We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Westin...a winning location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Save Saved
You added The Westin Chicago River North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Chicago River North
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 N. Dearborn Ave., Chicago, IL 60610 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #38 of 168 hotels in Chicago
Illinois
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“The Westin...a winning location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Need a great, central location to explore Chicago? The Westin is for you! Walking distance to almost everything. Great restaurants nearby. Right on the river. Will definitely stay again.

Helpful tip...don't park at the hotel. Use spothero.com. We found 2 nights parking at a nearby garage for $30. Beats the $120 they wanted at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear mad880,

I'm truly delighted to hear that we were able to be the backdrop for your recent Chicago visit and I'm happy to hear that you will be returning to see us. I hope that day comes sooner rather than later, but we look forward to welcoming you back once again!

Be well,
Peter S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    554
    349
    84
    30
    22
See reviews for
97
241
83
467
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Westin Chicago River North is within walking distance to many popular tourist sites in downtown Chicago. The hotel is also very close to train and bus lines which provide convenient access to many neighborhoods outside the Loop. River North is a lively and safe area with many good restaurants and interesting shops. The hotel is very modern, clean and comfortable, and the staff is very efficient, helpful and friendly. Westin's Heavenly Bed gave us the best sleep we have ever had in any hotel. We had a Sunday evening flight, so we really appreciated the 3:00pm checkout time. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear sal6872

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience and your kind words with us. I'm excited to hear that you were able to take advantage and enjoy the many things that Westin Hotels has to offer including our Heavenly Bed, and our newest program, Westin Weekend which allows our guests to enjoy their weekend with us even more with a 3pm check-out on Sunday.

The next time your travels bring you to Chicago I truly hope that we will be able to welcome you back for another renewing stay!

Be well,
Peter S. 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, co
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel is obviously right on the river and has beautiful views . Super easy to walk to lots of familiar places..the Bean, Art Institute, Magnificent Mile, shopping and lots of restaurants. We would recommend it for anyone who does not mind walking to most things. It was easy to get to the boat tours.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear pat j,

I'm truly delighted to hear that we were able to be host to you and your family during your recent Chicago trip. Chicago has many great things to offer and I'm happy to hear that your family was able to experience a portion of it. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back the next time you choose to continue to explore Chicago and all it has offer.

Stay well,
Peter S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

My favorite spot in Chicago on river. Close to all major attractions and convenient for business meetings. Gym is modern, well equipped and staffed by Sam who is very friendly, knowledgable and a credit to the hotel! Nice club level lounge. Sushi restaurant and main restaurant excellent . Rooms can be dark given the tall buildings that surround but never been an issue and I would highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear maeveian,

We're truly proud to be your home away from home in Chicago. All of us here at The Westin Chicago River North truly appreciate your kind words and I will be sure to pass your kind words on to Sam as well. I couldn't agree more that he is a very valuable asset at the hotel and we're very thankful to have him helping our guests on a daily basis.

We all look forward to your next visit!

Stay well,
Peter S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just returned from a conference here and really enjoyed the property. Its in a great location overlooking the river and within walking distance to everything including the Loop, the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier and shopping and restaurants. The meeting rooms were very nice and accomodating, the food served during the meeting was very good and plentiful, and the staff very nice and attentive. Would stay there again for business or pleasure. Only real downside was the exhorbitant cost of parking.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms ending in 22 as they have great views of the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Jason G,

We truly appreciate your kind words in regards to the meeting space, banquet service, and the hotel overall. I'm happy to see that your recent visit was not all business though, and you were able to take time and unwind and enjoy all that the city of Chicago has to offer.

It certainly was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and I sincerely hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon!

Stay well,
Peter S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Had a business meeting and was impressed that a property where I had NO status gave me a great room overlooking the water. Room was large, quiet, and had both a well stocked fridge and coffee maker with full bags of coffee, it cubes to,fit in a machine. The bathroom was large and well troweled with plush bath sheets. The computer rooms in the business center were enclosed for,privacy and each had its own printer. Fitness facilities were well equipped. Attitude was friendly and CAN DO, across the board. I did not eat in the restaurants, but the food served in meetings was actually tasty AND healthy.

Room Tip: Tell the clerk your preferences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear hotelmavin,

On behalf of the entire team here at The Westin Chicago River North I’d like to thank you for the kind words you’ve shared with us. We certainly do take pride in the fact that we try to make all our guests feel special, not only the ones with “status”. I certainly hope that the next time your travels bring you to Chicago we will be able to welcome you back and once again exceed your expectations!

Stay well,
Peter S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Travelled with a friend to Chicago for ladies trip. We checked into Westin Chicago River North for 3 nights. As requested we were given our room early upon arrival! I give the hotel plenty of points for this special favour!! It meant we could refresh ourselves before setting out on our first day's adventure.

We took the Wendella river boat cruise on architecture. We loved it! What a perfect way to see this magnificent city. It was very hot and we were glad to have a sun hat and sunscreen as we were in full sun for 2 hours. Our guide was interesting and explained lots of history about this city and the fantastic buildings. After the tour we walked the magnificent mile but didn't buy much. Ate lunch just off Michigan Street at Grand Luxe where lots of lady shoppers stop to re-nourish after shopping. We found the stores actually had tons of merchandise but each time we selected an item the store did not have our size! We returned to our hotel for a quick 20 minute nap, shower and change of clothes and then met a friend at RPM for dinner. This restaurant is near the hotel. Sexy environment there. Low lighting, disco music, young crowd and great Italian fare with homemade pasta! We had a super good meal. A little pricey but worth it.

Second day we walked the Loop. We loved the sculptures by Picasso, Miro, Calder en route! Then we visited the Impressionism exhibit at the Art Institute of Chicago. Could spend hours and days there. We spent time in Millenium park having fun at the Bean, in the flower gardens and just quietly absorbing some of the beauty here. Back to our hotel for quick nap, shower and off to dinner at Trattoria 10. Terrible meal. Started with poor service and ended with salty, heavy food and high price. To be fair the Maitre D' tried to help out with a free dessert and was quite attentive after we complained that no one took our order. Followed dinner with Broadway show Book of Mormon. Great cast with lots of action but be prepared for politically incorrect jokes!

Next day we walked in the rain north of the river to Contemporary Art. Enjoyed the art installations. lunch nearby at Cheesecake Factory. Reliably good salad and cheesecake with excellent service. Shared as the meal portions are large. Walked to Astor Street to see High Heffner's mansion. Back to our hotel for quick nap, shower and headed to Auditorium Theatre for the Chicago Dancing Festival. We found it by googling activities in Chicago and got free tickets. It was the highlight of our trip! A fabulous performance! Stopped at Target around 10:30 pm to pick up a snack. Make sure to browse the Internet for activities as there are tons of things going on free in Chicago.

Final day was a ride on the "L" to Quincey Station. It is fun to ride this elevated train and Quincey Station still has the wooden floorboards! Unfortunately the wait to ride up to the top deck at Willis Tower was 45 minutes early in the morning and we didn't have time. Walked back to our hotel and packed up.

Our trip to Chicago was perfect! This hotel is in the absolutely perfect location. We walked everywhere and never needed cabs or public transportation to get around d the city core. Our room was a standard double with 2 full luxurious beds that feel amazing and guarantee sweet dreams. The room decor is not especially pretty but is very functional and clean The bathroom has one sink, tub with shower, and is a good size. Amenities included soap, shampoo, conditioner and body lotion. No Q-tips or cotton balls. Upon arrival only one bathrobe in this double room and 3 towels of each size instead of 4. I asked housekeeping first day for 4 of each and received this but only 3 each day after that request. Air conditioning even in the sweltering heat worked well.

I would gladly stay at this hotel again. Our concierge was always helpful with tidbits of Information.
The front desk staff checked us in quickly and were friendly as was the housekeeping staff. There is free wifi in the lobby although the staff couldn't figure out how to get my blackberry connected. My own trial and error finally got it going! Taxis were always available at the entrance.

The hotel is trying to be environmentally conscious so you have a choice of fresh daily linens, towels or not.

Chicago is a great city with friendly people and lots to do! It is busy so it is a good idea to reserve for dinner and theatre before you go on your trip. Thank you Westin for the great hospitality and early check in!!

Room Tip: See if you can get a room with view of the river. Some rooms look right into a blues nightclub concr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear fancyandfree,

Thank you for taking the time to share such detailed feedback regarding your recent Chicago visit with everyone, it sounds like you had quite the adventure! I'm truly delighted to hear that our hotel and our team were able to play a role in this experience. I'm also very happy to hear that you found our Heavenly Beds as well as other heavenly products so refreshing.

I hope that we will be welcoming you back for many more adventures like this most recent one!

Stay well,
Peter S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Chicago River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Chicago River North

Address: 320 N. Dearborn Ave., Chicago, IL 60610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#31 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#31 Business Hotel in Chicago
#52 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Chicago River North 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Chicago River North allows guests a chance to experience relaxation and renewal while maintaining access to all of their favorite Chicago activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Starwood, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Chicago River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Chicago River North Hotel Chicago
Westin Chicago River North
Chicago Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Chicago River North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.