We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Luxury Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Talbott Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Talbott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 169 Hotels in Chicago
Chicago area
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Luxury Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

The Talbott is a great place to stay. It is a luxury boutique in the heart of the Gold Coast, easily within walking distance of Michigan Avenue, State Street, and Navy Pier. The staff is exceptionally friendly. They provide twenty-four-hour room service, concierge service, and the front desk staff and waitstaff are even cheerful late at night. The rooms are modern, well decorated, and comfortable. They feature flat-screen sattelite televisions, ihome alarm clocks, and many other conveniences one would expect from a luxury hotel, without the sameness of the chains.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,072
    234
    33
    13
    10
See reviews for
232
610
70
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hell, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

We stayed at the Talbott Hotel for a long girls weekend, to see the Kid Rock/Bon Jovi concert and to shop, of course. After a taxi ride from Union Station, in which the driver had no clue where the hotel was - even tho we gave him directions, address and cross street, we arrived and were very pleased with the location of the hotel.
The bell hops, doormen and desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful - They seemed genuinely happy to see us, like we were long lost friends. The rooms were large ( i'm comparing to the W Lakeshore), comfortable beds and furniture, great flat screen TV, large bathrooms with Aveda products and robes. We did use the concierge service a few times, they were really helpful in giving us train information to Soldier Field, gave us safety tips and secured us dinner reservations at Frontera Grill, last minute.
We did have the $15 breakfast credit at Bice Bistro, while that was a good deal - the food was just ok. We actually didn't eat there the last morning, we wanted a more substantial breakfast.
All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel! Great neighborhood - little grocery store Potash, around the corner on State Street and several good restaurants on Clark street within easy walking distance. Corner Bakery is a few blocks away on Rush street, as is some off Michigan Ave shopping - Lululemon, diesel, Gap 1969, Barnes and Noble, etc.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

We had an awesome stay at the Talbott. Our plane got in at 8am so when we dropped our bags off at the hotel they informed us that as soon as a room was available they would call us. They called soon after and let us in our room three hours before our scheduled check-in time. Our room was beautiful and throughout our whole stay the staff was super friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

This hotel is by far the most impressive I have ever stayed in - I only stay at 4star properties so I consider that to be a great achievement.
From the minute I got there, the bellman introduced himself and gave me a quick overview of the hotel layout as he led me to the front desk. There is a fireplace on the left that looked oh so comfortable and a cute restaurant downstairs. The concierge was very pleasant and detailed. She gave me some suggestions about what to do nearby, and informed me that they give free daily passes to work out at an Equinox down the block which I thought was cool. She checked me in efficiently and gave me my room keys.
My room was so cozy, I did not want to leave!! The decor was a modern take on what I think an inn should be. The room had a sensor that turned on the lights when you walk in and off when you walked out.. There was an oversized king bed(with a canopy) that felt like heaven to be in. There is even a housekeeping indicator on the wall to alert housekeeping if you need service. I ordered room service from the restaurant downstairs and when they got upstairs - ding dong - there is a doorbell on my door!! I had no idea and i thought it was awesome - I hate knocking sounds!!
My only complaint is about their internet connection(i only used the wireless connection). It was free, and they have multiple networks available but none of them seemed to have a strong signal.
Overall, I loved it! I would live there if I could!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

Loved this hotel. You are welcomed at every turn by the staff and you feel it is sincere.
The concierges are beyond helpful, they were superb.
We had just travelled from Alaska and it was wonderful to feel a little luxury again.
I would stay there in a heart beat.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

The Talbott is a small historic hotel much in the style of the grand old wood-panelled hotel but just on a smaller scale. The service we received at the front desk and from the concierge was excellent, and they allowed us to check in significantly early. It is very conveniently located, close to Michigan Ave dining and shopping and 2 blocks from the Red Line train stop at Chicago Ave. I stayed there for $154/night, which was a phenomenal rate. Although the hotel has been updated, it does show signs of age, with suboptimal climate control, a small bathroom, and a mild musty smell. The hairdryer was also substandard for a hotel of this calibre. Otherwise, we greatly enjoyed our stay here for its value and old-school charm.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

My sister and I stayed at the Talbott Hotel recently. It's a lovely boutique hotel (member of the Small Luxury Hotel collection) located 2 blocks from the Magnificent Mile in Chicago. The staff is very friendly/welcoming. The room (double queen) was very spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was clean (double sinks--nice touch). Large Frette bath sheets--very nice touch. Large (42" flat screen) TV was great. Absolutely no view from our room, but it was quiet. Only 2 (small) complaints: drinking glasses had lipstick smudges (they were promptly replaced with clean glasses) and they need softer toilet tissue. Housekeeping was otherwise great. I would definitely return to the Talbott Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 169 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the many comforting rewards of a small European style hotel in the heart of Chicago's Gold Coast. Steps away from Michigan Avenue. As staff well versed in the art of fine European hospitality, people who remember your name and tend swiftly to your special, as well as, everyday needs. A host of gracious amenities including nightly turn-down service, morning newspapers, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and complimentary access to a world class health center. A contemporary American seafood eatery is the latest concept developed by Managing Partner Alfredo Sandoval of the esteemed Mercadito Hospitality group. Mercadito Fish features the best of casual and fine dining seafood restaurants. Fresh seasonal "catches" and personable service amplify its' modern day sensibility, inspiring exploration of new flavors and approachability. The restaurant showcases a range of familiar and new seafood preparations, as well as an expertly customized beverage program. Matched with a warm and thoughtfully designed environment, Mercadito Fish offers exquisitely prepared seafood without compromising atmosphere and price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Talbott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.