We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty nice place, good location, room could use updating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Chicago River North to your Saves list
The Westin Chicago River North
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 N. Dearborn Ave., Chicago, IL 60610 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #37 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pretty nice place, good location, room could use updating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I was here for under 12 hours on a quick business trip... the room was fine - not worn but nothing special either. The TV was updated - flat screen etc. There was free coffee in the lobby and a car service that took me to the airport for a price a bit over a taxi. I will definitely stay here again since I'm an SPG loyalist!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear MeINYCer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Westin Chicago River North. I’m sorry to hear your stay was so short, but glad you will stay with us again. We truly do appreciate the loyalty to Starwood Hotels & Resorts and look forward to your next visit.

Be Well,

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    748
    469
    120
    39
    24
See reviews for
157
323
95
617
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed three nights for a college sporting event. We were upgraded as well as agree with MKS001 on the room. The location is great and the staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: The river view rooms are spacious, comfortable with a beautiful view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Sharon G,

I was so happy to read your review of The Westin Chicago River North. It truly was our pleasure to have you as a guest. We will be sure to celebrate your comments with the team and thank you for the feedback. I’m delighted to hear you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and appreciate the recommendation. We look forward to your next visit.

Be Well,

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Really nice hotel. I would feel comfortable picking any westin and not be disappointed. The Chicago river north hotel is really pretty, nice size room, clean, comfortable bed, attentive staff, great location, etc. I went with a friend who is westin loyalty member ( whatever it's called) and they really treat their loyal members well! I would come again as westin is a reliable upscale hotel establishment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My husband had a conference at the Westin Chicago River North, so we stayed there for 3 nights. It was a very nice hotel. The staff was courteous, interesting decor, comfortable room, quiet hotel, and nice lobby. It is about a 20 minute walk to the shopping on Michigan Ave., but the location of the hotel was within walking distance of many restaurants and things to do in the evening. We had a city view in our room, which was very nice with all the Christmas lights on the street. The conference rooms were adequate and comfortable. All in all, it was a very nice hotel and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for a short 2 night stay for pleasure and we had a city view room. We were upgraded to a deluxe room which featured a chair as well as a chase and a lot of space and we loved the floor to ceiling windows. We didn't eat at the restaurant so I can't speak on that but the floors for the preferred guests was a nice touch. I appreciate the quick check out the bill was underneath our door the night before. The location was incredibly convenient to everything it was a quick six minute walk from the blue line train we took the blue line which was $2.25 directly from O'Hare so it was just an incredibly convenient location. All in all a great stay at the Westin and we would definitely come back when we visit Chicago again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I have never been to Chicago before this stay, and I know I'll be back! The room was FABULOUS! I had a room on a higher floor looking out towards the river, and it was gorgeous.
The only letdown was the food. As I was there on business, a lot of which had me up in my room on web calls, I ordered a lot of in room dining and I found it was a little overpriced for the quality. The service was prompt and always with a smile, but I found the food was sub par.
Everyone at the desk was BEYOND lovely and helpful! James on the bell desk was a delight! Always taking time to say hello and ask about my stay.
Overall I will definitely be back, and I have already recommended this hotel to my clients!

Room Tip: If you want a lot of room, choose a higher floor, number xx24!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I mistakenly made a reservation at The Westin River North instead of The Westin Michigan Ave that I always stay in and LOVE! I didn't cancel my reservation. The corporate office negotiated with The Westin River North and reimbursed me for the no show fee I had incurred. I'm a loyal Westin customer and this action of kindness only reinforces my loyalty! A big shout out to Jeremy in the The Westin corporate office!!! And the manager at The Westin River North!!!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Hotel
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#20 of 178 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,877 reviews
Streeterville
Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Chicago River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Chicago River North

Address: 320 N. Dearborn Ave., Chicago, IL 60610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#28 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#31 Business Hotel in Chicago
#34 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Chicago River North 4*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Chicago River North allows guests a chance to experience relaxation and renewal while maintaining access to all of their favorite Chicago activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Chicago River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Chicago River North Hotel Chicago
Westin Chicago River North
Chicago Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Chicago River North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.