We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goods and bads” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E Chestnut Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #116 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Canton, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Goods and bads”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The rooms were nice, very clean and stylish with big bathrooms. The lobby was great too. The bed was hard for my taste and I wish they would have laid off the whole Starwood Points thing; I booked through a 3rd party so I couldn't receive points for staying but the desk said I could if I declined housekeeping - I decided I would rather have service but the desk didn't seem to want to accept my decision. I also had a brief issue with their offsite room service company and the desk agent said the only resolution would be points..... I just found it to be annoying as a guest who is not looking for points to substitute for hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    232
    189
    96
    96
See reviews for
57
259
56
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The room was OK, good value, great location, nice fireplace in the lobby. Nice linens, pillows too big to sleep on. Like the option to skip daily room cleaning; much better for the environment.

GREAT service from the front desk staff, Jason, Allyson, and one person whose name I'm sorry I don't know. They made all the difference.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine W, General Manager at The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Eastlandwoman,

I appreciate the time you took to complete a review. I have shared your sentiments with the team and we look forward to your return!

Enjoy!

Christine Wechter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, PA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Some old properties are old and elegant. Some are old and old. Unfortunately, this property is more in the latter category. Your first impression is that it is old and rather tired. It has really great potential. There are beautiful wood floors in the main entry area and lobby, and painted molding elsewhere throughout the property. There are brass name plates on the walls in the main lobby area. If Starwood decided to invest some money in this place, refinish the wood floors, polish the brass plates, replace the carpeting throughout, and repaint everything else, it truly could be very inviting.

The location is really great. It is right off of Michigan Avenue and close to many attractions and shopping areas. Water Tower Place is only about a half block away.

The hotel really represents an excellent value. For a hotel in that location, it is really a bargain. Our room was relatively large and clean. Although the carpet seemed to be old and the paint on the ceiling was peeling in places, the room overall was clean. The bathroom also was clean. The fixtures were old, but worked well. The tub/shower had excellent water pressure and was very functional if not particularly visually inviting.

On a budget, this is a great place to stay. But, I will probably stay elsewhere next time in Chicago unless Starwood refurbishes the property. Starwood could make it really special.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine W, General Manager at The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear HiddenGem2010,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay. We have been busy recently making updates around the hotel and one of our recent updates was the lobby floors. We appreciate all of your comments and feedback and will continue to utilize both when making improvements around the hotel.

I sincerely hope that we have the opportunity to host you again.

Enjoy!
Christine Wechter
Interim General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We were thrilled with the Tremont. We travel a great deal and get tired of the sterile hotel scene. The Tremont reminded me of the times I would stay in athletic clubs, most of which are older, friendly and feel more like home. Dinner next door was amazing at Mike Ditka's and my only complaint would be the pillows. omg :( The location is superior.

Room Tip: I was NOT happy with the first room given and the front desk immediately gave me a room that had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine W, General Manager at The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Joan J.,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel! Our location is a hidden secret as it is only a 1/2 block off Michigan Avenue!

Hope to see you again soon!

Christine Wechter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Helena Island, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I have spent several nights over the last few years at The Tremont Hotel. Its location is only steps from Michigan Avenue shopping and right next door to Ditka's (best pork chop in Chicago!). Also convenient to historic Fourth Presbyterian Church and the John Hancock Building. Public transportation is close--bus on Michigan Avenue and Red LIne CTA on State Street.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine W, General Manager at The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our location is a perfect one just a half block off of Michigan Avenue. Hope to see you again soon!

Enjoy!

Christine Wechter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is a Starwood property, for those collecting points. The Starwood Preferred Guest rooms are on the top floor (16) and are great values. I am not sure if all of these rooms are suites, but ours was complete with a dining table and living room. We could have had ten friends over for a pre-dinner cocktail party. Spacious baths, comfortable beds. The staff was a little bit slow, but overall just fine. (specifically, call for your car a good 15 minutes before you want it) The hotel is in good shape, could use some soft touch ups and updates her and there, but it was a good experience. It's an older building and has interesting architectural elements to it. This is nothing fancy, but it's a great price for such a prime downtown location. The valet will keep your car until 6pm the next day, which is nice if you want to do a little dining or shopping. I would certainly make a return trip to The Tremont and I would certainly recommend it as a comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine W, General Manager at The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Shelane N,

Thank you for your review. You were in one of our penthouse suites on the 16th floor. They are very spacious and ideal for company. We appreciate the recommendation and look forward to your return!

Enjoy!
Christine Wechter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuPage County, IL
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This boutique hotel is older but well-maintained and clean. Our room was small - looked nothing like the images on their web site - but it was fine for an overnight. If you want to be near the Mag Mile, won't be in the room much and want a good value, this could be your place. We get the Senior/AARP rate, which was really good this weekend. Around $88 with tax and fees, which is great for Chicago. No free breakfast, but there's a Starbucks directly across the street and others within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine W, General Manager at The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel. Appears you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return.

Enjoy!

Christine Wechter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Address: 100 E Chestnut Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tremont Hotel is just off North Michigan Avenue, the famed Magnificent Mile. Within easy access of Chicago's business district & walking distance to shopping, dining, theatre & nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Chicago
Tremont Hotel Chicago
Tremont Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.