We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Majestic Hotel to your Saves list
Majestic Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   528 West Brompton Place, Chicago, IL 60657-1828 (Lakeview)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is my third time to the Majestic and it is in a great location and the staff is always very polite and friendly! You will not find a better hotel in the area and it while it might not be the decor of everyone's taste it is always clean and the sunrooms are huge! Walking distance to great bars and wonderful neighborhood.

Room Tip: Book the sunrooms. Yes they are more but they are so roomy and open!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    144
    32
    11
    6
See reviews for
87
121
38
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Located just 1/2 block from Lake Shore Drive and the express bus to the loop, and in the middle of a quiet residential street, the Majestic Hotel is extremely well located. We enjoyed walking in the neighborhood around the hotel and it is convenient to many excellent restaurants and Wrigley Field. The staff are more than accommodating and helpful. They spend as much time explaining and providing information as you need - about anything. Unfortunately, this only partially compensates for the shortcomings of the hotel. The room was musty. I know that they management is in the process of upgrading each room, but our rug was old and worn out, and it didn't 'feel' clean. The 1 bed in the relatively small room was a full, not a queen. I suspect that a queen would almost not have fit into the room. The shower was OK, the water sprayed from the shower head unevenly. Moreover, there was a breeze through the window into the shower making it a bit chilly. The continental breakfast is mediocre at best. The selection of muffins and coffee are what one would expect from the Motel 6. I would have hoped for higher quality food for a continental breakfast, even if they were to charge a few dollars. If you choose the Majestic, I would come on a weekday evening when the prices are literally 1/2 of what they are on the weekend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marino44, Regional Manager at Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Majestic Hotel and sharing your review. While we are delighted to hear you enjoyed our neighborhood, excellent restaurants, our close proximity to the iconic Wrigley Field, and also how our team members were more than accommodating and helpful. It is of great concern that you had some issues that caused you experience to fall short of your expectations. Please accept my sincerest apologies that you were left to feel disappointed in any way. I have brought your feedback to the attention of the entire management staff, and addressed each mentioned issue with the departments involved, in an effort to prevent any similar occurrences from happening in the future.

We are renovating the entire hotel with a completion date set for the end of the year and hope to have the opportunity to restore your confidence in the Majestic Hotel.

Sincerely,

Keith E. Scott
Regional Manager
Broughton Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST BLOOMFIELD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I recently stayed at the Majestic Hotel and really enjoyed my visit. I chose this hotel as it was close to my daughter's apartment. I enjoyed the ease of getting public transportation and the ability to park my car with in and out privileges. The hotel staff were friendly and the accommodations were very nice. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Anyone who hasn't done their homework on the Majestic may find a couple things confusing. But, we had no surprises or issues during our stay. Parking was a little different, but not a big deal for Chicago. Everyone was nice and breakfast was a good quality continental. I don't think it would be a place our kids would stay with us, but a nice getaway for my husband and I.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I will be back because it is conveniently located near my daughter (near Wrigley Field). It is also near express bus to downtown. However, I would probably not stay there otherwise. Rooms are small, not large enough for "reaching chair." There is a nice desk but they need outlets for plugging in electronics. (I travel with extension cord so I was able to set up my laptop, chargers, etc) "Continental Breakfast" is basically the same as economy motels. The rooms are small, the hotel is old (nothing they can do about that). The staff I interacted with was a mix from fantastically good, to overworked (one person during check out times), to three young men sitting at the front desk chatting amongst themselves. (The two people who were good, one exceptional, were both women. The mini bar was a pleasant surprise, nicely stocked and reasonably priced. The bathroom, again small, but adequate. Could use some towel bars. Room cleanliness was excellent. The FREE wifi was more than adequate and since I had to work while there was much appreciated.

Room Tip: The price differential between standard and mini-suite may be worth it if there are two of you. For...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marino44, Regional Manager at Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Majestic Hotel and for sharing your review. While we are delighted to hear you will be back to stay with us, we are disappointed to learn that you had some issues with service and conditions of your room.

We are renovating the entire hotel with a completion date by the end of the year, and hope to get your feedback during your next stay with us.

We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Keith E. Scott
Regional Manager
Broughton Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

This is an older boutique hotel that I stayed in during a business trip to Chicago. It is close to Lake Michigan although it isn't possible to walk to the lake from there due to how the roads are set up. The parking deck is secured and safe. The hotel is in a nice residential area. No room service but many local restaurants do deliver there. The rooms are small because this is an upgraded older hotel. The bathrooms are nice. It is easy to hail a cab nearby. I would stay here again when visiting.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destelbergen, Belgium
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Except for the definitely weak continental breakfast on offer (served in the lounge while seated on sofas...) this hotel has everything going for it. The rooms aren't too big but offer everything you need. Comfortable bed!
Do go to Yoshi's restaurant, about 15 min. walk. A treat! More enjoyable restaurants in the neighbourhood. Good public transport connections to downtown.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Hotel

Address: 528 West Brompton Place, Chicago, IL 60657-1828
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lakeview
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Chicago
#32 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#36 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Majestic Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago hotel located near Lake Michigan and Lake Shore Drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majestic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.