We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk to Wrigley Field” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Majestic Hotel to your Saves list
Majestic Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   528 West Brompton Place, Chicago, IL 60657 (Lakeview)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Northern Mariana Islands, Mariana Islands
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Walk to Wrigley Field”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is the closest hotel to Wrigley Field. Take about 10-12 minutes. Nice walk. Hotel is in a nice quite neighborhood. Plenty of great restaurants on Broadway which is a couple of minutes walk away. The continental breakfast is okay, but not great.

Room Tip: Book online for the best deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    165
    35
    13
    8
See reviews for
105
140
44
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cottage Grove, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My son and I did our annual visit to Wrigley for the Sox/Cubs game. The hotel is about 4 blocks from Wrigley. No on-site restaurant, but ample choices nearby. We had a two bed suite with mini bar and fridge. The room was clean, with two TVs, and above-average bathroom accessories. What really sets this hotel apart from others that I've stayed is the day manager. When I told her that I had to cancel my last night due to unforseen circumstances, she did so without pause, even tho I violated their 48 hr. cancell clause. She is a lovely young woman from Rumania with a slight, charming accent. She couldn't have been more helpful. And to cap off the stay, the Cubs won, 8-3.

Room Tip: The two bed suite is a real value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Door County, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you're looking to be close to, but not in the middle of the action, this is a sweet little neighborhood hotel. Stayed again last week for 3 nights and it reminded me just what a little gem it is. I have stayed at many of the noted Michigan Avenue hotels over the years. Even the best are large, busy and often noisy. The Majestic, by contrast is small, personable and quiet. It's about 15 minutes south of downtown on a side street just 1 block off Lake Shore Drive, in the Lake View neighborhood. Although small, rooms are always clean and comfortable. The staff is attentive and always helpful. The neighborhood has many great (not-touristy) restaurants in walking distance and it's easy to walk under LSD to take a morning stroll along the lake shore. The included continental breakfast buffet is ample to get you going for the day. They have a convenient parking arrangement with the neighboring condo building and are also easily accessible to public transit. I will keep coming back.

Room Tip: If you like a larger room, book a sun room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Richard checked me in and made me feel very comfortable. Mona was very nice also and very helpful. This was my first trip to Chicago and the Majestic made it that much better. I can't forget Cory and Dan they did google searches at the drop of a hat for me very nice. Thank you for a wonderful experience. The Majestic will be the only place that i stay at if i visit Chicago again.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marino44, Regional Manager at Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Majestic Hotel for your recent visit to Chicago. I am very pleased to read that our team members especially Richard, Mona, Cory, and Dan gave you such a wonderful experience.

We are also glad that you will only stay at the Majestic when visiting Chicago, and can't wait to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Keith E. Scott
Regional Manager
Broughton Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for a Cubs game. The staff was friendly and helpful, and we were walking distance to Wrigley. The rooms were spacious and it was quiet. The neighborhood was also quiet and we never felt like we were in any distress walking in the evening. Wonderful experience. Our room was $175 a night, a little pricey but it was worth it to visit Chicago.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is quite different from the normal hotels I book...this is a small boutique hotel with lots of personality. Our room was a very large 2 room suite with Free wifi. Now, normally I don't like a mini bar, but here we had a mini bar and a regular little frig for our own items...very nice to have the choice....But, the best thing about the mini bar was that they didn't try to rip you off for the items...everything was very reasonable...cokes were $1. and they had $1. snacks and candy...and the red bull was about the same price as the convenience store....for that reason alone we will stay there again. The rooms are more traditional, but seemed very clean. Great location, just steps to Lakeshore Dr....lots of great restaurants in the neighborhood.
Staff is Super nice and friendly...one of our favorite staffs on the trip...they really made you feel at home...Thank you Mona and the crew

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brevard
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Just had a return visit to the Majestic, and as always, everything was perfect. Great location, close to wonderful restaurants, Wrigley Field and of course the lake. Wonderful walking neighborhood. We had a small problem with the shelf in the bathroom and it was fixed when we returned to our room. The breakfast was great with fresh fruit and assorted pastries, juices and coffee selection. The ambiance is wonderful, with a cozy Europeon feel. The best is the staff, Mona, who is helpful, warm and welcoming, and everyone we came in contact with. They all gave us great directions and suggestions for great dining. We will always stay there on return trips.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Hotel

Address: 528 West Brompton Place, Chicago, IL 60657
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lakeview
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#36 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Majestic Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago hotel located near Lake Michigan. One block south of Addison and Lake Shore Drive ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majestic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.