We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Talbott Hotel to your Saves list
The Talbott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Silver Spring, MD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at the Talbot Hotel from June 16 - 21, 2013 celebrating our 30th Anniversary. Stayed in a one bedroom suite. Truly a "world class hotel," exceeded expectations from check-in to check-out. Fine restaurant, while this hotel does not offer an exercise room it does make arrangements with a local club which is a very short walk from the hotel, it is also fine and well managed and clean. We have nothing but good comments about our stay at The Talbot Hotel, a great place to have spent our 30th Anniversary.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,231
    261
    33
    13
    11
See reviews for
260
702
79
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Not worth the money. Poor service and a mediocre room.
We arrived at 4:00 with a confirmed reservation - our room was not ready, in spite of a 3pm check in time. The room was undergoing "final inspection" - so we had to wait. We went to the bar outside and ordered a bottle of mineral water - which took almost 15 minutes to arrive, and the server seemed irritated that this was all we were ordering. Our room was ready then about 40 minutes after we arrived. Our bags were still on the cart in the lobby - we were assured they would be brought up right behind us. The "city view" room had a great view - of the alley - and the furniture was stained. I went back downstairs after waiting 20 minutes - bags still there on the cart - and took them up myself. I expressed my frustration to the front desk regarding having to wait for the room and then for the bags - they said they would talk to the manager. His comment on the room was "well, the views do vary". We never heard a word from the manager or any staff - so either the staff didn't tell he/she or he/she didn't care. Upon checking out - not a question about our stay nor a thank you for coming. There are a lot of nice hotels in that area - do yourself a favor and pick another one.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples FL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Small luxury hotels of the World is the organization that rates the Talbott-and it deserves 5+stars. The rooms are quaint yet high tech, the staff knows you by name the first day, the maids cannot do enough for you..the concierge &bellman know every spot in town! The restaurant, Little Market..nothing little about taste or service! Pricing is very reasonable. Breakfast is very fast-great for a business person. The hotel is 2 blocks from the Magnificent Mile shopping, restaurants of all kinds within walking distance. There is free access to the Equinox fitness center a block away-one of the most high tech, well staffed centers I have ever had the pleasure to use. It is huge with all amenities including an indoor pool, steam & sauna-no additional charge, of course. Each room has free internet, CD/ipod radio/alarm, towels & bath accessories from Molton Brown, heat lamps...As you can see...I could go on. This hotel. Is surrounded by the Four seasons, Waldorf Astoria, etc...skip them, stay here, you'll have a much better experience.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

From the moment we got to the hotel we were taken care of by the whole staff. Dwayne and Perry were particularly helpful and polite. The room was spotless, spacious, and had a decent view. I don't think I would stay at another hotel in Chicago. The location was superb.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were totally pleased with our accommodations at the Talbott Hotel. We stayed for a week so we were upgraded to a 1 Bdr. suite. We had plenty of room and comfort. The bathroom was also roomy, offering a separate bath and shower plus 2 sinks. The service was excellent and the staff always friendly and helpful. We even had an evening turndown service which I thought had become a thing of the past. This hotel is very clean and well maintained. The location is excellent. It is in a beautiful, quite neighborhood and just 2 blocks off Michigan Ave. It was easy to walk most places. If needed,the metro stop is just 2 blocks away. We certainly recommend this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: A corner suite or executive room would be the best choice for extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I had the opportunity to stay at the Talbott for three nights in June. I can only say it was the most wonderful experience we have ever had with a hotel. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, we had nothing but positive feelings for the hotel. From the doorman to the concierge, to the reception desk and the maid, everyone was cheerful and seemed to be honestly enjoying their job to make us as comfortable as possible. We had a mix up with our reservations through an outside vendor, but the staff at the Talbott rectified the situation and even achieved a better outcome for us; rescuing our celebration of our 45th anniversary. I am at a loss for words to explain how tremendously accommodating the whole staff was. I am wondering if I should even write this review and let more people in on our little secret of "the best place to stay in Chicago," thinking that the next time we go to book there (and there will definitely be a next time) they will not have a room for us due to the popularity of the hotel. Would highly recommend this hotel. momkondo

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

When booking a recent first trip to Chicago, we were looking for a comfortable room in a safe neighborhood and came across the Talbott Hotel, a small boutique hotel a half block from the Four Seasons in the middle of the Gold Coast. Trip Advisor rated the hotel "Second" among favored hotels, only slightly behind the far more expensive Four Seasons. The hotel is a block off off of Michigan Avenue, just far enough to avoid the traffic, but still provide all that the area has to offer.

There are literally hundreds of restaurants within a short walk of the hotel. Many of the highlights of the City, Millennium Park, The Art Institute Museum, the river tours and miles of shopping are within walking distance, or within an $8 cab ride away.

Be sure to book one of the quite 1-bedroom suites, at 800+ sf, it is far more spacious that a hotel room that you'd get anywhere else, with room for sofa, several chairs, desk, a bath with two vanities, tub and separate shower.

Everyone on staff was extraordinarily helpful, including the Concierge, who went out of his way to help book music, meals and tours -- many suggestions that we would not have found on our own or in tour books.

Room Tip: The rooms ending in 04 (e.g. 704) are extraordinarily spacious. The hotel is part of the SLH chain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the many comforting rewards of a small European style hotel in the heart of Chicago's Gold Coast. Steps away from Michigan Avenue. As staff well versed in the art of fine European hospitality, people who remember your name and tend swiftly to your special, as well as, everyday needs. A host of gracious amenities including nightly turn-down service, morning newspapers, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and complimentary access to a world class health center. A contemporary American seafood eatery is the latest concept developed by Managing Partner Alfredo Sandoval of the esteemed Mercadito Hospitality group. Mercadito Fish features the best of casual and fine dining seafood restaurants. Fresh seasonal "catches" and personable service amplify its' modern day sensibility, inspiring exploration of new flavors and approachability. The restaurant showcases a range of familiar and new seafood preparations, as well as an expertly customized beverage program. Matched with a warm and thoughtfully designed environment, Mercadito Fish offers exquisitely prepared seafood without compromising atmosphere and price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Amex, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Splendia and Hotwire so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Talbott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.