We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only mismanagement can turn this well located property into a terrible experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Chicago River North to your Saves list
The Westin Chicago River North
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 N. Dearborn Ave., Chicago, IL 60610 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #44 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Only mismanagement can turn this well located property into a terrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Was given a lower quality room than i prepaid for without being informed just to accomodate my double bed g request. Room was not clean, run down and shower did not work properly.
Upon complain next day was offered the level of room that i prepaid with double beds.
Managent allowed a party that had 2 rooms to host a oarty next to me 12 people invilved for a max of 6 guests allowed at hotel. 5 complaints from10pm to 4 am. Next morning after speaking with same hotel manager Mr Williams he acknowledge being informed afte my 2nd complaint at 12 at night and that there were 12 people involved. Shame on you Mr Williams for ruining my weekend with my son. I could not rest when i needed to ahead of a heavy working week.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear FrustratedWestinGues,

I'm thankful that we were able to work through your concerns under separate cover. In the future, should you choose to stay with us again, please reach out directly to my office.

Be well,
Peter S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    398
    100
    33
    23
See reviews for
120
265
90
517
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Andover, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Love the location.....close enough to walk to everything, but away from the crowds on Michigan Ave. Staff is helpful and efficient. Nice bar in the lobby with a great bar menu.....good martinis! Convenient spa on the mezzanine level. Overall, a great hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear OD8459FAM,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent expereince at the Westin Chicago River North. I'm truly delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Be Well,
Peter S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Friendly, helpful and professional, the staff at the Westin Chicago River North made a convention stay into an enjoyable destination. Two particular employees really stood out. Alan at the Bell Desk is a great example of a positive person. Sam in the Westin Workout area is very knowledgeable and had many great ideas for keeping the exercise going while traveling. Their great attitudes were most appreciated! I will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Eric N,

Thank you for taking to time to share youre recent expereince with us at the Westin Chicago River North. I'm truly delighted to hear that we were able to make such a positive impact on your recent trip to Chicago. I will be sure to share your kind words with both Alan and Sam. We're very lucky to have them as a part of our team and it's always refreshing to see how much of an impact that they have with our guests. Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Be Well,
Peter S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Every time we have had business in downtown Chicago, this is where we stay. A great location right on the river and just a walk across the bridge to great shopping, restaurants, theatre district, the "L", museums and the Chicage Art Institute plus many more activities. The hotel is close to the hop on, hop off bus stop so you can ride around easily downtown without a taxi!

The only thing I would like that they don't offer is an airport shuttle. It cost 2 of us about $40 each way to take a van from and to the airport and it's takes about 1/2 hour to get to the hotel. The train is much less expensive but takes about an hour and schlepping your bags on and off the train and dragging them around downtown from the train stop to the hotel, isn't much fun.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear ov2travel51,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your feedback regarding your past expereinces with us.I'm glad that we've been able to make such a positive impact during your numerous Chicago trips, and we're very proud to be your home away from home. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!

Be Well,
Peter S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I have stayed at most of the major hotels in Chicago, and for the total package, the Westin River North beats them all. Nice-sized rooms, nice bar in the lobby, excellent sushi stand in the lobby, and one of the best hotel workout facilities in the city. On top of that, the staff, especially in the fitness center, are helpful, friendly and always looking to making your stay better. I use this hotel for business and for pleasure visits to Chicago, and its location is superb for both. One of my favorites anywhere.

Room Tip: Ask for river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Pricey and should be nicer. Great views of the river but the rooms, club room and halls are a bit tired. Club room is annoying with their little sign in tabs that also beg for tips. Small and chintzy selection of bare minimal continental breakfast and a couple snacks in the evening. This is probably the quandary for hotels on offering club levels. If you're going to have one, do it right. Otherwise, don't do it.

Room Tip: River view and high floor. It's not NYC but Chicago cabbies like to honk too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for approximately 3 months and was always greeted by friendly people. The concierge always gave good recommendations for places to eat. I would definitely recommend this hotel for others traveling in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear ClarkDA5,

Thank you for taking the time to share your many experiences at the Westin Chicago River North. I'm very proud to hear that you had chosen us to be your home away from home while on business, and delighted to hear that your many visits have been so refreshing. Thank you so very much for your kind words and anytime your travels bring you to Chicago we hope to welcome you back for another refreshing stay.

Be Well,
Peter S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Chicago River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Chicago River North

Address: 320 N. Dearborn Ave., Chicago, IL 60610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#32 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#32 Business Hotel in Chicago
#61 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Chicago River North 4*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Chicago River North allows guests a chance to experience relaxation and renewal while maintaining access to all of their favorite Chicago activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Chicago River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Chicago River North Hotel Chicago
Westin Chicago River North
Chicago Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Chicago River North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.