We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value hotel, just sleep there, though” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Save Saved
You added The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E Chestnut Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #114 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Value hotel, just sleep there, though”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

To be fair, SPG just bought this place, and I think are in the process of updating it. The place is old, the one elevator is slow and tiny,* and the rooms smell a lot like Ditka's next door if the window is open (which I found delicious). Basically, treat this place as a convenient location to sleep in downtown Chicago. You're not going to hang out at this place, go to one of the awesome bars in Chicago instead. For the price, it's totally worth it.

*Have one of the staff call the service elevator for you if the wait is busy at the regular elevator.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    212
    171
    89
    94
See reviews for
51
221
51
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

I travel a lot for work and this by far the worst hotel I've stayed at. The service was disorganized and the front desk was often just not staffed. The bed was horribly uncomfortable and the room heater sounded like a jackhammer not to mention that it had a bad smell. I didn't have one good night of sleep. The place is worse than a motel 6 and triple the cost- I'm shocked it is a Starwood property. Thankfully I switched hotels during my stay and had one night of good sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Exceptional location, close to mag mile and subway. Was skeptical after reading reviews, however, pleased to find a clean and spacious (corner room). Hotel is old and well worn, but serves it's purpose if you are not looking to spend all your time in the room. Staff were friendly and helpful. Great perk is that you have access to the Westin's fitness facilities (just around the block).
We booked through hotwire so got a good rate however BEWARE that valet parking is $54/night. Would book again.

Room Tip: Corner suit was spacious with view of mag mile
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TremontChicagoHotel, General Manager at The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you mississauga123 for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very pleased you had a good time and felt the Tremont was a good value and great location. The Tremont is a charming historic property that continues to improve as we renovate and add more services to ensure quality experiences for our guests. We appreciate your review and wish you a Happy Holiday season!

Warm regards,

Pete Demay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I want to start my review by saying that I'd probably stay at the Tremont again because of the location and Starwood property, and because I could live without all the extras. But I am used to receiving those extras at other Starwood properties and for that reason, this hotel is a disappointment. The staff is really wonderful, helpful and friendly. The location is great - 1/2 a block from Water Tower and Broadway Playhouse. The bed is a Westin bed - so that was a relief. But the room was TINY. It was the smallest hotel room I had ever stayed in and I could hear the people talking next door (they were talking in a normal volume). There were no amenities such as room service, so we had to go out for dinner even though we were tired and would have opted for room service if it had been available. No coffee maker in the room. There is a Starbucks across the street, but with Chicago winters, it would be nice to offer guest this common amenity found even at lesser hotel chains. Even the blowdryer seemed to be 10 years old. Ditto - old TV, few channels. Starwood - since this is one of your properties, you need to pay more attention to it.

Room Tip: Ask for the largest room you can get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TremontChicagoHotel, General Manager at The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you Travelr-Nvle for your review of the Tremont hotel. I am very pleased you felt our staff was wonderful and friendly and do agree with you that as we continue to renovate the hotel we will add in new services and amenities. We are close to finalizing many of these initiatives such as coffee makers and fitness facility right now.

We appreciate your feedback as it helps us continue to improve our services and continue to provide value for our guests!

Happy Holidays,

Pete Demay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We arrived early on Saturday morning for a one-night stay. The staff helped us check in at 10 a.m. They also warned us about being on the right side of Michigan Avenue during the Magnificent Mile Light Festival parade later that day.

After pizza at Pizza Due and some shopping, we watched the parade. It was an absolute huge crowd, but our hotel location was so terrific that when the parade ended, we walked the one block back to our hotel to get ready for dinner.

We had dinner at Ditka's and it was simply fabulous. We had made a reservation for 8 p.m., and when we arrived, we were seated immediately even though they were quoting at two hour wait for walk-ins. Good service and a terrific bone-in filet $49 cooked to medium. With two entrees, a side of broccoli, a sauce, two cocktails, and two glasses of wine, the bill was a very reasonable $140 plus tip.

We had a late flight on Sunday and the hotel was very helpful holding our luggage until we came back to depart for the airport.

Overall great weekend and would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TremontChicagoHotel, General Manager at The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you Ken M for your review of your experience at the Tremont Hotel. The Festival of lights parade is a wonderful tradition in Chicago and truly our property is in an ideal location. I was so happy to read that our team helped prep you on where to be and accommodated your early arrival as those are things that are the most important to me that we take care of our guests!

Thank you for visiting with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,

Pete Demay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I went to the Tremont for a conference with about 65 other Illinois attorneys. This was a nice quaint little hotel next to Mike Ditka's Restaurant on the Magnificent Mile in Chicago. Thursday night during our cocktail reception, "The Coach" was hosting his well-attended football radio program in the room next door. Friday during our conference held in the Executive Club & Board Room on the 2nd floor, there was loud talking coming from a room located down a flight of stairs behind the conference room. This was the ONLY drawback to an otherwise perfect conference. I would STRONGLY suggest that you refrain from hosting at The Tremont unless they assure you that you are the only show in the house that day!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TremontChicagoHotel, General Manager at The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you FhayzeB for taking the time to comment regarding the event held here last week. We are pleased you felt the event was almost perfect, however due to how busy the property was there was some background noise. The setup of the event required the airwalls in the meeting room to be open whereas normally the doors are closed which blocks any background activity. We appreciate your feedback and comments and will continue to work with our clients to ensure they have successful events.

Happy Holidays,

Pete Demay, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksboro, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My stay at the Tremont was simple, easy, affordable and sufficient. I had read the reviews from others and I knew what to expect.

The "Hotel" itself deserves 2 out of 5. The rooms and bathrooms need significant upgrading. The amenities are minimal, the furniture is scratched and the decor accents beige with the complexities of drab. Furthermore, the internet connection was awful.

The Price and Location deserve 5 out of 5. Fantastic. Right of Michigan Avenue, next door to Ditka's (which was surprisingly good) and across the street from Starbucks. My rate was excellent and since it's part of the SPG network, that fit my needs as well.

Will I be back? Probably, if I'm paying for the stay. But, not on a trip with my wife and definitely not with kids.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TremontChicagoHotel, General Manager at The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you NorthTXCouple for your comments and feedback regarding your recent visit. We are pleased that you enjoyed the price and location of the property and have done extensive work to the property with many more exciting projects coming in 2013 which address many of your comments. We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to having you back to see the many improvements that are on the way.

Happy holidays,

Pete Demay, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Address: 100 E Chestnut Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tremont Hotel is just off North Michigan Avenue, the famed Magnificent Mile. Within easy access of Chicago's business district & walking distance to shopping, dining, theatre & nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Chicago
Tremont Hotel Chicago
Tremont Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.