We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay. Great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Talbott Hotel to your Saves list
The Talbott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 179 Hotels in Chicago
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great stay. Great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We were on a recent girls trip to Chicago and chose the Talbott Hotel based on TA reviews.
Prior to arrival we asked the concierge for restaurants suggestions and provide us with a driver to meet us at Midway. They were very helpful with our requests.

The hotel was lovely inside and out. They have door man service. A great restaurant and bar. The rooms were very nice. The beds were awesome! Comfy, comfy for sure. We had to have our AC adjusted because it was not cool enough. Once that was handled we were happy campers.

You can not beat the location, walking distance (just blocks) from Magnificent Mile, the Hancock building, shopping, dining and more. With that being said this was a quiet hotel in the evening, no street noise, we had a room near the elevator and we never heard it. The front desk staff was awesome, especially Cameron he was a doll and so helpful.

Would definitely stay here again on my next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,389
    273
    34
    14
    13
See reviews for
301
776
83
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amelia Island, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Great boutique hotel close to everything worth seeing in the Michigan Ave. area. Rooms are comfortable & well appointed. Staff couldn't be more gracious, welcoming & helpful. Sidewalk café is moderately priced and great site for people watching. Good value in prime location. Will definitely stay again.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This was our second time staying at this wonderful Hotel. We had been previously a month earlier visiting premature twins at Childrens Hosp NICU. When we checked in for our second visit, the receptionist said " Hello Miss Smith, how are the twins?" This really sums up why we love this place. The service and the people. They are all helpful. The concierge knows everything. From best restaurants, to where to have a cake baked on short notice. The rooms are clean, and bedding sumptuous. It is also located just a short walk to the best shopping anywhere! We will always stay here!

Room Tip: The 12 th floor was really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed for a week, part business and part fun. The entire time we were there, not one staff member failed to greet us with a smile, NOT ONE! The Talbott is simply a great hotel that is well maintained, clean and obviously well managed. I just simply have never seen such consistently good service, even at the other hotel that is right down the street from the Talbott. Hands down my new favorite hotel in Chicago, I will never stay anywhere else as long as they have a room to sell me!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I was here for one night with a group of friends. I was sorry to leave. If you are a Chicagoan and want a city weekend or a tourist visiting the sights, this is a great location. You are in the middle of a very safe and happening neighborhood, but the hotel is on a quiet and lovely residential street. You are walking distance to Michigan Ave., the Gold Coast, River North and about a mile to Millenium Park and the Loop. This boutique hotel has large, clean well appointed rooms, a welcoming quiet lobby, a restaurant/bar, and outstanding service. Thank you Kurtis and Dwayne for all your attention with a smile. I would go back in a minute.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor, possibly with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Three nights for a conference. Was upgraded to a suite....can we say Texas size! Luxury, but maintains elegant charm of yesterday. Arrived one evening from dinner to a fire in the lobby seating area. Lovely! Every staffer was gracious, helpful and cheerful. Will return!! Not a stranger to Chicago and have stayed in many hotels there. The Talbott is #1 in my book.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Absolutely love this hotel. Rooms are large, very nice. The location is perfect, just a couple blocks from Michigan Avenue. The staff is fantastic, so friendly. I will not stay anywhere else when visiting Chicago.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 179 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the many comforting rewards of a small European style hotel in the heart of Chicago's Gold Coast. Steps away from Michigan Avenue. As staff well versed in the art of fine European hospitality, people who remember your name and tend swiftly to your special, as well as, everyday needs. A host of gracious amenities including nightly turn-down service, morning newspapers, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and complimentary access to a world class health center. Mercadito Kitchen, a contemporary Mexican eatery is the latest concept developed by managing partners, the Sandoval brothers of the esteemed Mercadito Hospitality group. Located inside the Talbott Hotel in the heart of the vibrant Gold Coast neighborhood, Mercadito Kitchen is now bringing your favorite tacos, guacamoles, and margaritas from our flagship location to the Gold Coast. Mercadito Kitchen is open daily for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and late night. Mercadito Kitchen will also offer Gold Coast favorites such as live acoustic music during our weekend brunch (11:00am-3:00pm), an outdoor patio, and extended wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Amex, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Talbott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.