We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get any better than the Majestic in Chicago!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Majestic Hotel to your Saves list
Majestic Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   528 West Brompton Place, Chicago, IL 60657-1828 (Lakeview)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 171 Hotels in Chicago
Mishawaka, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It doesn't get any better than the Majestic in Chicago!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We came to Chicago to celebrate our 10th anniversary and were looking for a quiet, romantic hotel and that was exactly what we got at the Majestic. Customer service is top-notch here and the atmosphere is quaint and comfy. Located in Lincoln Park, just off Lakeshore Drive, it's easy to find. The parking was only $22 for 24 hours. It's small with a tiny elevator and grand staircase, only 3 levels, and furnished in antique-type furniture to match the historical architecture. We were upgraded to the honeymoon suite and just after we checked in, a wonderful, young man named Cory brought a complimentary bottle of delicious wine to our room. The suite had an extra sitting room that looked out over the street and neighborhood with a couch & chair and flat screen TV mounted on the wall (there was another large flat screen TV on the wall in the bedroom). The bed was very comfortable and the comforter was down-filled with a high headboard attached to the wall. There was a nice sitting room downstairs with a fireplace and a Christmas tree, decorated for the holidays and free cookies, coffee and tea service. It was very pleasant to sit by the fire on that chilly afternoon and sip a cup of tea. Very warm and inviting! The bathroom was clean and adequate with plenty of hot water and wall dispensers with soap, shampoo, and conditioner-- lots of towels. I actually used the tub for a bath and it was bigger than mine at home. The minibar was stocked with everything we wanted after a long drive (whiskey, rum, coke, candy, & snacks). The TV worked fine and the heat was more than adequate. There were radiators in each room in addition to extra vents in the wall, which were adjustable. Best of all, there were plush spa robes in the closet! I felt like royalty here. Cory went out to the corner and hailed a taxi for us to go to dinner and he did the same the following day when we left to go shopping downtown. They also locked up our luggage until we were done shopping after checking out. The Wifi was free too! We have stayed in many of the big expensive hotels downtown and NEVER have we had such cheerful and personal service like at the Majestic. The manager on duty, Mona, was right when she said we would like the Majestic better. In the morning they served a FREE breakfast in the adorable sitting room which included hard boiled eggs, sausage & egg muffin sandwiches, croissants with ham & cheese filling, cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, juice, coffee, tea, milk, etc. You will really get your money's worth here. It's not close to downtown shopping, which is the ONLY negative thing I can think of, but in our case, it was perfect. The taxi drive downtown was only around $10 and didn't take more than 10-15 minutes in traffic. I would highly recommend Mon Ami Gabi restaurant, which is about 2-3 miles south across from the Lincoln Park conservatory for a romantic dinner. Thank you, Majestic, you will always be in our hearts and I will forever be singing your praises!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    137
    32
    11
    6
See reviews for
82
113
36
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Room was very small but clean and efficient. The front desk people were very helpfull. Good room service and clean towel and sheets. Overall it was a good experience. The breakfast was just enough and contain all kind of necessary items including boil egg, muffin, cereal, fruit, donut , mild ,yogurt and many othe stuff.



  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I can not say enough good things about the Majestic Hotel. They are beyond friendly, they care for you and your family. Mona is a gem and helped me with bookings at the last minute while moving my daughter recently. This hotel is a treasure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Majestic during five wonderful days in Chicago. We found the location was perfect, a short cab ride to the city centre, for the regular tourist activities but a nice change from the hustle and bustle of downtown in the evenings. It was a great neighbourhood to explore and found some fantastic restaurants, just ask Mona for recommendations, you won't be disappointed. Yes it's a little worn and renovations will hopefully give it the facelift it needs without taking away the charm and quaintness of this little gem.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is my third time to the Majestic and it is in a great location and the staff is always very polite and friendly! You will not find a better hotel in the area and it while it might not be the decor of everyone's taste it is always clean and the sunrooms are huge! Walking distance to great bars and wonderful neighborhood.

Room Tip: Book the sunrooms. Yes they are more but they are so roomy and open!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Located just 1/2 block from Lake Shore Drive and the express bus to the loop, and in the middle of a quiet residential street, the Majestic Hotel is extremely well located. We enjoyed walking in the neighborhood around the hotel and it is convenient to many excellent restaurants and Wrigley Field. The staff are more than accommodating and helpful. They spend as much time explaining and providing information as you need - about anything. Unfortunately, this only partially compensates for the shortcomings of the hotel. The room was musty. I know that they management is in the process of upgrading each room, but our rug was old and worn out, and it didn't 'feel' clean. The 1 bed in the relatively small room was a full, not a queen. I suspect that a queen would almost not have fit into the room. The shower was OK, the water sprayed from the shower head unevenly. Moreover, there was a breeze through the window into the shower making it a bit chilly. The continental breakfast is mediocre at best. The selection of muffins and coffee are what one would expect from the Motel 6. I would have hoped for higher quality food for a continental breakfast, even if they were to charge a few dollars. If you choose the Majestic, I would come on a weekday evening when the prices are literally 1/2 of what they are on the weekend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marino44, Regional Manager at Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Majestic Hotel and sharing your review. While we are delighted to hear you enjoyed our neighborhood, excellent restaurants, our close proximity to the iconic Wrigley Field, and also how our team members were more than accommodating and helpful. It is of great concern that you had some issues that caused you experience to fall short of your expectations. Please accept my sincerest apologies that you were left to feel disappointed in any way. I have brought your feedback to the attention of the entire management staff, and addressed each mentioned issue with the departments involved, in an effort to prevent any similar occurrences from happening in the future.

We are renovating the entire hotel with a completion date set for the end of the year and hope to have the opportunity to restore your confidence in the Majestic Hotel.

Sincerely,

Keith E. Scott
Regional Manager
Broughton Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST BLOOMFIELD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I recently stayed at the Majestic Hotel and really enjoyed my visit. I chose this hotel as it was close to my daughter's apartment. I enjoyed the ease of getting public transportation and the ability to park my car with in and out privileges. The hotel staff were friendly and the accommodations were very nice. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Hotel

Address: 528 West Brompton Place, Chicago, IL 60657-1828
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lakeview
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Chicago
#37 Business Hotel in Chicago
#47 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Majestic Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago hotel located near Lake Michigan and Lake Shore Drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majestic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.