We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Talbott Hotel to your Saves list
The Talbott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Chicago
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a few days. We were in a 1-bedroom w/ an office. Really nice hotel. Great staff. Clean room. Dominique was great. Highly recommended.

I gave them a great review on the pool & spa but I don't know if they have one.

My room included breakfast vouchers and the service at the restaurant was outstanding. We'll stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,167
    255
    33
    13
    11
See reviews for
248
670
77
207
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

This is a top hotel. Great location and ambience. Dwayne the doorman is an absolute superstar and worth watching in action from the roadside bar terrace. A true professional who makes everybody feel like a special guest. Room large and comfortable but a little sombre. Wifi very fast. Breakfast good but pricey. Coffee and bagel across the street is a cheap alternative but this is not open till 8 am at weekends. Gene the concierge could not be more helpful. Above all just stay there to meet Dwayne.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

What a lovely hotel. Fabulous location. Book online to get breakfast credit. We have nothing but good things to say about the Talbott. Will certainly come back to stay here. The Little Market Brasserie was bustling and a nice place for breakfast and drinks. We didn't try dinner. Lots to do within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Loved this hotel! The rooms are a great size and the only noise we heard were sirens every now and then. Our room was even next to the elevator and heard absolutely nothing. The beds were a little uncomfortable but the pillows are great. Loved having a doorbell and the options of do not disturb and clean please. If you need a fridge or microwave you can request one. Well worth the money!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Our review starts before we even booked the room. I called the hotel for location information and Loni at the front desk spent some time giving me a run down of the area and the "must do's" while visiting Chicago for the first time. We booked on Orbitz immediately. When arriving at the Talbott we were greeted by Perry our Bellman who had our bags at the elevator before we got out of the cab. Check-in was pleasant and we were fortunate to have been upgraded to a suite which was amazing after the day we had with delays at the airport and midair. Perry took us around our room giving us lots of information about the room and surrounding area. Which The Talbott is in a good location for tons of restaurants, and shopping, and close enough to Magnificent Mile. We spent three hours walking the city one day and took a bus part way back. If you learn some of the major streets around the hotel it is easy to find your way. On the hotels recommendations list was a couple of nice places to eat. We went to Tavern on Rush which was great. The manager of Tavern asked how we found them, and when we said The Talbott he informed us that they are VERY KNOWN for having amazing customer service. Which we agreed. Getting to Wrigley Field was easy from The Talbott, we got lots of information from Gene in concierge, who was so much fun to talk to and booked us a spot on the Architectural Boat Tour which Loni had previously recommended. I recommend doing the tour at the end of the trip. Save the best for last... Our trip and experience with The Talbott Hotel turned out so much better than expected from begging to end. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galesburg, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I have never stayed at a hotel that takes better care of customers than The Talbott. Every aspect of service is met at a high level. They are ready to meet every need. The room was also great as was the room service. The almond croissants, grilled cheese, and french fries were incredible. Reservations could be made anywhere in the city right at the desk. Will never stay anywhere else when in Chicago.

Room Tip: We preferred the quiet away from street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

If, like me, you spend a long time reseaching where to stay before finally booking then I can save you some time and say just book The Talbott. The experience is top class from start to finish. We arrived early and had no problem checking in, even getting a welcome upgrade for our five day visit.

The rooms are decorated stylishly and very well maintained. The in-room computer is a welcome addition to the standard room spec at other hotels. The beds are super-comfortable and Molton Brown products in the bathroom all add to the feeling of effortless luxury.

I have to say that the hotel staff deserve particular note as they walked the fine line between friendliness and politeness effortlessly. Every single person we encountered seemed genuinely happy in their work and welcoming to both the hotel and Chicago.

I'm usually awful at writing up my own experiences on here but I seriously couldn't let such a great hotel experience go by without praise.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the many comforting rewards of a small European style hotel in the heart of Chicago's Gold Coast. Steps away from Michigan Avenue. As staff well versed in the art of fine European hospitality, people who remember your name and tend swiftly to your special, as well as, everyday needs. A host of gracious amenities including nightly turn-down service, morning newspapers, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and complimentary access to a world class health center. A contemporary American seafood eatery is the latest concept developed by Managing Partner Alfredo Sandoval of the esteemed Mercadito Hospitality group. Mercadito Fish features the best of casual and fine dining seafood restaurants. Fresh seasonal "catches" and personable service amplify its' modern day sensibility, inspiring exploration of new flavors and approachability. The restaurant showcases a range of familiar and new seafood preparations, as well as an expertly customized beverage program. Matched with a warm and thoughtfully designed environment, Mercadito Fish offers exquisitely prepared seafood without compromising atmosphere and price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Amex, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Talbott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.