We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great home base in Chicago” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added The Talbott Hotel to your Saves list
The Talbott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 169 Hotels in Chicago
Aurora, Illinois
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great home base in Chicago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and I just spent a weekend in Chicago and called The Talbott Hotel home. The price, location and quality of the accommodations are fair. You can stay at more expensive and cheaper places, but you may not get your money's worth.

The location is great (just a short walk off Michigan Ave.). It was nice to have a calm street to walk out to in the morning and get away from some of the craziness of the city. Access to the "tourist" part of Chicago was very easy from Talbott by walking as well as close proximity to the Red Line. But you may want to explore north of Talbott for dinner in which you can find some less touristy, yet delicious, choices.

The hotel is very clean and the bedrooms are comfortable. We stayed in a deluxe king which I believe is their "smallest' offering, but it had plenty of room and provided us with everything we could need or want. The bed is comfortable, firm but soft with the pillow top. The sheets were clean and the turndown service was nice. The bathroom had plenty of towels and was cleaned daily. We forgot to pack an umbrella, not a problem, each room is fitted with an umbrella as well as a full ironing board and iron. Also, each room has a Mac Mini computer hooked up to the LCD TV and a wireless keyboard and track pad. I found this to be great because I use the internet so much when visiting places and sometimes I just don't want to use my iPhone (free Wifi is great). I've stayed in hotels with computer access, but it was a nice treat to have the computer provided in my room. Also, the K-cup made starting the morning an easy process. Breakfast is offered in the hotel but we enjoyed walking across the street to Cru and having a relaxing brunch there.

The Talbott Hotel is a boutique hotel and it is similar to other boutiques I have stayed at. It is smaller with a very warm feeling (the entire hotel seemed to have a Fox Hunt theme). This also means you are more likely to interact with the staff. The Talbott has done an excellent job with this. The staff is incredibly nice, welcoming and helpful. My wife and I enjoyed coming in and out of the hotel because we knew it would be another chance to talk with people (Dwayne has been mentioned many times here, and he is a great way to start your stay here, but I must say that everyone was charming). It can be very nice to have this opportunity in a big hustle and bustle city like Chicago. It is worth the couple extra bucks over one of those giant chains down the street.

If we decide to spend a weekend in Chicago again, I imagine we will stay here again!

Room Tip: Parking in the city can be a bother. It will be cheaper to self-park. But, you may want to conside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,084
    238
    33
    13
    10
See reviews for
233
620
71
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Advance, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We visited The Talbott Hotel on vacation and went strictly on reviews on Tripadvisor. Most of the reviews were an excellent rating and we decided to try the Talbott. We were not disappointed as this is a first rate hotel which provided excellent service and is in an excellent location. The staff went out of their way to make our stay very comfortable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Dwayne was the most helpful and delightful door man I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. He made our stay at the talbot very enjoyable. Rooms were spacious, the talbot was in a great location.
Can't wait to come back

Room Tip: Great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We loved everything about the Talbott starting with our check-in upgrade to a one-bedroom suite. Everyone on the staff was gracious and helpful and the concierge helped us get tickets to The Book of Mormon when it was almost sold-out. The bed and pillows were super-comfy, the bath towels generous in size, and the bathroom Morton & Brown amenities replenished every day. We had a paper at our door every morning and chocolates at night. We especially enjoyed having breakfast at the Market Brasserie sidewalk cafe where the juice was freshly squeezed and the lattes delicious. All that plus a great location on a relatively quiet street yet only a couple of blocks from Michigan Ave. and the Magnificent Mile. We will definitely return to Chicago and the Talbott.

Room Tip: We had a bedroom in the back off the main street and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

can't tell if it was the weather, the people, the scene, but my stay in chicago was fantastic. it also helped that my hotel stay was fantastic! everyone on staff is kind and attentive. the rooms were very accommodating (hello, k-cups, cable and free wi-fi!) and the location was very easy to public transportation. i was here for marathon weekend, and amidst all the hustle and bustle, it was nice to come home to a quiet and relaxing hotel. i liked the charm of this hotel, with its lobby in dark wood and has more of an old school classic feel to it. the price was perfect, considering the neighboring hotels with less amenities nearby were twice the price.

looking forward to coming back. thanks all!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

From check in (when the gracious and welcoming Lina upgraded us to a gorgeous, spacious one bedroom corner suite) right throughout our 6 night stay, the friendliness and genuine hospitality of the staff at this hotel was second to none. If you are looking for luxury amenities, then this may not be the hotel for you, but if you seek a luxury experience, look no further. We will always stay at this hotel on future trips to Chicago..

Room Tip: Corner suites are like a home from home
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is a great hotel, the rooms are very well appointed, quiet and very comfortable. really good beds and linen. staff very helpful and polite and in a great location between Michigan av. and State st. Excellent restaurant serves great breakfast at reasonable price. This will definitely be my choice when I visit Chicago again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 169 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the many comforting rewards of a small European style hotel in the heart of Chicago's Gold Coast. Steps away from Michigan Avenue. As staff well versed in the art of fine European hospitality, people who remember your name and tend swiftly to your special, as well as, everyday needs. A host of gracious amenities including nightly turn-down service, morning newspapers, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and complimentary access to a world class health center. A contemporary American seafood eatery is the latest concept developed by Managing Partner Alfredo Sandoval of the esteemed Mercadito Hospitality group. Mercadito Fish features the best of casual and fine dining seafood restaurants. Fresh seasonal "catches" and personable service amplify its' modern day sensibility, inspiring exploration of new flavors and approachability. The restaurant showcases a range of familiar and new seafood preparations, as well as an expertly customized beverage program. Matched with a warm and thoughtfully designed environment, Mercadito Fish offers exquisitely prepared seafood without compromising atmosphere and price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Talbott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.