bottle of bud light) so you might want to drink elsewhere . The food in the restaurant below was ok but nothing to write home about . The rooms were clean and tidy and well insulated from noise . I really likes the email check in and check out options a really valuable thing for the business traveller

Room Tip: High room , see if you can get a room overlooking the river , my colleague had one and the views wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Your kind words about our friendly staff are so very much appreciated. The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile has not only undergone a recent renovation, but we have spent an enormous amount of time on training our staff in customer service. We feel that great customer service is what keeps our guests coming back often. We want our visitors to feel that we have become their "home away from home" whether they are here for business or leisure. We hope that the next time you have business in downtown Chicago, you will come back and stay with us again.

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a great location for the Magnificent Mile.

I work with banks in this area of the city and it is a great location for shopping and business.

We have a favorite Hyatt property in Tampa.

This is not a resort like the Grant Hyatt in Tampa, this is a Hyatt in the city so expect the obvious difference in the vibe but the consistent Hyatt quality.

The rooms are very tasteful with low discreet lighting that follows you though the room.

The sliding doors on the bathrooms are brilliant in space saving design and add a lot to the aesthetic of the room as well.

The buffet is an elegant but professional way to start the day. Excellent food, responsive service, convenient setting.

I will definitely plan to be back here for business and would also like to spend time here with my family.

Room Tip: I asked for a quite room and I was accommodated. Not surprising, Hyatt thought of everything. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Your feedback on TripAdvisor about the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile made my day! "Magnificent" just about says it all! Your thoughtful comments about our recent re-invention make it all worthwhile. Our goal was to be technically up-to-date as well as being comfortable and inviting and it sounds like you agree with us that we reached our goal. It is great to be able to come back to the hotel after a long day of shopping and/or business and relax in one of our warm and inviting guest rooms. Breakfast, lunch, dinner as well as in-room dining is available upon your return. Our lounge is open daily until midnight and we have recently added a brunch on Saturdays and Sundays. Please come back and see us again soon.

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Let me start with the positives: beautiful hotel, great location, and nice staff.

Unfortunately there were nonstop small issues that added up and overshadowed all the good things. One of our key cards didn't work (trip back to the desk), Internet wasn't working (20 minutes on the phone with tech support), bar was out of all draft beer but pumpkin (didn't care for that), bar had to shut down during an important moment late in a playoff game because it couldn't take payments, then after coming back from another bar (since the hotel one shut down) the elevators only had one of the card readers working (another trip to the desk).

At this point we told the front desk about all these accumulating issues. They offered to cover the drinks at the bar. But when we got the bill, it showed not only the drinks at the bar being charged to us, but it was doubled as the credit was also charged to the card. To top it all off, I also had a $300+ charge for Gold Passport Points. I was staying on points, so this baffled me. Hence another trip to the front desk.

The person who addressed all these issues did seem genuinely empathetic and apologized profusely. I did appreciate that. She admitted it was almost comical how it seemed like everything that could go wrong did for us. I specifically picked this Hyatt hotel for this trip after reading Tripadvisor reviews and seeing people completely happy with the Hyatt Mag Mile. So I am very disappointed that I did not have that same experience.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I was truly distressed to read of the issues that occurred during your stay. We would like to let you know this occurrence, by no means, reflects the experience that we strive to provide to our guests on a daily basis. Please accept our apologies. I am told by our Accounting Department that your bar change was removed. I have shared your review with the management committee and if you would be inclined to give us another change, we are confident that we will exceed your expectation. Please contact me directly at execoffice.magmile@hyatt.com when you would like to come back and visit us and I will personally take care of your reservations.
Again, our apologies.

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 633 North Saint Clair Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Wyndham Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Chicago
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#20 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile Hotel you're in the heart of Chicago, steps from Michigan Avenue, the Gold Coast neighborhood, Navy Pier and Lake Michigan. Our luxurious hotel is symbol of hospitality on The Magnificent Mile. From the moment you step inside, you will agree that our hotel is as stunning as it is convenient. The hotel's 419 guest rooms, meeting and banquet space, restaurant & lounge, lobby, indoor pool and fitness center have all received a recent dramatic renovation in customer convenience, design and furnishings. State of the art technology has been incorporated throughout the hotel. Our two magnificent ballrooms will dazzle you and are perfect for social events as well as business functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.