We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Stay at the Hyatt” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   633 North Saint Clair Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Wyndham Chicago)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #18 of 168 hotels in Chicago
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Magnificent Stay at the Hyatt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Loved this property. Completely new on the inside - modern public areas, rooms and even the hallways are nicely done. Excellent location one block off Michigan Avenue. We parked at the garage adjacent for $40 per day with in and out privledges (instead of the $59 Hyatt charges for valet).
We booked an executive suite and were given a room on the top 17th floor. (quiet side away from hospital). Our AAA rate included the breakfast buffet which awesome.
Room was very spacious at 750 sq ft - bathroom is huge - only downside was no soaking tub.
We also considered the Park Hyatt a few blocks away when making the reservation at Magnificent Mile but opted for this property with the larger room and more affordable rate.
Next time we're in Chicago we may just splurge and stay at the Park Hyatt - ultimate boutique luxury - but wouldn't hesitate to stay here again! Staff was courteous, friendly and professional.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the quiet side - away from the hospital
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile can't thank you enough for your generous review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the location, large guest rooms and our courteous, friendly and professional staff. Our recent renovations have proved to be one of the reasons that we are considered a "hidden gem" in Chicago when travelers are looking for a wonderful hotel. We are delighted that you rated your experience as 5-star and hope to see you again soon.

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    327
    136
    22
    5
    5
See reviews for
130
119
21
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Excellent accommodations. Friendly and personable staff. Great upgrade with many pleasant surprises, light sensors at floor level near the bed for trips to the bathroom at night being the best. Also, the location is grand. Many Chicago attractions, restaurants and shopping districts were easily within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile and for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us. I am happy to read your appraisal of our team, services and facilities and am pleased to learn that your thoroughly enjoyed your visit. Your kind recognition of our friendly and personable staff will be very well received. I look forward to welcoming your return in the near future.

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Second time to Chicago - stayed in different Hyatt previous visit. Had much friendlier staff at this one. From the onset, the desk staff accommodated things to suit our needs without a fuss. So nice not to have a fuss over requests. A number of individual concierges provided us with perfect recommendations for activities and vegetarian restaurants. Discount if you rent bikes through the concierge. Room and service were great.
Mother and daughter who like to walk so were within walking distance in our terms of Millenium Park and the Art Institute. A few blocks to Hop On Hop Off Trolley stop. Near Garrett popcorn, Navy Pier and of course Magnificent Mile. Also close to Contemporary Museum of Art (CMA). Blue Man Group / Chicago Cubs not walking distance. Loved our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile. I truly appreciate your positive feedback and am pleased to learn that you enjoyed sightseeing with your daughter in Chicago. Our concierge staff is top notch and stays up to date on what to do while in Chicago. Besides being informative, they are a helpful and thoughtful crew who take pride in making sure that all of our guest needs are taken care of. When planning your next visit to our hotel, make sure to call them ahead of time and they can help you with recommendations on restaurants, sightseeing tips,transportation needs, etc. The holidays are coming up which might be a perfect time to come back with your daughter!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

From entering to the property, Valet was pleasant and very helpful. They even went to get my IPAD that I left in my car for me after they had parked my car. Fast and quick.

The Front desk staff extremely knowledgable and very helpful and even offer an upgrade to a larger room with a King size bed.

Housekeeping was also very helpful and responsive to our needs.

The Beautifully renovated property was artfully decorated and ultra modern, with the largest screen HD Smart tv on the market for a hotel stay. That was great . Bed was great too.

Room Tip: Be nice and ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
You made my day! We at the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile are always so excited to hear great comments like yours! Our valet service has added value to our guest experience because they are so helpful and thoughtful when aiding travelers to our city. We want our guests to have top notch customer service from the minute they arrive at the hotel until the moment they leave and we have spent countless hours on customer service training. Come see us again soon!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dix Hills, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is nicely done and appears to be fairly newly remodeled. The room was spacious and the Ed was comfortable. Plenty of room to work on a well designed desk. Lots of electrical outlets for laptop and charges which is a necessity that is to often overlooked in other hotels. I was in town for business so did not get a chance to take advantage of the outstanding location but it was still close to my office.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile is happy to get your comments. We thank you for pointing out the amenities that our new guestrooms offer travelers to the property. Each guestroom also includes new carpeting, wall coverings, drapery, stereo iPod docking stations and 46" flat screen televisions. Along with our great location, the new guest rooms keep our guests coming back again and again!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lexington,ky
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel has been remodeled and looks great. 1 block off Michigan Ave and close to everything else this was a great pick. I reserved a Presidential Suite and another Suite. Both rooms were very nice clean, and updated. You will hear sirens because you are near hospitals but they are faint. The bar area is nice and a Starbucks is located on the first floor. The staff was very helpful suggesting places to eat or go out to. We had the breakfast buffet at the hotel $22 it looks nice but I would pass and go to a local place. Mary’s Cafe, Corner Bakery, Yolks all within a block for much cheaper and better food. The price was not the concern the food was subpar.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
As I have said before, the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile is a "hidden gem" amongst the fine hotels of Chicago! We appreciate your feedback about our good location and service. The hotel is just steps from Michigan Avenue with its wonderful shops and restaurants. Navy Pier is close by too which makes it a favorite of our guests when they are shopping for hotels in Chicago. We are lucky to have not only a Presidential Suite, but we also have 48 one bedroom suites and 47 corner king junior suites. We look forward to your next visit to the Windy City.

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Newly renovated Hyatt with beautiful upgrades, like brand new! Perfect location lets you walk to Millenium Park, Michigan Ave and plenty of great food in the area. Amenities, accessories and room design all right out of the next decade! Bar and dining area are very nice; food a little pricey. But the best part is the Starbucks on the 1st floor! Definitely returning.

Room Tip: Have to take the elevator up to the 2nd floor for the Lobby- don't get lost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Our renovation is complete and we at the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile are happy that you were able to experience our hotel for yourself. Our new restaurant and bar, Level Two, has been getting raves from our guests. We are especially proud of the bar at Level Two which is designed to be a beacon, the focal point of the restaurant space. The ever changing menu will feature creative mixology along with classic cocktails. Craft beers will rotate through the drink menu, as will an unexpected selection of wines by the glass. Level Two also features freshly rolled sushi from our raw bar and many other appetizer favorites. Hope to see you soon!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 633 North Saint Clair Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Wyndham Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Chicago
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#16 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile Hotel you're in the heart of Chicago, steps from Michigan Avenue, the Gold Coast neighborhood, Navy Pier and Lake Michigan. Our luxurious hotel is symbol of hospitality on The Magnificent Mile. From the moment you step inside, you will agree that our hotel is as stunning as it is convenient. The hotel's 419 guest rooms, meeting and banquet space, restaurant & lounge, lobby, indoor pool and fitness center have all received a recent dramatic renovation in customer convenience, design and furnishings. State of the art technology has been incorporated throughout the hotel. Our two magnificent ballrooms will dazzle you and are perfect for social events as well as business functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Hotels.com, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.