We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further - this place has everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Talbott Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Talbott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 168 hotels in Chicago
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Look no further - this place has everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

It's all been said before but from the moment we arrived to the time we left we had:

- great service - doormen; concierge; front desk - all helpful and knowledgable.
- great food - took advantage of the breakfast voucher - great and varied menu
- access - the location is superb - side street, quiet - but near access points - rental car agency around corner - and ATM in the side lobby.
- space - the roooms and beds are huge and comforatble -- bathrooms quite nice --
- free wifi

We spent four nights over teh 4th of July break and would go back in a heart beat -- Treat yourself.;

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    990
    224
    33
    13
    10
See reviews for
211
571
66
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Location good, plenty restaurants bar grills nearby as well as city sites. Rooms large, very comfy beds. Staff helpfull and willing to go that extra mile to sort out any problems issues. Decor dark wood paneling old style fittings paintings very nice.
Bar good and so were the barstaff.
Would stay again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I choose this hotel from the ratings and price was moderate compared to other luxury hotels. It has a charming appearance, room was roomy even with two queen beds. Staff went out of their way to help with parking And directions to sight see. The breakfast coupon for 30 was Almost enough to cover cost of breakfast and it was very good. We did use the valet parking which was $50 overnight, but this was standard for Chicago. We took A cab to millennium park about $7, it was too far to walk. Only stayed one night but enjoyed stay and I would go back

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Dwayne made sure that everything was perfect! Even upgrading us to a suite! We didn't want to leave it was so perfect. Chocolates on our pillow and little treats every day! Perfection all the way around!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The hotel is in a good location and reasonably priced. The room was clean and tastefully decorated. The customer service was exceptional as the staff allowed us to keep our luggage and car at the hotel following check-out. We ate a delicious breakfast outdoors at the Little Market attached to the hotel. I would absolutely recommend The Talbott to anyone planning a stay in Chicago. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Had a great stay here the week of the 4th of July. My husband and I were upgraded to a one bedroom suite because we were celebrating our 10 year anniversary! It was a fabulous room! They even sent us some Vintage Port Wine Truffles with a really sweet card for our anniversary. The room was very spacious, nice view, and really clean. The bed was so comfortable and I wanted to take the pillows home! The Molton Brown bath products in the bathroom were an extra special treat; they smelled SO good! The service was exceptional, couldn't ask for a nicer, more friendlier staff. Everybody was so accommodating. I see some less than favorable reviews here, but for our experience, it was great. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We were offered a free upgrade immediately upon checking in. Instead of our average queen, which we had requested, we were given a gorgeous suite! We didn't even ask for an upgrade...they just offered it. For free. The hotel is quite lovely and well situated in an upscale shopping area. Cabs are easy to find, but the doorman is only too happy to get one for you. Our room was super clean, beautiful and incredibly large. The bed was wonderfully comfortable. The curtains in the bedroom did an excellent job of blocking out the morning light, so we could sleep in. The living room could easily have accommodated a party for 20. The bathroom was perfectly clean (as was the entire hotel) and had a separate tub and shower. The free morning paper included a choice of several, including the New York Times! Whooohooo! From now on, this is our base in Chicago. Hands down. It was absolutely perfect and not only met our expectations but exceeded them!

Perhaps best of all was the hotel's restaurant, The Little Market Brasserie. It has outdoor seating in addition to a lovely dining room, and the menu was a delight. The deviled eggs appetizer were absolutely the best we ever had...to the point that the next day, before we caught our AMTRAK train home, we ordered 18 of the tasty little beauties to take on the train with us. We ate two meals at Little Market Brasserie...dinner and breakfast. Excellent food, lovely setting and the world's sweetest, most efficient waitress named Lisa. She exuded a quiet grace and sweetness that reminded us of Audrey Hepburn. We wanted to take her home with us!

Room Tip: We were offered a free upgrade without even asking...but I would certainly ask since they are so gra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 168 hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the many comforting rewards of a small European style hotel in the heart of Chicago's Gold Coast. Steps away from Michigan Avenue. As staff well versed in the art of fine European hospitality, people who remember your name and tend swiftly to your special, as well as, everyday needs. A host of gracious amenities including nightly turn-down service, morning newspapers, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and complimentary access to a world class health center. Little Market Brasserie, a restaurant from Mercadito Hospitality and the Tippling Bros. Located in the lobby, brings a fresh approach to classic french brasseries by merging tastes from regions around the United States, with ingredients from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Talbott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.