We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Talbott Hotel to your Saves list
The Talbott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Epsom, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

Friendly staff, spacious an dclean rooms. Breakfast was a bit disappointing. Location is good for exploring Chicago.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,310
    265
    34
    14
    12
See reviews for
279
739
81
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

My wife and I love to visit Chicago, which we consider one of the greatest cities of the world. While we have our favorite spots to visit, we also love to do try new places. Thanks to the great reviews in Tripadvisor, we can now add the Talbott to our list of favorites. Its a delightful little hotel with a cozy little bar and a good restaurant. My wife and I are in our 60's and love to walk, and the Talbott is located a reasonable distance from many of the city's great venues. As we had good weather for a Chicago February, we were able to walk to the Second City Comedy Review in Old Town the first night, and to the Chicago Theater in the east loop on the second, with lots of great eating and shopping along the way. When we mentioned to one of the staff members how welcome they made us feel, he replied that "the attitude comes from the top". We look forward to returning, and want to thank tripadvisor for helping us discover this little gem.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

The Talbott Hotel is centrally located to everything downtown Chicago. Room was spacious, great toiletries and super comfy bed. Concierge was most helpful with specific directions on where to catch and where to exit the Underground when we wanted to go to Chinatown and then see Millenium Park. All hotel staff we encountered were warm and friendly.

If you go, you MUST try Pizzano's which is literally right around the corner, and More (cupcakes) which is across the street from the hotel. In a word, YUM! Had a great lunch at The Gage across from Millenium Park - and if you go you have to try one of the Cherry Reikey (sp) drinks from the bar which is Belvedere vodka, muddled cherried and lime juice,

So much to see and do, and weren't able to do it all in a quick weekend getaway, so we will return. And yes, we will go back to the Talbott Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

Over the years I have begun to seek out the smaller hotels on business trips - a reaction against the anonimity I have felt, even with the prestigious brands and membership of select schemes, in larger hotels - and the Talbott didn't disappoint.
It was charming, not luxurious but generous in welcome and room proportion. I will be making it my home in Chicago on future trips - both business and pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

I visited Chicago with my mother for a week long stay of sightseeing and shopping. The Talbott was recommended to us by a friend and it did not disappoint. It's a beautiful hotel with a lot of old world charm. The room was very luxuriously decorated and the marble bathroom was spacious with double sinks. The hotel is very centrally located - a short walk to the Magnificent Mile and close enough to use transit or taxis for the rest. The staff were extremely helpful and attentive and they made us feel very welcome each time we left or came back to the hotel. Great hotel in the heart of Chicago!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

We have stayed at the Talbot at least 6 times in that last 2 years and every time has been an absolute pleasure. The staff is friendly and helpful - we always feel welcome. The location makes it easy to grab a taxi or hop on the subway - close to downtown theatre (2 stops on the red line) or the art museum.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILLINOIS
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

I have traveled all over the World and stayed at many of the finest hotels.The Talbott beats them all.The Grand Hotel in Rome and the Four Seasons in Sydney have nothing to rave about compared to this hotel.I will recommend this hotel to all my friends.The cleanest hotel and bar that I have ever experienced.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the many comforting rewards of a small European style hotel in the heart of Chicago's Gold Coast. Steps away from Michigan Avenue. As staff well versed in the art of fine European hospitality, people who remember your name and tend swiftly to your special, as well as, everyday needs. A host of gracious amenities including nightly turn-down service, morning newspapers, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and complimentary access to a world class health center. Mercadito Kitchen, a contemporary Mexican eatery is the latest concept developed by managing partners, the Sandoval brothers of the esteemed Mercadito Hospitality group. Located inside the Talbott Hotel in the heart of the vibrant Gold Coast neighborhood, Mercadito Kitchen is now bringing your favorite tacos, guacamoles, and margaritas from our flagship location to the Gold Coast. Mercadito Kitchen is open daily for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and late night. Mercadito Kitchen will also offer Gold Coast favorites such as live acoustic music during our weekend brunch (11:00am-3:00pm), an outdoor patio, and extended wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Amex, Splendia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Talbott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.