We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated but reasonably priced in Lincoln Park” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Lincoln Park

Save Saved
You added Inn at Lincoln Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn at Lincoln Park
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 West Diversey Parkway, Chicago, IL 60614 (Formerly Comfort Inn) (Lincoln Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 169 hotels in Chicago
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Dated but reasonably priced in Lincoln Park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I'm sure in its day this was a beautiful hotel, but it is now very dated. Pink/purple tile in the bathroom with lots of cracks, bad spackling jobs for the toilet and sink, poor water pressure in the shower. The rooms are decent sized and the bed comfortable. It is in a good location if you want to stay in Lincoln Park area of Chicago, and reasonably priced. There is a daily continental breakfast offered until 10:30. Close to shopping, restaurants and public transportation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innlp, General Manager at Inn at Lincoln Park, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
I appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. The situation you described regarding the condition of your room is truly regrettable. I will be sure to meet with our housekeeping and maintenance staffs to ensure that these problems are properly addressed. As well, I apologize that our staff did not attend to your needs in a professional manner. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have addressed these issues to ensure your experience is not repeated.

Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. Paul Schoonover, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    37
    38
    27
    29
See reviews for
25
44
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I was ready to write a nice review of this hotel until I encountered a problem. Was ready to leave and pick up my car from the off-site parking area. They have a fairly complicated system for off-site parking which requires one to validate parking, drive out of the parking garage every day and re-enter. When I checked in and asked the staff if I would have to drive out and re-enter on my last day, since I was leaving, I was told 'no'. So imagine my surprise when I tried to do just that,
and was told I owed $45 from the automated machine. I had to run back to the hotel and ask for their assistance. They told me there was nothing they could do, accept refund the $15 I had already paid. They became very rude. I think for a small price ($30) on their part, they could have rectified this situation and made me a very happy customer. Instead, they decided to do nothing. It's one thing when staff is kind and helpful when all is going well, but I expect them to do the same when problems arise. I believe I was given incorrect information from one of the staff. There may have been a misunderstanding on my part, but it was a complicated and unclear, unwritten system.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innlp, General Manager at Inn at Lincoln Park, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept our sincerest apology for the over-all issues you had and any inconvenience you may have encountered which did not live up to your expectations. Paul Schoonover, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We found this hotel ideal for what we wanted to do. Upon our arrival into Chicago, we were able to easily navigate our way to the hotel which had many different bars and restaurants in a close proximity.

The following day we walked from the hotel into the loop (only 10 stops from the train station, located just a few blocks away) visiting Lincoln Park Zoo and Navy Pier along the way.

Top hotel and I would definitely return again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innlp, General Manager at Inn at Lincoln Park, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Wow !! We are so happy that you found us !! Yes we have the best combination of price, value and location without charging you a outrageous price. Thank you so much for staying with us and telling the world how " Awesome " we are. See you next time you are passing through. Paul Schoonover, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

If you don't have to be downtown, this hotel is a good choice. The Lincoln Park area is pretty to walk in, well served with eateries and it has public transport for those who want to see the sights.

The rooms are older style, and a little tired. But they are clean and spacious, with the features all working. Free wifi and a complimentary breakfast are bonuses.

What made the place for me was the friendly and pleasant approach from the desk staff. They went out of their way to be helpful, and that created a positive feel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innlp, General Manager at Inn at Lincoln Park, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Wonderful! We greatly appreciate this review and you sharing your experience. Reviews such as yours means a great deal and are greatly appreciated by our team members. I promise I will share it with all. Thank you for staying with us and please return again soon! Paul Schoonover, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great location, but the service needs to perk-up!
The location is great; far away from the hustle-&-bustle of downtown and close to the relaxing Lincoln Park and the lakefront. Although some rooms may face a blank wall across the hotel’s parking area, the upmarket Lincoln park area is quiet and easy-going, and well-connected both by metro (which we did not use) and also city bus (No. 151 to Michigan avenue). The prices are very reasonable for the location. Starbucks, 7-11, and a Thai- and a Japanese-restaurant are nearby, and a Subway and Pizza-hut outlets are within walking distance. The famous Hema’s Kitchen Indian restaurant is around 1.6 miles.
The rooms are just adequate (we took a standard room) but have a LCD TV, though you may need to request in advance for coffee-maker (check), refrigerator (check) and microwave (which we could only get on the III day of our stay). The rooms are clean (though the AC in our room was somewhat antique and was in an urgent need of a silencer) and the cleaning staff is thorough. There were only 2 electrical outlets in the room, one of which already had the lamp and AC plugged in and the other refrigerator and TV; thus somewhat limiting our choices for charging the phones/tab and making coffee. Although free wi-fi is promised on the website, but the signal seems to be pretty weak, as it does not work in the lobby and a very weak signal was reaching a 1foot-by-1foot corner of our room (room # 302, probably same problem in #202 also); avoid these rooms. However, the 24-hour internet connection (free) in the lobby computer was a life-saver.
Free breakfast is included in the room-charges and is a great help for out-of-towners like us. The food on offer was adequate. There is no in-house room-service, which is outsourced to another establishment and takes 45 minutes (as per menu card, we did not utilize it).Be warned, that the sanitary staff is available only till 3 PM. The front staff is a cheery lot and very helpful with room arrangements and also other touristy information/requests. A large collection of tourist brochures in the lobby was a great help for us.

Room Tip: Avoid 302 and 202. Escalator makes a lot of shuddering noise, and rooms next to it are best avoided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innlp, General Manager at Inn at Lincoln Park, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding cleanliness, carpet condition, bathroom condition and the furniture. We will look into this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is. Paul Schoonover, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lent
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The neighbourhood is really nice, you can easily get downtown (metro or divvy bicycle!), but the hotel is outdated. Everything but the flat screen television.
We had a room facing a brick wall, an air conditioner that made a lot of noise, a small bathroom that probably was installed in the 60's and mattresses on which you can feel the springs. Breakfast is so so. All way to expensive for what you get.
Parking: the tried to sell us an on-site parking space for 30 dollar, we had to ask about the cheaper option we read about (15 dollar a day). Still, that turned out to be a lousy option, since you have to get your car out of the garage every 24 hours. We were not told to do that, so we ended up paying the full charge!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innlp, General Manager at Inn at Lincoln Park, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. We welcome feedback as it assists us in our never-ending task to better ourselves and improve things for our guests.
I am disappointed to learn your negative experience during your visit. I sincerely apologize for the shortcomings you have encountered in your room and deeply regret that you didn't find your room to your liking. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. Paul Schoonover, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here while in town for a Cubs game. Perfect location and we parked overnight for thirty bucks, forty feet from the front door. It's not the newest hotel but the room was clean and staff was awesome. Very easy walk to Wrigley field. Starbucks next door. Price for the room was very reasonable. No complaints. We'll stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innlp, General Manager at Inn at Lincoln Park, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted that you found us and chose to stay with us. We hope you will return for a planned and longer stay so you can take advantage all that our location has to offer. Paul Schoonover, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Lincoln Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Lincoln Park

Address: 601 West Diversey Parkway, Chicago, IL 60614 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 169 hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn at Lincoln Park 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in one of Chicago’s quintessential neighborhoods, The Inn at Lincoln Park is a historic, European style hotel with architectural details reminiscent of the early 1900’s. Our prime location to Chicago’s renowned attractions and scenic shores of Lake Michigan, personal and attentive service, and great value make us an ideal choice for business and leisure travelers, alike.Located in the heart of Lincoln Park/Lakeview, our hotel provides the perfect gateway to your Chicago experience. Walk outside the hotel doors and you are in a walker’s paradise with tree-lined residential streets and a vibrant shopping, restaurant and theatre district. Take a stroll or bike ride through picturesque Lincoln Park and explore the Lincoln Park Zoo, Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum and Lincoln Park Conservatory, ending up at North Avenue Beach where you can experience Chicago’s stunning lakefront. Or, take in a Cubs game at Wrigley Field just a short walk away. We are also conveniently located 2 miles from downtown with local transportation a block away.Built in 1918, the Inn at Lincoln Park features a welcoming Lobby and Guest Lounge with the old-world charm of oak woodwork and architectural elements of the era, 71 rooms, private floor with 3 newly renovated suites, and a meeting/event space. Independently owned, we focus on accommodating your needs with personal service to make sure your stay in Chicago is a memorable one. We are gay friendly and located 1 block from Boys Town.Guests enjoy complimentary continental breakfast in our café, convenient onsite parking, complimentary high speed wireless internet access, and complimentary 24 hour coffee and tea service in our Lobby. We accept pets less than 50 pounds. A 50.00 non-refundable fee will be charged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Inn at Lincoln Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Lincoln Park Hotel Chicago
Hotel At Lincoln Park
At Lincoln Park Chicago
Inn Lincoln Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Lincoln Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.