We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Chicago Midway

Save Saved
You added Marriott Chicago Midway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott Chicago Midway
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6520 South Cicero Avenue, Chicago, IL 60638   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #52 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Close to airport, 5 minutes. Stayed 1 night before early morning flight. Beautifully updated hotel. Chose concierge floor and took advantage of lounge on this floor. They had hot food salads,snacks,
drinks,dessert. Very comfortable. Well worth the upgrade. Shuttle was prompt to and from airport. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: Take advantage of concierge level.We loved it. Comfortable, stylish lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidwayMarriottGM, General Manager at Marriott Chicago Midway, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the newly renovated Chicago Marriott Midway. I am glad you were able to make use of our complimentary 24 hour a day shuttle to the airport. We will hope to see you again in the future.

Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    75
    19
    9
    1
See reviews for
41
43
14
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

$13 to park...
$14 for "Internet Lite"...

I'm sure they'll come up with something else to charge for before I check out.

Front desk was polite and helpful, room isn't bad. But those nickle and dime fees really get under my skin.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidwayMarriottGM, General Manager at Marriott Chicago Midway, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hello. Thanks for staying at our newly renovated property. I am sorry to hear that you were unaware of the fees you referred to above. We do have room rates that bundle costs that are available on our website that may suite you better if you return to the area.

Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Best hotel near Midway airport. Check in the night before your flight. Reastaurant food was good and inexpensive. The room was clean and roomie. Shuttle to and from Midway was on time. We left too early in the morning for breakfast.

Room Tip: Cheapest thru any web-site
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidwayMarriottGM, General Manager at Marriott Chicago Midway, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Good day and thanks for your nice comments. Hopefully next time you are in town you will have time for breakfast! Our guests consistently rate us among the top Marriott's in the country for our breakfast experience.

Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espanola
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Great place to stay if you have a morning flight out of MDW. I was traveling and had a rental car. It was very convenient to drop the car off the night before and take the shuttle into the airport in the morning. It eliminated the hassle of dealing with the rental car. Nice staff, nice rooms. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidwayMarriottGM, General Manager at Marriott Chicago Midway, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your compliments. We appreciate your patronage and are glad you were able to use our on site Hertz rental car office for your rental car needs.

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrillville, IN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This hotel makes trips from Chicago Midway perfect. Check in the night before your morning flight: friendly service; immaculate and quiet rooms; comfortable beds; good food; free shuttle to Midway; free parking during your trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidwayMarriottGM, General Manager at Marriott Chicago Midway, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thanks for booking the park, sleep and fly rate with us which includes complimentary parking while you are away. I hope you enjoyed our new renovation!

Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I just spent 2 nights at the Marriott Midway for a 2-day conference. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the hotel is immaculate. Beds are really comfortable, bathrooms brand new and generally speaking the hotel is in very good condition/new. I stayed on the concierge floor - breakfast was v. good for a being included. Hors D'oeuvres were plentiful in the evening with a large variety of options. The only criticism I would have is that although you cannot hear the airplanes (hotel is right on the airport perimeter) thanks to very well insulated windows/walls, you can hear louder than normal hallway traffic. Having said that, if I ever need to go back to Midway, I will definitely stay here as it was an excellent experience. It seems like the staff really enjoy their work and hence are quite customer service oriented, and the renovations make the property very appealing. I swam in the pool one night; I was the only one there; it was lovely.

Location is definitely not close to downtown, and taxis to get downtown are pricey ($40 or so). So, either rent a car if you need/want to get anywhere, or take the subway to downtown. Subway station is pretty close but given the area, I didn't feel comfortable getting to the station at night.

Room Tip: Concierge floor definitely worth the extra $'s.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidwayMarriottGM, General Manager at Marriott Chicago Midway, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thanks for your patronage and thanks for your compliments of our newly renovated hotel! Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great place to stay for quick visit to Chicago. The property is extremely close to Midway and offers convenient shuttle service. The hotel restaurant and onsite Starbucks make things easy for business travelers. The cab ride into the city was bit long but expected and not much different than in other big cities. The only problem that I had related to my room assignment in that front desk staff overlooked my room preferences (king,high floor) and gave me low floor - double. They quickly reassigned me when I brought it to their attention. Nice property and it was very quiet despite how close it is to the airport. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidwayMarriottGM, General Manager at Marriott Chicago Midway, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Hello and thanks for staying with us. Next time you are in town, avoid the cabs altogether by catching our complimentary shuttle to the Orange Line Train which drops you off at many places downtown and is very affordable.

Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Chicago Midway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Chicago Midway

Address: 6520 South Cicero Avenue, Chicago, IL 60638
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Chicago
#77 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Chicago Midway 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just two blocks from Midway International Airport, Marriott Chicago Midway offers style and convenience with beautifully-appointed décor, 24-hour airport shuttle service and even on-site Starbucks coffee shop. Guests will enjoy the on-site American restaurant and bar, Dempsey’s offering breakfast, lunch, dinner and even room service. The hotel also features 5,700 sq. ft. of flexible meeting space, indoor pool, fitness center and wireless internet access. The Marriott Chicago Midway is your best choice for hotels near Midway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marriott Chicago Midway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Chicago Midway Hotel Chicago
Chicago Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Chicago Midway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.