We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect service, food, and rooms....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   633 North Saint Clair Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Wyndham Chicago)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #18 of 168 hotels in Chicago
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Perfect service, food, and rooms....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

(please note from my profile I stay in a hotel for work and pleasure about 110 nights a year... you might call me a road warrior)

The Hyatt Chicago is a fantastic hotel. Lets go over why I have this opinion.

Location: This hotel is located in the heart of Chicago's best shopping district. You have everything from Tiffany & Co. to discount Chain Marshall's. I'm personally partial to the Flagship Ralph Lauren store all of which are easy walking distance. Navy pier is also a short stroll. Looking to do an architectural boat tour of the city? its a 5 min walk to the river.. location is simply fantastic.

Hotel building and general condition:

This hotel recently went through a multi-million dollar renovation....and it shows. Looks brand new in every regard. I love the Library/business center in the lobby. it is warm and welcoming with a VERY impressive selection of books to read....did you forget your guide book to Chicago? they have one you can borrow. If you get a chance to take in a Bears football game.. they have a book you can read about the team and the history behind it. it shows the level of thought and attention to detail that is not normally seen. The lounge and restaurant are warm and welcoming. I felt like I wanted to curl up on a sofa with a nice single barrel scotch and read a book (both of which they have ready for you).

Staff: This is what makes and breaks the great hotels. A great hotel will have outstanding staff who genuinely come across as they want to help and be of service. In a former life i used to be the front desk manager of a full service hotel in Tampa (has two tree's in it's name) so I know how hard this can be to instill in staff. In EVERY single interaction with the staff from check in to calling a cab to go to the airport it was amazing. I will give just one of many examples. After we had checked out we took the elevator down to the street level lobby to catch a cab. There was a large group of people standing around waiting and blocking the exit of the building. One of the bell man noticed this as we walked off the elevator. He signaled my attention and then escorted us around the crowd and directly to a waiting cab. He took the time and the effort to notice us accessed the situation and then acted on it flawlessly. Every staff person was friendly, said hello, made eye contact and offered assistance when needed. Simply impressive.

Room and bed: We were upgraded to the presidential suite since they were all out of the Junior Suite we had booked. The room was fantastic and perfect. the Sheets were high thread count and the bathroom amenities (shampoo, lotion, soaps, mouthwash, toothpaste..ETC) perfect for what we forgot at home. The furniture is all brand new and perfectly maintained. I swear you could eat off the bathroom floor it was so clean.

We will return to Chicago in Dec for Christmas with the family and will NOT hesitate to stay here again. I preferred this hotel to the Conrad hotel we stayed at last time. (and I am a Diamond member with both Hilton and Hyatt)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile Management Team at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We can't thank you enough for the fabulous review of the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile that you wrote for TripAdvisor. Your comments will be read at our next employee meeting so that all of our associates can hear for themselves just how much of a difference they make to our guests! Our new Escape Bar/Business Center is very warm and welcoming to our travelers and the book selection is varied so that each and every guest can pick a favorite. Information about Chicago abounds here. Our recent re-invention is proving to be very successful and we love getting feedback such as yours. When you come back in December with the family at Christmastime, make sure to contact our concierge staff at extension 4514 before your trip so they can suggest some great suggestions for holiday events in the city. We look forward to hosting you again!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    327
    135
    22
    5
    5
See reviews for
129
119
21
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Hyatt Chicago is beautifully renovated and the customer service was excellent. The front desk staff was very accommodating, friendly, and professional. The room was very comfortable with modern technology including the lighting. Room Service was absolutely delicious and very prompt. All the staff made it a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile Management Team at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
We are thrilled that you had such an excellent stay while here at the HYATT CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE! Everything is brand new from top to bottom and we are glad you were able to experience the finished product! Along with our great customer service, we also feel we have a location that travelers dream of. Shopping, Night Life and Chicago sight-seeing are close by and all of these things come together for a great destination. Our kitchen staff will be pleased to hear that you felt our food was delicious and room service was very prompt. Come back and see us again soon!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Hyatt is conveniently located a block off Michigan Ave/Magnificent Mile. Should you arrive by car, the valet is $54/day unlimited in/out. Otherwise, I think there is self-parking for $10 less. For the valet, you can call/text ahead to have your car ready which is nice. Excellent service upon arrival and at the front desk, though there are only 2 desks so I can’t imagine what may happen should there be a rush? The rooms were clean and modern. The concierge was very helpful in getting us information and tickets to the Blue Man Group. Some side thoughts it’s just a block from Gino’s East Pizza and Garrett’s Popcorn. Two places you probably want to visit while in town. The downside to this place is it’s across the street from a hospital. While it doesn't appear to be a busy main hospital, you do hear occasional sirens. May not be ideal for a light sleeper or at the very least you might want to request a room opposite side of the hospital.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile Management Team at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the HYATT CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay and were able to take advantage of our wonderful location. We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuQuoin, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The first thing that needs to be said: this is a four star hotel, which means you're going to wind up paying for the little things. That's just the way it works with the hotel industry- the nicer the hotel is, the fewer things you're going to get for free. A quick summary of the "incidentals" you'll run into at this hotel:

-Valet Parking- $54.00 per day
-Wifi access- $12.95 for 24 hours
-use of the internet cafe- $5.95 for 30 minutes
-Breakfast buffet- $22.00 per person

If these things do not bother you, you will enjoy your stay at this hotel. The bellhops were all very helpful with directions, and even volunteered to fetch my wife's cell phone when she left it in the car. I called guest services and asked for a crib to be brought up to the room for our 10 month old, and one showed up in a reasonable period of time.

The staff were all extremely polite, and the room was clean.

The hotel is next to a hospital. You will hear ambulances (with sirens) going off at different points throughout the evening. If you're a light sleeper, this will be an issue.

I would avoid the breakfast buffet. There is a place called "The Corner Bakery" across the street, which produces good food for around eight bucks a person. Between that and the Dunkin' Donuts down the street, I was unable to justify paying $22.00 for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile Management Team at Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your four star experience with us. We are delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay and that you were able to see for yourself how wonderful our bell stand staff is when your wife left her phone in the car. Going hand in hand with our newly renovated hotel has been extra training of our staff in customer service which shows up again and again when we get comments from our guests. We hope to see you again soon and want you to know that besides the breakfast buffet, you can also order breakfast off of the menu ala carte. We have many breakfast items to choose from to cater to all of our guest's appetites!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 633 North Saint Clair Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Wyndham Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Chicago
#15 Family Hotel in Chicago
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile Hotel you're in the heart of Chicago, steps from Michigan Avenue, the Gold Coast neighborhood, Navy Pier and Lake Michigan. Our luxurious hotel is symbol of hospitality on The Magnificent Mile. From the moment you step inside, you will agree that our hotel is as stunning as it is convenient. The hotel's 419 guest rooms, meeting and banquet space, restaurant & lounge, lobby, indoor pool and fitness center have all received a recent dramatic renovation in customer convenience, design and furnishings. State of the art technology has been incorporated throughout the hotel. Our two magnificent ballrooms will dazzle you and are perfect for social events as well as business functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.