We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In Serious Need of Renovation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E Chestnut Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #116 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Aspen, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“In Serious Need of Renovation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel is very old and outdated. I had the feeling it would fall apart any minute. The worst part are the elevators - so old and smelly, it is scary using them. The rooms are not too bad - the furniture is descent and the bed is very comfortable. The bathrooms are dated but clean.
The location of the hotel in downtown Chicago is great. This is probably its best feature.
The Tremont is definitely a budget hotel - I would recommend it to people looking for affordable accommodation in a very good location. Do not expect much in terms of service or interior.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine W, General Manager at The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Mariya0504,

I appreciate you taking the time to provide comments about the hotel. I am happy to let you know that we will be going through an elevator modernization by the end of this year. We are also completing numerous updates throughout the property as well. Thank you for the recommendation of being affordable and very good location. 1/2 block off of Michigan Avenue is a great location!

We look forward to you staying with us again!

Christine Wechter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    232
    189
    96
    96
See reviews for
57
259
56
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Yes, this hotel is older and the rooms are small. The main elevator does take awhile since it's older, slow, and TINY. But there is another service elevator just around the corner that helps alleviate that concern.

The room was on the small-ish side, but we had an amazing view of the John Hancock Tower. Everything was really clean and the shower had great water pressure and immediate hot water. Our stay was quiet with the exception of some noise through the door to the hallway. This is probably because our room was right next to the elevator, but even so, it was very minor and not bothersome at all. The best part of our room though? The bed. Oh my gosh, that bed. It was so comfortable! I slept so well in that bed, and could have stayed there all weekend if I wasn't...you know....in Chicago with tons to see!

The staff were all really nice and friendly and could not have been more helpful. We didn't partake in the "hotel" breakfast at Ditka's, but we did stop in there for brunch on Sunday before heading to a baseball game. It was great. Reasonable prices, so convenient, and great food.

All in all, yes this is an older property, but I found it to be quite charming. The staff was great, price was right, and the location absolutely can not be beat. I would definitely consider staying here again on an upcoming visit to Chicago.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine W, General Manager at The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Jill R,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding our property and staff. I appreciate the comments about our team here along with the cleanliness of the hotel and how comfortable our beds are. The beds are the newest addition to the series of updates we have planned for the hotel. By the end of this year we will also be going through an elevator modernization of which we are very excited about.

I sincerely hope that we have the opportunity to host you again.

Enjoy!

Christine Wechter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

For the price, the Tremont was just fine. The rooms are a little rough around the edges, but ours was clean and the bed was comfortable. The elevator takes forever to get to the first floor, and it is small and creaky. The front desk staff were very nice, though. As other reviewers note, the location is a good one. There is no parking, though, unless you do valet, which was $52/night. We went with the self-park two blocks away, which was $40/night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine W, General Manager at The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear m0irac,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding our property and staff. I appreciate the comments the cleanliness of the hotel and how comfortable our beds are. The beds are the newest addition to the series of updates we have planned for the hotel. By the end of this year we will also be going through an elevator modernization of which we are very excited about.

I sincerely hope that we have the opportunity to host you again.

Enjoy!

Christine Wechter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. No frills - just an old hotel close to everything in Chicago. Room was clean and beds were comfortable - however the hotel is just plain old. Plaster cracking - dated bathroom, etc... Overall if you want a good location - and don't need a lot of modern conveniences found in newer hotels then this is a good spot. If you want amenities or if you are easily bothered by the flaws of old structures - then you will likely want to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine W, General Manager at The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
I appreciate the time you took to complete a review of our hotel. Thank you for commenting on how comfortable our beds are along with the room being clean. By the end of this year we will be going through an elevator modernization of which we are elated about! Also, we the beds are the newest addition to the series of updates we have planned for the hotel.

We look forward to you staying with us again soon.

Enjoy!

Christine Wechter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This small hotel is right in the middle of the action in downtown Chicago, half a block from The John Hancock building and Water Tower Place. The bed was big, comfortable and very clean. The staff were nice, and my room was quiet. There are a few inconveniences, such as parking and breakfast for $10, but that is expected in this neighborhood. WiFi was free and easy, and the overall experience was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine W, General Manager at The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such generous comments about the hotel. I share your sentiments with the staff and they were very happy to hear them. We look forward to your return.

Enjoy!

Christine Wechter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

First stay under the Starwood program. For the difference in points, I would certainly do the Westin or Sheraton over this. They should consider lowering the points to 5,000. Friendly staff, comfortable beds, room was too warm and could not get it cool, lukewarm water, no coffee maker in the room is a negative. If you are looking for budget hotel close to shopping it is fine. Reviews were very truthful and should help you with knowing what to expect when you get there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine W, General Manager at The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Ik0912,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay. It was very nice to see that the staff was friendly and that our beds were comfortable. The beds are the newest addition to the series of updates we have planned for the hotel. We appreciate all of your comments and feedback and will continue to utilize both when making improvements at the hotel.

I sincerely hope that we have the opportunity to host you again.

Enjoy!

Christine Wechter
Interim General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had a great weekend in downtown Chicago staying at the Tremont Hotel. The staff was very pleasant and the beds were very comfortable. The hotel is sort of an old world charm where it has the look and feel of class, but the narrow hallways, small elevators, and small room sizes (sort of European). Being in downtown Chicago you are not hanging out in your hotel room - you are out seeing sites, shopping, dining, and enjoying all that the city has to offer. This hotel is on the Magnificent Mile so there was never a dull moment. The beds were very comfortable for a good nights sleep after a long day! Would definitely stay here again next time I need a hotel in downtown Chicago!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine W, General Manager at The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Christine L,

Thank you for the 5 star rating and all of the genuine comments used to describe the property. The comments are very much appreciated.

We look forward to your next stay with us!

Enjoy!

Christine Wechter
Interim General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Address: 100 E Chestnut Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tremont Hotel is just off North Michigan Avenue, the famed Magnificent Mile. Within easy access of Chicago's business district & walking distance to shopping, dining, theatre & nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Chicago
Tremont Hotel Chicago
Tremont Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.