We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit nervous, but everything worked out well in the end.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chicago Lake Shore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chicago Lake Shore Hotel to your Saves list
Chicago Lake Shore Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4900 South Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60615 (Kenwood)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
RALEIGH
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A bit nervous, but everything worked out well in the end.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife had a week long training in downtown so we needed a hotel that was close but not too expensive. The rates were surprisingly low for the area so we weren't expecting anything too nice. The neighborhood where the hotel seems like a great area. More like a village type environment. When we arrived, the hotel was/is in TOTAL disarray due to the renovations. The walk to the elevator will make you a bit uneasy at 1st...until you step off of the elevator to head to your room. My goodness, the rooms are in excellent shape and the housekeepers do an amazing job. As a matter of fact all the staff were awesome (Lidia is THE BEST). The wife & I have already decided that this will be our preferred hotel the next time we visit Chicago

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    20
    15
    5
    18
See reviews for
20
9
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The photos of this place are not accurate. The whole thing is under construction and unsafe. Anyone can access the open dirty garage you have to go through to get to the elevator. The walls inside are covered in tarps and unfinished. Exposed wires on the ceilings. Noisy construction going on. Beds are like bricks. No toilet paper holder, showers poor and unfinished too. Found stray cats living in the rooms on the first floor, and spiders in our third floor room. STAY AWAY!!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for a conference that was held downtown. The shuttle to Central Loop was a very nice feature of the hotel (otherwise it is a $15 cab ride to downtown). The staff and hotel owner very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask to get a room in the recently renovated portion of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
214gene, Manager at Chicago Lake Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. The downtown shuttle is a popular feature. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed at. It is right by a very busy highway. Part of the hotel, which looks like a two-story prefab, is being remodeled so you are in the middle of a construction site. The screens on the window, which looked onto a car park, were broken. We asked for a non smoking room but when we arrived it reeked of old cigarette smoke. When I asked the assistant at the desk if we could change to a non smoking room he said we would have to wait until the next day when the manager was there. We were only there for one more night so I didn't bother.Of greatest concern was the lack of security. The lock on the main hotel door that opened onto a staircase that led up to our room was broken, so there was essentially no security in the middle of a dangerous neighborhood. I will NEVER go back to that hotel.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
214gene, Manager at Chicago Lake Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review. Yes, we are under construction and it clearly bothered you. We're sorry you experienced an inconvenient stay.

While you are entitled to your opinion, we must state facts. The Lake Shore Hotel is not located in a dangerous neighborhood--far from it. The houses and condos around the property are million dollar homes, and the Hyde Park neighborhood, home of the University of Chicago, major museums, historic architecture, world class theatre and art galleries, is one of the most integrated and safe communities in the United States.

The locks at our hotel are never broken. If an entry door was open, it wasn't closed properly.

Lake Shore Drive is an iconic part of Chicago's history; it even has its own song. You didn't care for it; millions of tourists do.

For the record, we are located on the South Shore, not the north.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

TL/DR: Reception poor and disorganized, hotel in very poor condition (being renovated), location not convenient to public transportation. Would advise spending a bit more money and staying somewhere in the loop and taking Metra, CTA or cab (<15$) to get to Hyde Park. Rooms, however, seemed clean if you don't care about the rest.

I'm a pretty low brow reviewer, check my other hotel reviews for reference... The hotel is in a fairly convenient location to Hyde Park/University of Chicago but not close to any public transportation, and not really convenient walking distance to UChicago. The hotel is under construction right now; it looks like it may have been acquired by La Quinta and is being brought up to their "style" and "standards," but for now, the hotel is in shambles. Construction is continually taking place outside the guest room windows (construction workers working right out side the windows at 7-8AM on weekends). The newer building looks like it would be nice, but we weren't able to get a room in there. Instead, we were given a room in the old building which reeked of cigarettes. The hotel was kind enough to give us a new room that didn't smell (as badly) after some grumbling. Reception was hard to find (and in a re-purposed guest room while the lobby is under construction). When we arrived for the 9 AM check-in that we requested, we had to (literally) climb over garbage on the floor to get to the "reception" room. Reception was filthy and a cleaning person was literally scrubbing a toilet in the attached bathroom while we were trying to check in. We were told (after filling out a form to request 9 AM check-in) that we could not get early check-in and would have to return at 3 to get our room. I understand not having early check-in, but it was requested before arrival, so we'd have appreciated being told it wasn't possible before we planned around it. At 11 AM the same day we got a text denying our early check-in request... Would've been nice the day before. At any rate, the room we eventually got was very old, but seemed clean. We considered finding a new hotel, but figured we'd already sunk the money in on a pre-paid room, so we learned our lesson. Once the hotel is no longer under construction, location will still not be convenient, but the other complaints likely won't hold.

Room Tip: Ask for a new room (if they are available) and definitely request non-smoking if you don't want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
214gene, Manager at Chicago Lake Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Respectfully, the hotel is two blocks from the METRA train station and Bus #106 ($2.25) which runs 24 hours a day into the heart of the Loop. You also neglected to mention our free shuttle bus to and from the Loop, which you could have taken from our door.

We do not hide the fact that the hotel is under renovation. We needed to renovate, and there is no optimum time for that. We advise our guests ahead of time about the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

I have stayed at this hotel for 12 years on various visits to Chicago. I prefer to stay here due to the closeness to the venues that I display and sell my jewelry. I have seen the worst and I am happy to say the remodeled rooms in the main building are fantastic. I was pleasantly surprised and I can recommend you stay. here. The remodeling is still going on in the lobby, but have no fear good things are coming.

Room Tip: Stay in the remodeled rooms in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
214gene, Manager at Chicago Lake Shore Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2015
Thank you for your review. And thanks for noticing our update. Yes, better things are coming. We're delighted to know you are such a loyal customer/guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

I stayed at the hotel for two nights. The experience was awful and I am not sure where to even begin.

1) The building is extremely unsafe. To get to your room, you need to go up an elevator in a seedy parking garage. Uber/taxi drivers hesitated to even drop you off there. As you can see in the pictures, the elevator itself is in awful shape (including having holes in the top). The elevator is not secured...anyone in the area can go up the elevator and to the rooms (including to the rooms without doors on the second floor where renovations are occurring. One taxi driver told us that the parking garage is well known for drug and other shady/illegal deals.

2) The wifi does not work. It took over two hours to stream ONE MINUTE of a Youtube video. It took over 10 minutes for Google to load. When you call the front desk, they tell you that is totally normal and occurs all the time. Again, this happened for the entire two days I was there--neither I nor my friends ever got even halfway decent internet access.

3) The shuttles never show up. Over the two days I was there, the shuttle NEVER came. Between my friends and I who were there for a conference, I think we covered every time slot during that weekend but the shuttle never came. Even after I called the front desk (which assured me the shuttle was coming), the shuttle still did not come...after 15 minutes of waiting in 15 degree weather we finally just got a cab. I understand the shuttle is "not guaranteed" but for the shuttle to NEVER show up is a bit ridiculous.

There are plenty of good hotels in Chicago. This is not one of them. Spare yourself the pain and avoid the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
214gene, Manager at Chicago Lake Shore Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2015
Thank you for your review. You arrived a day early for your conference and were informed that the hotel was in some disarray but would be ready the next day. Our shuttle was not involved in your conference. The University of Chicago provided their own shuttle; your issue is with them. Our shuttle DID offer some service when the U. of C. shuttle was running slow. On the opening day of the conference, as you well know, the elevator did not look as you describe, the halls and rooms were ready for our guests, the parking lot was clean. You were given one of our rehabbed rooms upon your arrival. As for "advice" from taxi drivers re drugs etc, that is pure innuendo. Our hotel is safe and secure. Our parking lot does not serve as a meeting place for drug deals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chicago Lake Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Lake Shore Hotel

Address: 4900 South Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Kenwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chicago Lake Shore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago Lake Shore is an independent hotel located just ten minutes from downtown Chicago overlooking Lake Michigan We are near McCormick Place and University of Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chicago Lake Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Lake Shore - Chicago Hotel Chicago
Ramada Lake Shore Chicago
Ramada Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chicago Lake Shore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.