We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In town for business” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago to your Saves list
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   909 N. Michigan Ave., Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #91 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“In town for business”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I was at this hotel for three nights for business. It is in a great location and close to lots of restaurants and shopping.
The rooms were standard. Nothing special. You are in downtown Chicago so not a great view of anything other than another building.
One thing I was disappointed with was their green program. I stayed at another Starwood hotel in New Orleans and when I participated at night, I would receive a voucher for Starbucks under the door. I tried to participate at this hotel but didn't receive anything for either night. Maybe it was missed, but I didn't get my room cleaned or any additional towels, so I don't think that was the case.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hi Loves2TravelMP,

Thank you for the helpful feedback. We apologize that the green choice program did not work out smoothly, and we ahve followed up with our staff to review the system. We're glad you enjoyed the location, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    452
    293
    123
    79
See reviews for
271
327
83
462
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is the perfect Location on Michigan Avenue. Right across the street from John Handcock Bld, Macy's all the great shopping. We were SPG Gold members so was upgraded to a corner room which was very large, perfect with kids. Also 2 blocks from Lake Michigan, great running paths along the beach! The Hotel is working to get a club lounge which is the only reason I did not rate as excellent.

Room Tip: Corner room was very large
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Hi kmdm22,

Thank you for the wonderful comments! We are delighted that you have enjoyed your experience and that you took advantage of our location. We look forward to welcoming you back and hopefully you will return after we finish our club lounge.

Be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Nice hotel. Great. Location, one block to water tower place. Couple blocks walk to beach. There are bar and restaurants in walking distance. Hotel has a nice bar with good food. Rooms were nice size and very clean. The service was very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Hi sundance366,

Thank you for the kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed our guest services and location. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

The Westin was a nice hotel, with a good location, agreat view and superior service. I selected the hotel because they were the sponsor hotel for a race I was running. The whole staff was kind and supportive to runners. The highlight of the stay though was Chris the running concierge. He was in town just for the race and there as a Weston staff member to specifically support runners. It is rare to meet someone so perfectly suited for their job. He gave us advice on everything from race day transportation to running tips. He answered our zillion questions only a group of four girls could come up with and was even there to great us with a smile a 5 am when we got a nervous too early start to the morning. I will seek out sponsor hotels for every race in the future, especially if they are Westins. Good hire Westin.
For the majority of people in Chicago not for a marathon or half...this is just one example of their excellent service.
May I advise you get the deluxe lake view...worth it!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Hi GAWhit,

Thank you for the great feedback! We are so glad that you chose to stay with us during the Rock 'N' Roll Half Marathon and that Chris was such a big help to you. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Thank you to the wonderful staff! I was in town caring for a sick relative when he passed away, the staff was kind enough to accommodate us by keeping me in the same room and extending the stay when the hotel was sold out one night. Thank you again to the front desk staff and management.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Hello P K,

Thank you for the great comments. Please accept our sincerest sympathies for your loss. We are glad that we were able to make things easier on you, and we hope to welcome you back under better circumstances.

Be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Returning to the Westin as a Preferred Guest for a symposium was perfected with just a few appreciated perks: the complimentary bottled water, the free Wi-Fi and the late check-out. Not having to rush between sessions to check-out and drag the luggage about was priceless.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Hi Madonna L,

Thank you for the delightful feedback! We appreciate you taking the time to share your enjoyable trip to Chicago and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I was on a short business trip on my first visit to Chicago. All of the staff were terrific - very helpful and pleasant. The surrounding area is very clean & has many interesting historical places to visit. It's a tourist area and I felt safe enough to walk by myself in the evening. I would stay there again vs. San Francisco because it was free of creepy dirty obnoxious street people.

Room Tip: Not enough experience to judge this
See more room tips
Green Features: excellent - they give a discount for being environmentally conscientous
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Hi CONNIE W,

Thank you for the great comments! We are delighted that you have enjoyed your visit and our location. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Address: 909 N. Michigan Ave., Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Chicago
#23 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#48 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#77 Family Hotel in Chicago
#78 Business Hotel in Chicago
#82 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 752
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago is on the Magnificent Mile across from Bloomingdale's and the upscale shops of Water Tower Place. The exhilarating excitement of Chicago is at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago Hotel Chicago
Westin Michigan Ave Hotel Chicago
Westin Chicago
Chicago Westin
Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.