We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and a fantastic city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Chicago River North to your Saves list
The Westin Chicago River North
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 N. Dearborn Ave., Chicago, IL 60610 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #40 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great hotel and a fantastic city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

We really enjoy staying at Westin Hotels and this was no exception. So why didn't we give it a five? Two things, One they only leave one type of each coffee in the room (one decaf and one regular), we both drink regular. The first morning my husband called and requested an additional regular coffee to be brought up...45 minutes later, we were ready to go, without the coffee. Saying that, when I filled in the comment card upon our departure, I had an email before the end of the day. Needless to say I was very impressed. Second reason, we were on the Executive Club floor, with included breakfast. At other hotels you get a bit of a variety, not here. Cantaloupe, watermelon, bagels, and hard boiled eggs. Needless to say we ate out for breakfast for the other two mornings.

Now Chicago. What a fantastic city!!!! We had such a great time and met some fantastic people. The wine bar next to the InterContinental has great wines and great service. We ate at Two of the restaurants they recommended. The one I loved I can't remember the name of was truly a locals place, buzzing with people who all knew each other. It's Italian and literially right behind the wine bar, down a flight of stairs. The food was fantastic would highly recommend. On our last night we went to Spring about a 10-15 minute taxi ride out of the center of Chicago. Again great food, but it was lifeless on a Sunday night. I would try again on a busier night. Again great service.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    433
    107
    36
    24
See reviews for
130
287
91
571
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

The location was convenient to everything - we did a whole lot of walking because we could. The room itself was nothing special, although I will say the bed was very comfortable (albeit a double was a bit small for us). The cable channel selection was very limited - we wound up watching a DVD on my laptop. The lack of free internet, the posted charging of $1.50 for local calls and $8 bottled water created what seemed like an "out to get you" brand damaging atmosphere. Granted none of this is horrible, but there's other hotels as nice looking to please you rather than nickel and dimeing you.

I highly recommend visiting the Art Institute and Millennium Park. Blue line from the airport was a breeze to use.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Stayed four nights as part of a a convention. While the rooms were quiet on the weekend, the construction of the building in front of the hotel entrance starts at 7 AM. Ask for rooms greater than 01-05 on any floor or specifically request a riverview.Being there on a convention, the hotel is not accessible by the convention shuttles and you have to wait at Harry Caray's for the next bus.

PS The Einstein on the corner opposite Harry Caray's is very convenient for breakhast on the go.

On the plus side, the hotel is within walking distance of the River North restaurants.

A note to the business travelre. There is no business center her and shipping packages FEDEX / UPS was quite a challenge.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danville
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

We got this hotel room for $89 through Priceline. Couldn't be more pleased. It was close to all the activities and provided all the services that we needed during our stay. We paid $48 each day with in and out privileges at the hotel, although we never took the car out. Taxi's were convenient and for about $10.00 each way to places like Field Museum and Navy Pier it made more sense to leave the car.
Our room was absolutely wonderful. Couldn't find a fault and I am picky. Clean, very comfortable beds, and a large bathroom with a giant tub and shower. Our room had chairs arranged for easy conversations by the window viewing the river, a very large desk and a large hospitality refrigerator stuff full of all kinds of items. The items were pricey but that is expected for the convenience. It was a beautifully decorated room and we would definitely stay there again. The front desk was easy in and easy out. I can honestly say I have never had a better experience and we have traveled the world. They thought and planned for anything you need.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

We stayed at the Westin for my sister's bachelorette party. We got a great deal off of Priceline for $80/night per room which was awesome compared to everything else in the area. Despite the good deal, there were a few issues we had with the hotel.

For starters, when we checked in they asked for an ID and a credit card. They did not say anything about charging the card but before we knew it, she was handing the card back to us saying it went thru for the first room but was denied on the second.. We had prepaid online and she did not say anything about charging the card so my sister then got a little rude and asked why the card was even charged. They said it was a $200 charge PER ROOM for incidentals. Now we don't stay in hotels that often and this may be a common practice but she should have at least told us she was charging the card!

Upon arriving to our room we realized that we were given king beds when we requested double beds. They did say they would try to accomidate requests but I find it hard to believe every double bed room was taken 3 weeks prior to our arrival when we made that request.

When we got back to the hotel later that night (Very late - abt 2:30 in the morn) we asked the front desk for an extra blanket for the one person who was going to have to sleep on the chaise. An hour and a half later the blanket arrived... There was no way the front desk was that busy that late at night for it to take an hour and a half.

Our last complaint was getting woken up to room service "knocking" with their key twice then before we could even answer the door, COMING IN our room while we were getting ready and my sister was in the shower!!

Overall I gave this hotel 3 stars. It was nicely decorated and clean but there are some major issues for a hotel of this class. I wouldn't want to be one of those that paid full price for this hotel and had these kind of problems.

** We found that parking a block and a half away at a Self Park garage saved us A LOT of money. (between Clark & LaSalle on Kinzie) It was $42 for valet at the hotel and the parking garage only cost us $16. (Night & weekend special)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, MS
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

My wife and I stayed here on the 4th of July. The hotel was very nice, clean, and comfortable. It was everything I expected from a Westin. The only negative was that the maids knocked on our door twice trying to clean the room despite the "do not disturb" sign being on the door. The hotel was a little off the beaten path. Most CTA buses were about two blocks away. We didn't mind the walk as the weather was excellent. I would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

This is based on a stay on a river view room. XX25 will secure you such a view, and is apparantly a little bigger than the other traditional rooms. The hotel's in a great place to explore the City.

Nice property, exceptionally clean, although the hotel seemed just a little gloomy when entering the lobby from the street - it's all the darkened glass windows. It's the same with the rooms. They also have privacy blinds at the windows, as well as curtains.

Can't really believe the other rooms offer too much in the way of views as it seemed the Westin's now towered over by other properties nearby.

Some roadnoise from the Dearborn Street bridge, but in a way, quite mesmerising.

Room minibar had extortionate prices - plenty of convenience stores a short distance away though, so too was the blue E station Clark and Lake - just over the bridge a 5 minute walk and a direct line from O'Hare Airport - only $2.20 and a 40 minute ride.

It's the only hotel I've been to, where you're charged a daily rate ($10 per person) to use the gym. That was disappointing. There were also charges for internet access in rooms and in the business centre, although a discrete sign in reception said that there was free wifi in the lobby and the lounge.

Offered a room rate on the day of $217 per night which was around $100 less than best price booking in advance on Westin's own website. Pity we'd already prepaid through a travel agent.

Obviously, if you like to take a gamble, you can get a better price.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Chicago River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Chicago River North

Address: 320 N. Dearborn Ave., Chicago, IL 60610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#28 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#31 Business Hotel in Chicago
#40 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Chicago River North 4*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Chicago River North allows guests a chance to experience relaxation and renewal while maintaining access to all of their favorite Chicago activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Starwood, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Westin Chicago River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Chicago River North Hotel Chicago
Westin Chicago River North
Chicago Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Chicago River North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.