We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Talbott Hotel to your Saves list
The Talbott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Aurora, OH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a smaller hotel near North Michigan, but still quiet and unpretentious. The service was excellent and our room was very comfortable. The restaurant was pleasant and we felt reasonably priced. It was nice that the hotel was also close to a drug store and a beauty parlor. We will definitely come again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,173
    255
    33
    13
    11
See reviews for
249
675
77
207
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We spent one weekend my wife and I in Chicago for our "twice a year no kid week end";
I had in mind to make a reservation @ 4seasons until I saw the review of the Talbott on Tripadvisor.

I saved 350$ per night and it was perfect :
- large and comfortable room (1607)
- perfect location
- no too big
- nice people

The only "minus" would be the elevators : only two used also by the staff

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stopped here for a few nights and enjoyed our stay.

Staff were as lovely as has been mentioned in many other reviews. We had a complimentary upgrade to a lovely spacious room with everything we required: safe, iron and board, sofa and easy chair, writing desk, alarm clock with lead for MP3/iPod, free wifi.

The bed was heavenly - I defy anyone not to sleep well. Our room was slightly gloomy as we were facing the Waldorf which dwarfed the Talbott, so even though our room was on the top floor, the sky was completely blotted out.

The location was in the north of the city, but within walking distance of many restaurants, Michigan Avenue and the John Hancock Tower for those with a head for heights.

Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We LOVED our stay here. If I had to come up with a complaint, I'd have to make it up! The location: perfect. Walk to almost anywhere you need to be in town. The staff: perfect. From the front desk to the chambermaids, everyone is as helpful as can be. The room: perfect. Felt like home, only nicer!
One of our top 5 all-timers.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We have stayed at the Talbott Hotel several times. It never disappoints. It is an oasis in the middle of a very busy city. Every member of the staff is exceedingly friendly and helpful. They take the time to give you information about your room and the city. It is centrally located to Lincoln Park, Water Tower Place, Wrigley and any other downtown area of the city. We love it here.
On this trip, my husband was recovering from knee surgery and was on crutches and in a brace. The staff went out of their way to make sure that we were in a room that provided for his safety while moving around. We are grateful that there are places that still provide such a high level of service and always do it with a smile. Many thanks to the staff for all their help.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I (we) have stayed at the Talbott a number of times over the years and have to say it is one of my favorites in any city I visit. From the time the doorman opens your door, front desk reception and bell service to room; you know you are in the right place. We were traveling with our 16 year old daughter and opted for a suite with an adjoining room (903+904) and it worked out perfectly. The location of the hotel is very convenient and we walked everywhere to see the sites, shop, and dine. There are many places to stay in this great city, the Talbott is my choice.

PS: they also have a great restaurant / bar attached with room service. And health club access.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I stayed at The Talbot while being in Chicago for just one night. I was anticipating a lovely stay and my expectations were not met. The room was very nice - quite spacious for an urban location but... the service and the amenities fell short. I was in town for a medical procedure and chose a smaller, boutique hotel so I would be in a more gracious, personal environment. When we checked in, the concierge asked about dinner reservations. I mentioned that I would not be up to eating so he said I could find soup at a place a couple of blocks away. I thought he would offer to send up some soup...but, that's OK. Then, I needed some ice. Only available through room service. The dinner we ordered through room service was mediocre at best. They did not have Pinot Grio by the glass so we needed to order a bottle. Every part of the experience was just not quite on target. Next time, we will choose another property. It could be a great place but needs lots of improvements in their basic services.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the many comforting rewards of a small European style hotel in the heart of Chicago's Gold Coast. Steps away from Michigan Avenue. As staff well versed in the art of fine European hospitality, people who remember your name and tend swiftly to your special, as well as, everyday needs. A host of gracious amenities including nightly turn-down service, morning newspapers, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and complimentary access to a world class health center. A contemporary American seafood eatery is the latest concept developed by Managing Partner Alfredo Sandoval of the esteemed Mercadito Hospitality group. Mercadito Fish features the best of casual and fine dining seafood restaurants. Fresh seasonal "catches" and personable service amplify its' modern day sensibility, inspiring exploration of new flavors and approachability. The restaurant showcases a range of familiar and new seafood preparations, as well as an expertly customized beverage program. Matched with a warm and thoughtfully designed environment, Mercadito Fish offers exquisitely prepared seafood without compromising atmosphere and price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Talbott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.