We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago to your Saves list
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   909 N. Michigan Ave., Chicago, IL 60611 (Magnificent Mile)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #98 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Me & three of my friends stayed in a hotel room - they didn't even have a pet fee!- They brought a portable fridge to the room, which was really nice. The hot tub stayed open until midnight, we took full advantage. Also, they let us check in early & check out at 2pm the next day. We also ate at the restaurant downstairs, it was really good! I'll absolutely stay here again...not to mention the wonderful heavenly bed!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    505
    322
    135
    92
See reviews for
312
372
87
530
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We got a great deal here for New Year's Eve. It's right next to the Hancock Building so it was a fantastic location. It felt awesome to just walk outside and immediately start shopping on Michigan Avenue. The decor of the lobby was nice, and I enjoyed being able to get Starbucks coffee from a cafe downstairs in the lobby. The shower pressure was nice, and the bed was very comfortable. What more could you ask for for from a hotel with a great location and a sweet deal?

Room Tip: We were on the 26th floor and there is a beautiful view on the elevator side of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort worth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We had a weekend girls getaway in downtown Chicago the second weekend in December. The hotel was at the perfect location.Close in proximity to everything you needed, whether it be on foot or by taxi. The hotel was right across from Bloomingdale's and a beautiful historic church. The hotel was very comfortable and great breakfast room service. We enjoyed watching"The Help" in our room, too. I have stayed in many hotels and this is one of the top ones. Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

This was a very nice and comfortable Clean Hotel...But...Why do they charge you to park in their Parking lot? for what they charge per room the fees for parking is Ridiculous! and we did not get room cleaning either...we had to pay for that as well.
Would we stay there again??? Well we will probably find a place with free parking and maid service.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

This hotel was lovely, clean, and in a prime location on North Michigan Ave (Right across from Water Tower Place.) This was a family vacation, and our stay began on Christmas Day and contintinued through the week. The service, especially during the first three days of our stay, was outstanding. The only complaint that we have is that, as the week went on - and the hotel got busier -- the service got a little lax. (Housekeeping "forgot" to make our beds one day.. and it took over an hour for a maintenance engineer to come fix a minor issue.) However, the manager was very apologetic and did his best to make good on the problems. Overall, I would certainly recommend this hotel for both families and business travelers - and we will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Higher floors give a better view of the lake or the skyline. The "deluxe" room did not s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We enjoyed a 3-day stay at the Westin. The room was very nicely decorated and well-maintained. We used the fitness center a couple times; the room had a nice assortment of cardio machines; weight equipment was a bit less represented and weights were all too heavy for my ability.

The hotel is on Michigan Ave, next door to the John Hancock building, and one block away from the Watertower Place -- a great location for shoppers.

Staff was friendly and fairly efficient at check-in. We didn't see too much more hotel staff, except for the maids, who were knocking on doors around 9:00 AM. Late sleepers, be sure to put your do not disturb sign on the doorknob!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

This hotel is beautiful......luxury, clean, great big rooms, friendly staff, great location. Would highly recommend this to travellers.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Magnificent Mile
The Drake Hotel
The Drake Hotel
#57 of 178 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 2,472 reviews
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#36 of 178 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,290 reviews
Gold Coast
The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Address: 909 N. Michigan Ave., Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Chicago
#20 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#56 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#75 Family Hotel in Chicago
#78 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#89 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 752
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago is on the Magnificent Mile across from Bloomingdale's and the upscale shops of Water Tower Place. The exhilarating excitement of Chicago is at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago Hotel Chicago
Westin Michigan Ave Hotel Chicago
Westin Chicago
Chicago Westin
Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.